Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Milford Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1049 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2011

Agood high school. Great hires in Ms Brake and Mr. Carter. They interact well with parents and staff. Are always visiable at sports and interact with students ,teachers and board members.


Posted January 24, 2011

As a parent of 3 children, I am overall pleased with the changes the school has made. By acquiring Principal Cooper, I feel the school is moving in the right direction. I like the idea as a parent I can walk-into the school and get a warm greeting by the front office staff, (which was not present before) and I actually see people working! I have also had a chance to shake her hand and ask questions about her leadership and the direction she is pursuing to take the school. Principal Cooper, not only answered my questions, but allowed me as a parent to be heard. I hope that Principal Cooper, can pass her passion for education to the rest of staff members, and keep the tradition of Milford H.S. alive via academics, and the student body. -Go Buccaneers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Milford High School like any school has positives and negatives. I find the school to be satisfactory. There is too much emphasis on sports and spending seems to follow that path. The arts are ok but could be so much more especially with a weakening feeder program. (band and chorus) Academically my daughter has done well but we have run into problems with a few teachers and their control of the class orcomplete incompetence. I find this administration to be less than satisfactory and student bullying is a problem. The fact that racial tension is slowly growing seems to be lost or ignored by those in charge. This problem (racial) is minor now but needs to be addressed. The are many positives about the school but number one the retirement of this superintendent will be felt. He did an outstanding job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

I have three teen girls that go the Milford High and they all love this school. Anytime that I need to know anything the school staff is always ready to help me out. I will always speek highly of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

The sports at milford are amazing track and feild in 2008 confrence champs for boys and 2008 football becoming divesion 2 state champs
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I feel they don't focus on Children that has Health issue's or mental issue's. My experience has been ungratifiting and extremly upsetting to any parents with a child of this nature. I have been mislead in many different directions and have begin to take action in my own hands. I will fight for the right of a child and for other children. Thank you for taking the time to read this. There will be a Article in the Milford Beacom sometime in December.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

i go to the school and i think that it has a great track team and is really school spirited and has excellint teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2008

MHS is an excellent school with a great Honors Program. The school works hard to prepare all students for some type of post-secondary study. Discipline problems are few and my children tend to like how they are treated by teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Milford High School has pros and cons like all schools. The arts program was quite good. The chorus teacher is very dedicated and works hard to develop the students in chorus. They have block scheduling there so a student would likely take a foreign language like Spanish (the only option at present) for one semester of a school year. The same is true for the other major subjects. This means that there is much less continuity, the classes are so long that it is difficult to pay attention, and there is less content(and usually no homework). Parent input is not especially welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I know that the High School in Milford is great, but that is not the reason for this message. In the local papers I saw the 'Newly Hired' teachers and 75% of them were OVERWEIGJHT...yet the cafeterria in the school is going ALL OUT with 2% milk to help students with weight problems. They are also going to a more healthy menu. Seems that the Teachers need the HELP and MENU.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Female56%
Male32%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed52%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English39%

Math

All Students30%
Female50%
Male18%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Special ed7%
Regular ed41%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female76%
Male53%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Other race67%
Low socioeconomic status59%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title In/a
Special ed24%
Regular ed70%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students59%
Female62%
Male57%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Other race53%
Low socioeconomic status50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title In/a
Special ed12%
Regular ed66%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students32%
Female26%
Male38%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Other race19%
Low socioeconomic status19%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title In/a
Special ed7%
Regular ed35%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 57% 50%
Black 1 25% 32%
Hispanic 1 13% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 0%
Two or more races 1 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1019 North Walnut Street
Milford, DE 19963
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 422-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Milford Ilc
Milford, DE



Geneva Academy
Lincoln, DE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT