Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boca Raton Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1411 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

My son is a 8th grade student at Boca Raton Community Middle School and we are proud to be there! All the teachers there are so caring and respectful to the students.We are very happy to be a member of Boca Raton Middle School family. We love principle, counselor, every vice principles and teachers. It is really a very great school, my son's warm family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

My child is a seventh grader in advanced classes. Last year her teachers were mostly ok, a favorite: Mr. Flores. What I don't understand though, are "electives". I did not grow up in the US and don't get the point of certain classes like cooking. I can teach her cooking at home. Would like to see more sports/PE instead. Healthy body healthy mind. Also, music classes or Spanish. Things that she will actually be able to use. Why call them "electives" if youcan't choose?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

One of the best kept secrets in Boca! We have had a fabulous experience transitioning from a private school. Look at the test scores, come in and tour and speak with the students attending. Principal ,VP's and staff are positive and accessible to all the students and parents. Lot's of activities for the students including dances, school spirit week and a 5k run where they had a helicopter land on their baseball field to pick up the Principal to follow the students running - very cool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

Our first school year here (2011-2012). Although I am satisfied with the curriculum my son has experienced so far (he's in advanced classes), where I am not satisfied is the lack of decency shown from the kids in school. I don't blame the school for this, but the parents at home. My young son has come home with more inappropriate language that I didn't learn until I was in my 20's. There is rampant SEXUAL HARASSMENT by girls to boys! The bullying is obvious and the anti-bullying campaign laughable. Dress code is also a joke (boys pants couldn't possibly be any lower).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

i am a six grader at boca raton community middle school i think that it is a great school. so far ive learned a lot and it is also a fun school to be in.


Posted November 10, 2010

I'm an 8th grader here. I hate all these bad reviews. Why? Because we are the "best of the best"! The teachers really do care. I'm a duel enrolled student in the Math Academy and Pre-Med Academy and all I have to say is WOW! The Pre-Med academy is such an excellent part of the school. My favorite teacher in this academy is Ms. King. I've had her in 6, 7 and 8 grade too! She cares about you, her class is challenging, she helps you study, we do fun medical labs and she is really funny. The field trips are great. We have went to Kennedy Space Center, Sea World, Gumbo Limbo. Actually this Friday (11/13) we get to go to the Boca Raton Regional Hospital and the life of a nurse. Algebra 1 Honors is hard. And Ms. Astan is amazing! GO COBRAS! SM


Posted October 31, 2010

My daughter is attending 7th grade and loves her teachers. She has great friends with great family values that we share. She is an A student in the gifted progam and is being challenged. We are involved parents and encourage other parents to do the same. A school is only as strong as the support it gets from its parents involvement . Give a little you get much in return. Thank you to the principal, vice principals and the entire staff for your daily work to educate our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I went to school here in 8th grade, and from my experience teachers don't teach you anything except the english department, and the dress code is a joke. And lunch is awful, and this school has no orchestra...i was not happy in this school.


Posted May 25, 2010

Do you notice all of the good comments are the older ones? My sin attended this school and it was not a good experience. Dress code as another parent put it was a joke. The administration doesn't even know the school policies and if you go to the guidance counselor all you hear is "I'm not sure, this is my first time dealing with this". My friends in the neighborhood live next to 2 police officers who tell them that they are getting called to this school on a near daily basis. Leadership is severely lacking at this once fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I would like to thank my parents for sending me to Catholic school. I am glad they got me out of the public system when they did. My sixth grade experience at this school was nothing but a waste of time. The children did nothing but disturb the teachers and cause disruption in class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

My child attended BRCMS for one year and I couldn't wait to get her out. She attended the Pre-Med and Math academies, which were good, but as for the rest of the school experience... awful There seems to be no discipline from the principal, and there is constant pushing and shoving and plenty of bad language in the hallways as 1,350 kids all change classes at the same time. In many of the classrooms there is no discipline either, with the kids simply not listening to their teachers. And the dress code? What a joke. Boys walk around with their waistbands around their hips, underwear exposed, and no one does a thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I am a student at Boca Raton Community Middle School and I am proud to be there! I am zoned for Carver Middle School, but I did NOT want to go there. I am a 7th grader in the Pre-Med and the Math Academy. All the teachers there are so caring and respectful to the students. Mr. Bill Curry, Advanced Math 2 teacher, teaches you to be respectful to everyone and life lessons too! I am happy to say that Boca Raton Community Middle School IS 'the best of the best' Sophia Mariano 7th grade student
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

I love boca middle school the teachers give you the dicpline you need ,and are nice i think it's the best middle school ever.This is the school parents should bring there kids i have all a's on the last report card only one b i usally getting three a's and thre a's.So all the parents out there should bring there kids there when i go to boca middle i feel like i can do something fantastic with ny life i now especially want to go to collge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

This is a great school. Both teacher and adminstration care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

My son is a 6th grader and this is his first time in Palm Beach County Schools. He is in the math and pre-med magnet. He is also in the band. The administration and teachers are phenomenal. They work as a team to ensure that students excel. Mr Thompson is such a positive role model and my son is not only excelling, but proud to be in the school. I highly recommend Boca Raton Community Middle School, for it is outstanding. Proud to be a BRCMS Parent, Mrs Thomas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

The best middle school in Palm Beach County! My kids are zoned for Carver but I choose to send them to Boca Middle because I care about their education and so do the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

The school gave my chidren an excellent education. Very caring and involved teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Boca Raton middle school is a great school because the teachers go the extra mile to ensure the student is in a good learning environment and to learn to the most of the child's ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

My child attends BRMS which stands as an 'A' school. The education is excellent and the teachers care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

The faculty and staff of Boca Middle are a closely kint family of dedicated employees as well as friends. All students are cared for equally.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

463 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

471 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

414 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

430 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

411 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 25%
Black 15%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 185%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%73%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PETER SLACK
Fax number
  • (561) 416-8777

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1251 Northwest 8th Street
Boca Raton, FL 33486
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 416-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Joan Of Arc School
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT