Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The New School

Private | 34 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2011

I started at The New School as a ten year old, and in 2004 I was awarded my diploma. The New School helped me cultivate an appreciation for learning and the tools to help me learn about anything I might put my mind to. After The New School, I got into my top choice college without any difficulty, and graduated from that college in 2009. The structure of The New School helped me prepare for college. When I got to college I was already used to structuring my own time, and I was prepared to approach subjects in the way that worked best for me. I also found many ways in which my time at The New School prepared me for work. My time working to govern the school (as well as my time) made it easy for me to learn how to assess projects that needed to be done and accomplish them well and in a timely manner in a work environment. I think in any other school I would have had a harder time coming out of my shell and really thinking about what I was doing and why it was important. Overall my experience was positive and I can wholeheartedly recommend it.


Posted August 23, 2011

I attended The New School from the time I was 8 years old until I received a diploma. As is true of anything worth doing, it requires a great deal of those who approach it. But, the education attainable there surpasses any school of which I am aware.


Posted August 23, 2011

I received a diploma from The New School, and found it to be an excellent place for an education. I was regularly challenged to improve in many ways, and although the challenge was often difficult, I stayed with it. I am extremely happy that I did. The staff members encouraged me to be a better person, not just to get better grades. As a woman in this modern age, I can see that this school is exactly what girls need to help them become strong, capable women as they face the challenges of growing up. Before I went to The New School I attended three different public schools. My classmates and I did not feel like we belonged. We could tell that we were thought of as no more than test scores. I saw people there engaging in activities that even an adult should blush to see. The teachers knew what was going on, but never helped the children, except academically. Children need the support and love of adults who are willing to stick their necks out and do what is right for the children rather than turn a blind eye. As I still go to the school on a regular basis, I see that this support is something The New School has to offer.


Posted August 23, 2011

At The New School students investigate the subjects that are interesting them now! This allows for a more hands on and "brains on" approach. By approaching learning in this way, students are able to acquire and achieve proficiency in a subject far quicker than with current "traditional" methods that require students to be drug along at the pace of the least interested. While students are not actively pushed into a subject, the structure of the school requires that fundamentals be learned. One must learn how to read, write, calculate costs, research, and diplomatically and effectively argue a point in order to, for example, propose a field trip or other endeavor to the School Meeting. Students are helped, but not babied, when undertaking these challenges. Great emphasis is put on self discipline, interpersonal relationships, the meaning of language and the roots of words, and philosophy, resulting in an effective and intellectually agile person who is a "life long learner". As a diplomate of the school who is still in close contact, I can see that the fundamental philosophy of the school from which I benefited is on going and continues to be actively revitalized.


Posted February 6, 2011

I received my diploma from the New School seven years ago. After that I sucessfully completed my undergraduate education and am doing well in my second year of law school. The New School emphasizes speaking and analysis; students are required to articulate their conclusions and their reasoning in discussion with teachers and other students. This promotes a clarity of speech and thinking that helps the student excel in academics later on. The New School promotes free and engaged learning. Students choose what they learn and form studies with the help of teachers. Students gradually become investigative and engaged in their education. When one student starts a new subject, other students will join in and expand their pursuits. The New School is a supportive and friendly community. Unlike a formal school day setting, there is not a wall of separation between students and teachers. Because students and teachers often engage in conversation the students tend to take on maturer habits.


Posted October 18, 2010

Though some democratic free schools are successful, the New School is not one of them. Many of the staff members/teachers are more interested in guiding students toward their own rigid viewpoints, instead of letting the students explore their interests. This school does not prepare students for further education or to function in the real world, and I would not recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

The New School provides an alternative experience for children who love to learn! This school encourages students to be responsible for their own choices, life and happiness by finding out what really works for them. There is no holding back any students with a desire to learn about any topic. We are grateful that our girls love to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

The New School is an amazing place where students can explore any topic they choose... They learn how to live, learn, and work together without the limits of a traditional school/classroom/teacher. Before TNS, my children thought that school was something to be endured. How sad is that? We are so grateful that we found another option. Real education for the real world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

The New School has been a blessing for me and my family. I enrolled my middle child first, and I was so impressed by the students and staff, and the change in my childs attitude towards learning, that I enrolled my youngest as well. Democratic Free Schooling is what the future of education should be. Come and meet the students and staff of The New School, and I am sure you will be impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This is a great school you can learn and develop at a personal rate while still being prepared for real world challenges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

I would not recommend this school at all. Students are able to choose what they learn, which, for most, is nothing at all. The staff and students have created their own sanctimonious society that in no way prepares students for the real world, academically or socially.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 50%
Black 9% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ASN

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

812 Elkton Rd
Newark, DE 19711
Phone: (302) 456-9838

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT