Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Advent Lutheran School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boca Raton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2011

My child just finished her first year at Advent, and we couldn't be happier. The academics are siginificantly stronger than her previous private school, and she had to work very hard to maintain A's. The staff is caring, motivated, and well-educated. The K-8 principal is fantastic. Lots of concern about keeping the curriculum up to date and challenging. My daughter will be extremely well prepared for a rigorous high school environment and able to compete with the brightest students in South Florida thanks to Advent. Wish we had found this school several years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

I have nothing but great things to say about Advent. My daughter has been in the Early Childhood School for 2 years now and LOVES it. The teachers and staff are so warm and caring. She has learned so much and loves to share it with us at home. I think Advent is a great school and look forward to many more years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

It is an understatement to say that my child is unhappy at advent. Classes being small can be a good thing but classes ranging from almost 10 kids to 20 is just too small. The teachers are not quality for what parents are paying for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Advent is a tremendous program. My son entered 5th grade this year and came to Advent mid-year in 1st grade. At the time of transfer from another local private school, he was 6-9 months behind the students at Advent. He has had a wonderful experience here and the cirriculum has been outstanding. In the 5th grade advanced math group the students are working 7th grade math and the comprehension of the concepts is great. The school has a community feel and a thirst for preparing students beyond what they will need as they enter high school. The oppotunity to participate in a variety of activities and develop and understand skills outside of the classroom has also provided a very postive experience. I highly recommend Advent to your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

horrible school. after graduating from eighth grade from there, I was unprepared for highschool. teachers are hardworking but overall school is bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

My son is about to complete his first year of K, he was very well prepared as he attended Early Childhood at Advent. He is reading and math skills have exceeded our expectations and the brnd new K classroom has been fantastic. The loving atmosphere provided by all the staff has made him look forward to attending school and as a result is excelling in his academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Pre-K is a lovely program but the doesn't adequatley prep the kids for kindergarten. The summer camp program tarnishes the school's reputation. It's poorly managed and as a parent you don't feel your child is in a learning, spirtual and save camp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I just enrolled my two boys and the school was so beautiful and well kept. Not to mention the school has a very friendly and qualified staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

The campus is dirty with quite a bit of trash around. The teachers are wonderful but obviously overworked. Lack of organization and leadership by the administration is obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Advent has a great Christian environment. The Academics are strong and challenging for the kids. The Staff, however, is quite anal about enforcing their numerous undocumented policies. I have had numerous confrontations with Staff members about this issue and truly feel that they are not concerned with making the parent's lives as easy as possible, but entirely the opposite. It is an expensive school and after 4 years I am taking my daughter out of Advent to pursue another school that will not be a source of constant discomfort for me and my checkbook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

Good school. Small classes. Uptight curriculum. If your child stiffles from an overstructured day then this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

My son is in Pre-K here. I absolutely love the school, their academic programs& other activities. It is preparing him well for his kindergarten and beyond educational years. Advent has the right mix of fun and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2005

Found the preschool to be below expectations. Musty, dark class rooms, high student-teacher ratios, and so many class options for students to enroll that it seemed like a daycare with rotating daily student enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Advent Lutheran is a great school. Kindergarten through 8th grade is one of the highest rated schools in Boca.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2005

My daughter attended advent and in the beginning it was hard for her. a lot of the parents instilled in their kids that some people belong and some don't and my child did not. they tried very hard to treat her with respect she was called the N word and nothing was done. some kids complained that she was hitting them it was known to be a lie and still nothing was done. i can say my and my daughter's experience with advent will be one to remember. this is a christaain school, but they could not get pass the color of a person skin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

My children have attended Advent for 2 years now, and I could not be happier with their progress. Within this nuturing environment, my children are not only academically enriched, but are exposed to many liberal arts curriculum and christian ethics on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

Great School with a fantastic new Administrative Principal with the knowledge and leadership to make it even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Advent is a great school. We have been there from 'Tot-Time' which is on their Early Childhood side aged 2-3 year olds, up until Kindergarten. The teachers and teacher assistants really care about the kids and the kids really enjoy going there. My child has really learned a lot of things, starting at a very young age. They have a really cool summer camp, although we are usually out of town and haven't attended. Great extra activities like tumbling, karate, baton, etc. Would definately recommend Advent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

This school stresses a Christian education, leadership, values, and citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 42%
Hispanic 2% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 East Yamato Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Phone: (561) 395-3631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT