Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mayport Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
I have visited Mayport Middle School several times this year in order to better understand its approach to teaching as a Coastal Science Magnet School. Through my conversations with staff and my observations of student engagement, I have found it to be a wonderful learning facility. It is disheartening that its perception by others is outdated because many in our community are missing out on a real gem !

Mayport Middle School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Our local middle school that continues to make changes to achieve academic excellence with our children, and helping those interested in doing well in school to be well.prepared for their high school.years!


Mayport Middle School 4

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
I really like this school. Need more workshops for parent envolvment. I hope next year is better.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a community member
Mayport Middle is a amazing school to work with. The teachers are preparing students with real world scientific research experience. Students will be prepared for high school and, more importantly, beyond.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Great school with a new and interesting vision. One of very few schools looking at the Maritime sector from both a business and an ecological view.


Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
Mayport Coastal Science Middle School is outstanding because of the teachers & their positive attitudes that help students explore, learn and get involved in their school & neighborhood. This academic year witnessed a large growth of students choosing to come to Mayport MS because of it's coastal science program. What I like is the "hands on" approach that permeates the school & immerses the students in a real world education. The students take great pride in working on projects that give back to their community. Ongoing projects: an aquaculture "business" raising marketable fish; raising dune vegetation for transplanting in a Jacksonville Park on the Atlantic Ocean; producing, writing, researching, editing and daily broadcasting of school related videos in-house & on the internet; maintaining and enhancing an on-campus nature trail that circles the school and it's pond. What I am hoping for is more people & businesses to recognize the talent & quality of the education available at Mayport Coastal Science Middle School - Atlantic Bch, FL. I urge citizens to visit the various on-campus events showcasing the talent and "cool" things the students are learning. Go Sharks !!!!

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
I have been associated with Mayport Coastal Sciences Middle School for seven years and I can honestly this is a family and student centered school. It is a richly diverse neighborhood school with a magnet theme. The administrators and staff are committed to making the student's middle school experience safe and academically challenging. The acceleration courses have prepared many of the students for acceptance into the high school AICE, IB, and AVID programs.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
The best choice I have ever made in regards to my son's education. The coastal science magnet is outstanding. The teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond. The administrative is very supportive and they are truly involved in leading by example. My son has thrived at Mayport Middle School and I am very grateful.


Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
The magnet program is phenomenal. We do not live at the beach but selected this school for its magnet program and are very happy with our decision. They have worked hard to make this school the success it has today. The teachers care about student s success and will go the extra mile to offer tutoring, if needed. They have extracurricular programs that fit with the magnet concept. We are very happy with this school.

Mayport Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Mayport Middle School is a great school. The Coastal Sciences Magnet program is good for being so new. Middle School is a difficult age to have kids focused on their studies instead of peer pressure and socializing. We had a great experience with teacher and parent communication.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mayport Middle School
2600 Mayport Road, Atlantic Beach, FL  32233
(904) 247-5977
Last modified Mayport Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mayport Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews.