Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baltz (Austin D.) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 628 students

Providing high quality needs based education for a diverse population

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

The school has made many adjustments over the years. The staff is very hardworking and welcoming. Baltz now includes before and after care and a wonderful preschool program. The teachers and administration truly care about their school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2014

The teachers. Are so caring and hardworking. The new administration has been wonderful. The best of baltz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2014

Here at Baltz we are about creating, fostering and sustaining relationships. We strive for student engagement every moment of everyday through best teaching practices. Our mission is: to provide rigorous education of all students, value all unique educational needs, use data driven teaching techniques, help develop higher order thinking/problem solving skills, foster a nuturing environment to guide and help all students reach their full potential. Our vision is to establish; a safe positive school climate, with diverse learning opportunities, setting data driven goals for students and teachers, leading responsible, confident and involved citizens. We put the needs of all students aforefront of all decisions!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2014

Baltz is a good place to work. Students are eager to come to school and see their friends and teachers. Each morning kids are greeted at the school doors by a friendly staff member and encouraged to eat breakfast. Teachers then greet students at the classroom door. Teachers know how important it is to develop relationships with students and start the day on a positive note so that the academic, social and emotional needs of students can be met.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2011

This school is horrible, every teacher is mean and have no respect for anything. do let your kid go here. all the kids are bad too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

We have moved around the country and I have found Baltz to be a very caring in terms of looking at what each child needs. My daughter adores her teacher and says she talks to the principal everyday. In her old school you never knew the prinicpal or saw him. This lady helps kids out of the car every morning and greets parents. My son is in 1st grade and is reading because they expect a great deal. I read the other reviews and I just think that this is a different dchool with this new Principal and I am grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

The teachers my son has had in Baltz are really wonderful, kind, and caring people. The unfortunate thing about this school is the lack of funding. It only seems to be getting worse, and great teachers are overworked with too many students in their class. One person can only do so much, so I think some students that could use a little extra help aren't getting it, and some students who are a little ahead and could use an extra challenge aren't getting that either. It's really a sad situation. The teachers are great though. They do the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I am choicing my daughter out of Baltz for the 2007-2008 school year. We were new to the area & had high hopes for the school when I registered her last summer. The teachers did nothing to promote class equality despite the kids speaking different languages. My child also received no support/challenges when she was consistently above grade level. The teacher was frequently absent & forgot to hand in important paperwork to the office that I had sent in for review. I am glad that my daughter will be going to a safer & more supportive school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Baltz Elementary School is one of the finest schools I have seen in a long time. From the moment I brought my two children through the doors, I immediately got a sense got a sense of belonging. The staff greeted us when we walked in and we have felt cared for ever since. Both of my children's teachers are top notch. They give my children work that is challenging and fun at the same time. I have recommended this school to all of my friends and acquaintences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

The students were unruly, and out of control. Because of that, the teachers and staff were unprofessional. I would not recommend this school to anyone. It is an unsafe environment for kids who want to learn and enjoy school. Including my years in school, this is the worst school I have ever encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

I do not like this school, and I am choicing my child out next year. The principal is not much help in resolving issues, most of the teachers are prdjudice, and one teacher in particular continually picked on my son and mocked him, another teacher called him a punk. Many of the teachers are unprofessional and should not be teaching children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

My child has attended for 3 years now and I am extremely disappointed in the school administration. The best teachers transferred out at the end of the 2004-2005 school year. I think Parent involvement is blocked by the unfriendly school climate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

This is a horrible school. The school does not support the no violence rule. I am school choicing my child to another school next year. Ive read homeworks/tests that have errors made on them by my child...Ie: spelling, addition, subtraction, that have incorrect answers and theyre marked as if they werent there. Why??? The Vice Principal is great though. Maybe he should be Principal and things could change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Female33%
Male54%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status41%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Title I43%
Special edn/a
Regular ed47%
English language learners (ELL)12%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students43%
Female31%
Male57%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status43%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Title I43%
Special edn/a
Regular ed47%
English language learners (ELL)26%
Proficient in English51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female60%
Male41%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I50%
Special edn/a
Regular ed56%
English language learners (ELL)20%
Proficient in English56%

Math

All Students45%
Female50%
Male41%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I45%
Special edn/a
Regular ed51%
English language learners (ELL)33%
Proficient in English48%

Social Studies

All Students36%
Female40%
Male33%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I36%
Special edn/a
Regular ed41%
English language learners (ELL)19%
Proficient in English40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female45%
Male48%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I46%
Special edn/a
Regular ed52%
English language learners (ELL)6%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students33%
Female38%
Male29%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White31%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I33%
Special edn/a
Regular ed38%
English language learners (ELL)18%
Proficient in English38%

Science

All Students18%
Female18%
Male19%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White31%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I18%
Special edn/a
Regular ed19%
English language learners (ELL)<=5%
Proficient in English23%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Behavioral health specialist
Computer specialist(s)
Educational diagnostician
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jefferson Service Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Hurtt, Kelly
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (302) 992-5518

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Behavioral health specialist
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Educational diagnostician
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Dance club
  • Girls on the run
  • Golf with First Tee
  • Odessey of the Mind
  • Robotics club
  • Soccer
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
A.I. duPont Middle School
Stanton Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Spruce Avenue
Wilmington, DE 19805
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 992-5560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Odyssey Charter School
Wilmington, DE


St. Thomas the Apostle
Wilmington, DE



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT