Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

846 students|Duval
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I have been associated with Mayport Coastal Sciences Middle School for seven years and I can honestly this is a family and student centered school. It is a richly diverse neighborhood school with a magnet theme. The administrators and staff are committed to making the student's middle school experience safe and academically challenging. The acceleration courses have prepared many of the students for acceptance into the high school AICE, IB, and AVID programs.
October 27, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mayport Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Because every time i talk to the principal and teachers im always involve with the school

Mayport Middle School 4

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school my doughter have 3 years there and my son 2 at first i was scared but after a long time i feel very comfortable the teacher are great and the principal always care about everything im a mother and i know how much we care about school for our kids .


Mayport Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a community member
Great school, very friendly and professional staff. They create a strong link between teacher and student.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
We love this school!! It's a rare gem at the beach. The opportunities offered here can not be found anywhere else.

Mayport Middle School 3

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
If the "review" I just read was in regards to the incident I witnessed in the office earlier in the week I found it very disheartening. Although I am not aware of the circumstances, I found it appalling the way the parent was treated by the Maypot employee. If the parent was treated in such a manner in front of other parents, how are these children being treated. behind closed doors? This is my chids last year at MCSM and I don't recall ever seeing this older woman before.


Mayport Middle School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school, however the new (2014-2015) Dean of Students leaves little to be desired. If your looking for help, understanding or compassion with a problem, avoid her at all costs, other than that, love it!

Mayport Middle School 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Totally awesome. Staff is above any I've seen. I have enjoyed my child going here.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
I have visited Mayport Middle School several times this year in order to better understand its approach to teaching as a Coastal Science Magnet School. Through my conversations with staff and my observations of student engagement, I have found it to be a wonderful learning facility. It is disheartening that its perception by others is outdated because many in our community are missing out on a real gem !


Mayport Middle School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Our local middle school that continues to make changes to achieve academic excellence with our children, and helping those interested in doing well in school to be well.prepared for their high school.years!

Mayport Middle School 4

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
I really like this school. Need more workshops for parent envolvment. I hope next year is better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mayport Middle School
2600 Mayport Road, Atlantic Beach, FL  32233
(904) 247-5977
Last modified Mayport Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mayport Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top