Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crosspointe Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 748 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

This school is awesome! The best thing that has ever happen to us is having our son go to this school! I am a parent, and I just read a few reviews about parents saying that if you have a choice don't take your kids here and that made me laugh! Those are exactly the kind of parents that bring kids into this world and expect that the school raise their kids and think that the school is all responsible for the outcome of their kids education. It is ridiculous! Your kids are your responsibilities! There is only so much the school can do, the real foundation must start at home! Obviously those are parents that are never involved in their kids education and only go to school to complain when they, as parent, have failed to provide a good, solid foundation for their kids at home then go to blame their kid's teachers and the school itself... that is just hilarious! I am not a school staff or relative of any of the school staff. I am the mother of a third grader student and very proud of it! I trust this school as they have worked so hard to challenge my kid's education and making such a positive impact on his learning success!!!!! Thank you so much for all you do!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Crosspointe Elementary School in Boynton Beach Fl is a great school. I see everyday how hard the teachers and staff work to keep kids and parents involved. I am very happy with this school and they should win because they work so hard and do above what is expected from anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

This school is horrable both princaple and asst princaple never get back to you and my child is a strait A student the people at the front desk don't know what they are doing and are very rude but I guess that's what you get when you unprofessionals working at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

So far my daughter loves Crosspointe Elementary, every day she tells me something good about her day, which makes me happy as well. I am new to the area, and I plan on joining the PTA group
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I absolutely love this school. The personal is very very nice, they are very nurturing and involved with the kids. They truly want to help your children succeed! They even give you suggestions, extra activities if you ask. `very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

Crosspointe Elementary School has great potential and has shown positive increases in student performance. There like any other school, there are good and bad teachers, but for most the teachers are ok and administration is doing a fine job working with the many challenges of the eduational system today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

i love this school and everyone that runs it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

My daughter attended this school for the last three months of the 2008-2009 school year due to a move. I found that most of the school work consists of completing photocopied worksheets and the curriculum does not seem to contain many hands on or authentic learning experiences. Like another parent, I have also found that some of her classmates were extremely disrespectful or disruptive to the educational process. Being new, she was repeatedly harrassed by other students and little was done about it. If this is an A rated Florida school, it does not say much for the rating system. A school should be rated on more than one test score. I will be sending my daughter somewhere else this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

This school is horrible! the principal is not interested in what the parent has to say. If you say the wrong thing watch out she might call DCF on you! she has threated me withthis tactic several times this school year. I wish they would replace her. The free tutoring they were suspose to have was never given to my son who is constaly struggling in reading. I would transfer my kids if i had a way to get them to and from another school but at this time we are stuck. If you have a choice do not send your kid(s) to this school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

There is not enough extra curricular activities at this school. Also the teachers do not return voicemail messages. On more than one occasion, I was forced to leave messages on my daughter's teacher's voicemail but I am still waiting for even one callback. This new principal returns your phone call three days later. I will definitely move my daughter for the 2007-2008 year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

School is clean. Staff does not seem like they want to work there. The only thing your child will learn will learn in this school is how to pass the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

The morale of our school is very low. Quite a few teachers do not even enjoy going to work anymore. Previous years at our school were great. We have a new principal that is not very supportive of the staff or the children. Most teachers go to work early and/or stay late but feel very unappreciated by the principal. Our knowledge and experience were not respected. FCAT tutoring was not offered to our children until approx. two weeks before the test began. Our ELL students were not serviced for the first half of the year. We had so many unnecessary meetings to attend and paperwork to complete that time was taken away from our students. The school does not have enough extracurricular activities to offer the students, probably because the teachers are too drained from the extra work given to us that they do not want to take on another responsibility.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2006

Mrs. Nina Cohen was my daughter's 3rd grade teacher in 2005. She was the best teacher I have ever seen. I wish my daughter would have her as her teacher for all the school years to come. An excellent teacher makes a difference on student performance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

My child is a 1st grader here. His kindergarten year was wonderful, mostly due to his teacher. I feel ok about this year so far, but we do plan to move him next year. The ratio in the classrooms is extremely unbalanced and they are not very willing to communicate with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

We've had a mixed experience at this school. The principal is wonderful, but my child found that many of her classmates were disruptive and not interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Great school ! Principal , staff and teachers, all working together to make our students the best they can be. I have a 5th grader and 1st grader at this school . Last year my , my child was struggling with the reading portion of the FCAT, thru tutoring and extra help from his teacher,myself and my husband, he recieved a 4 on that portion of the test. It was thru the dedication of his 4th grade teacher that made the difference. My Kindergartener was reading by the end of the school year. The fine arts dept.(art, music,computer,PE and Media) is the best, with teachers who are dedicated to bring out the talents of all our kids. Parent Involvement could be better, but we have a core group who keep things moving along, wish more parents would see what they're missing ! B school six points shy of an A !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2005

This school was okay. The school was clean and well maintained. the dissapointment came when it was time to know about school activities. The communication between school and our family was poor. There were many instances of either no communication or misinformation. My children loved their teachers though my son was concerned with the level of his teacher's voice. There are both positives and negatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

All the staff have made a great effort in the years 2004 and 2005. Mrs Ethel Mitchell and Isabel Smith were very motivating for my child. The school needs to offer more sports activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

This school needs improvement. I just received a letter saying that they did not meet required 'level' and therefore I can transfer my son to a different school. The quality of programs are ok, like I said they need improvement. Art, PE, computers, and music is available but they don't offer anything else. There are a few parents that are 100% commited, but other than those 5, the rest dont really care. It's a pretty school on the outside, but everything else needs major improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I think Crosspointe has many outstanding teachers and a great principal. I don't like that children were not allowed to have recess until after the FCATs were over, but I see that as more of a state-level issue than a problem with this school. my daughter is happy in her classes and we appreciate the diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 72%
White 13%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 17%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Jazz band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. CHERYL A MCKEEVER
Fax number
  • (561) 292-4150

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Diving
Girls sports
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Jazz band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3015 South Congress Avenue
Boynton Beach, FL 33426
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 292-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Seacrest Christian School
Delray Beach, FL


Unity School
Delray Beach, FL


Gold Coast Jr Academy
Boynton Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT