Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Omni Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2009

I would like to commend several outstanding teachers who have gone beyond there bounds to help my son, Anthony Buzzelli, Mrs. Culver, Ms. Silverman, Mrs. Cannon, Mrs.Ibarrossa, Mr. Byrd, Mr. Berkowitz, and Mrs. Fimiani for all your support this year. Mrs. Culver you have helped me considerably in the three years that Anthony has been in the school....I will always remember all your advise and outstanding leadership. Thank you to all of you....you are outstanding teachers. Thank you also to Mr. Riley. Take Care, Denise Buzzelli
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

I strongly believe this school have a great professional staff, high academic performance and top talent students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Very unhappy about the teachers and their communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

My son currently attends Omni Middle School and is in 6th grade. Good points: Communication with school events via emailing parents through the Palm Beach County Edline Sytem is great. Most teachers are timely in posting student grades for parents to track through Edline. Bad points: It is VERY difficult for students to get back on track if they miss a day of school. Multiple teachers could not get missed work vs. make-up work straight. It would be VERY beneficial to both students and parents if the Omni Office Staff took a few 101 courses... like how not to act: arrogant, annoyed, confused, disturbed, or uptight. My son almost missed out playing sports because the office staff lost all his paperwork more than once. Dr. signature & notary done a total of 3 times! I personally feel students are treated more like numbers than individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I am in the middle of my last year and absolutely love this school and gonna miss it! All the teachers help you out with everything, and this school is perfect for everyone. There is art, band, and a lot of other good programs too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I just started at omni and i like it there. i have not seen any bullying. the teachers care about me and others. Do not listen to people who say it is bad. its great. go to omni.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

Its going to be my second year of omni and dont listen to the other people i like the school nothing is wrong with it except the food but it okay and there is not alot of fighting and the principal is really nice... well to me but if you want to go to omni then you made a great choice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

Its going to be my third year at omni and i admit its not an all 5 star school but its pretty good. They offer courses that make a student like me advance. The only class that i didnt learn that much and its probably because the teacher didnt teach well was math. In 6th grade i had straight A's in math then in 7th i had a D and it wasnt that i didnt try its just how the teacher teached. There isnt that many fights like some other reviews have said because mostly other school probably have more. In the time being that i have been there ive only heard of 3 fights. The food is good but not great, lets face it though its school food! If you dont like it then you should honestly bring your own food. Over all its a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

We moved to this specific area on the basis of Omni's A rating, but the reality is quite disappointing. The teachers are often absent and the subs do not teach. In reviewing the teacher's letters and work product, it often has grammatical and math errors. The level of challenge is low and the homework is often insufficient. The school has many rules, but they can be unreasonable, (for example, if a student is unknowingly dressed inconsistent with the dress code, they must stay in detention while they are given failing grades for tests missed). The principal is condescending in how he addresses parents. The physical plant is dirty and the food is not always edible. The students are not well controlled and there is frequent teasing and fights. This is not what we expected at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

Well for startes the admin. Is horrible! they give outragous punishments for small things. The teachers are bad. Theyre are alot of bullying at omni and people are very mean to other students.Dont ever go to Omni!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2008

I think omni is a great school. I'm in my third year, and I am devastated to have to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2008

I hate Omni. The teachers are so bad they don't even teach and don't care about you nor how your doing in there class. They give you hard tests and expect you to no the material...when they don't even teach it.


Posted March 30, 2008

I've been in Omni for not even a year: and now I hate school. The teachers are terrible, and there is NO dicpline where its neccessary. There is bullying, and some of my teachers DONT EVEN TEACH: they give busy-work! My language arts teacher hasnt taught ONE lesson this year! This year was the first time I've gotten a B on my report card! If you want to turn your child from a straight A student into a child who detests school, send your child to Omni.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

omni middle is far out the best school in palm beach couty .the students are the most enteligent the teachers are caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

I love Omni Middle School it rocks the teachers are great and they care about you every step of the way.It is safe and secure and fun learning environment if I had to choose I would say Omni rules!You can't hide that jaguar pride!Thats there modo!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

my daughter loves this school. she came from , a small private jewish day school, and loves it so much more at Omni. she expierienced 1 quarter in advanced classes, and is currently in the gifted program. she really loves(d) both of them. excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

I love Omni!!! I go to River now but o man I miss Omni!!!!!!! It's such a great school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

So overall, Omni is amazing. Omni has an amazing PTSA and great campus. Horrible bathrooms though. But its my school. Go Jaguars!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

Great school academically with strong parent support. Administration is very willing to work with students and parents. For the most part, teachers are well versed in their subject and have a deep concern for their students. Materials and books are plentiful and my son felt part of the Omni family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Omni Middle is a wonderful school! The academics are challenging and there is plenty of available help if students need it. They teach kids to have a strong sense of community service with some amazing programs. There is a great feeling of school spirit on campus. My child was very well prepared for high school after leaving Omni. My second one is still there, and enjoys every day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

517 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

510 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 24% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gerald Riopelle
Fax number
  • (561) 989-2851

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5775 Jog Rd
Boca Raton, FL 33496
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 989-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Andrew's School
Boca Raton, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT