Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mclane Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 915 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

since my kid start going to McLane he's behavior change he's attitude change is like I have another boy at my house. The teachers at McLane are not professional...McLane is the worse school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

no communication between school staff and parents, also teacher are very disrespectful in front of your child. Teachers curse and bring their boyfriends with them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My son just completed 6th grade in the Robotics Academy at Mclane. I can't say enough good things about the teachers in the robotics program and the standards they set for their students. The rest of the school, however, is in complete chaos. There are 200 students in each P.E. class and 4 teachers. When my son was grabbed by the throat and slammed into a wall 1 of the coaches told him that if he didn't know the name of the person responsible there was nothing the coach could do. This was two weeks into 6th grade. Later in the year my son witnessed a massive food fight in the cafeteria that resulted in the suspension of 40 students. Worst of all was the day my son came to me and said he had seen one of his female classmates surrounded by a group of boys who proceeded to touch her inappropriately. This was in an overcrowded elective classroom, when he asked her why she didn't tell the teacher she told him that it was a daily occurrence and wouldn't stop. not know his attacker's name the coach couldn't help him. That was two weeks into sixth grade. Later in the year he witnessed a huge food fight in the cafeteria that resulted in the suspension of 40 students. Worst of a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I just graduated there and here is a helpful hint -never take your kids there Please It's horrible


Posted July 23, 2013

I worked at this school approx. 5 years ago. It was horrible. The students bullied other students and also teachers! I never had a student theaten me before. When I brought it up to administration they almost laughed in my face. I've been teaching for 12 years and I like to run a "tight ship" when it comes to discipline but when administration doesn't back teachers up, teachers really have no power. I truly feel bad for the students who want to learn and for all teachers that teach there! I have moved on to teach at a great school now and I beleive I am successful! I still tell my horror stories of this awful school and probably will until I'm 90!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 23, 2013

Teachers don't care about the students. My daughter was a student from 6 to 8 grade and the homework's were very minimal and almost none at all. school needs improvement starting with some teachers. Her performance in elementary school was more demanding than McLane. school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

boiiiiii?!?!?!?! did yall see dat pepper sprayyy thangg?!?!?! Uhhhhh, no duh i aint goin here. In dat skool, its survival to da fitte$$$!


Posted April 15, 2013

I just transferred from private school.. I was told how bad this school was, but.. Honestly, its a better school than Imannuel. Im in 7th grade and today was my first day, and I loved it ! the kids were nice and helpful.. At Imannuel it was hard to make friends because it was so small so if one girl didn't like you, the other 6 didn't.. I think it depends on the student.. but i felt at home, and all the nerves went away, yes all schools have flaws, but for as big as this school is, its pretty good. I don't plan on leaving :) and i look forward to tomorrow :)


Posted February 5, 2013

this sckool is awsom, techrs dont do anystuf and kids finna fade all the time, if u want fun then com here


Posted February 3, 2013

I moved to Florida from Mississippi about 4 months ago. I'm a student, in 8th grade, and I love McLane. Yes, there are fights about every week, and some students are rude and disrespectful. But, my teachers are very helpful, and I've gotten better grades here than I did at my old school. The principals are not very strict, and they know how to handle every situation. The school may seem bad from the outside, but it really isn't. I've made some good friends here, and I don't plan on leaving anytime soon.


Posted January 13, 2013

This review is intended for the STEM Robotics Institute only. I have no real experience with the AVID program, or the school itself, outside of this program. The STEM Robotics program is a school within a school. The program is second to none. The Robotics program is a full 3 years, not one or two semesters as in other schools. McLane fields teams that compete in Robotics competitions locally, state-wide, regionally, nationally and internationally. McLane's Robotics teams have taken 1st place at the National Robotics Championships, and 3rd place at the World Robotics Championships, the past 2 years in a row. That should tell you something about how good the program is. Yet many locals don't even know the program exists. If you're a student in this program, you take all of your classes with other students in the program. My son says he has seen some minor violence at the school, but nothing of any real import. Kids will be kids, and even the best schools can't eliminate bullying, or altercations completely. I wish some of the teachers would do a better job of keeping EDLINE up to date. I can't fix something in my childs progress, if I don't know there's a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

My son and daughter were just enrolled in this school we moved here from Strongsville OH and this school and it's staff are horrible it needs to be shut down. The princaple prejudice and my daughter had her phone stolen out of her book bag and when I went in for a meeting he threw me out of the office and told me his job is not to protect the children he is just the principle and then called the sheriff to remove me from his office. I am done they will not be back to this horrible school I am pulling them now and will go as high as I have to this school needs to be shut down the the principle fired for the way he treats people the staff are so rude and disrespectful. I will not allow a school or its officals to mistreat my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

the staff in this school are very rude. fighting. theft and bullying are a common occurrence .according to principal that is normal.i wouldnt recommend this school to no one. good kids are not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

My son attends the robotics program here. He absolutly loves the program and his main teacher Mr Wilson. Unfortunately, this amazing and beneficial program was set up in a dorrible school. It is the second week of school and they've already madre 9 (nine) arrests! My son's been in three separate altercations; thrown against the wall, punched etc If there wasn't a robotics (school within a school) I'd have pulled him from this school back in the 2011-12 school year. The entire school should be gutted and rebuilt with a sharper office staff, better communication between the office, student affairs, teachers, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

My son went to this school from 2009-june 2011 he did 6th and 7th grade here. IT WAS HORRIBLE. He was always in advance classes even at this school but his grades dropped to C's and D's even F's. I'm a very involved parent and use to go there for observations and was very disappointed with the teaching. There was only One teacher who truly is Amazing that is Mrs. Matthews. She really cares about the students and encourages them to focus on their education. I even went to speak to the 7th grade guidance counselor and she did not care to try to assist me in helping my son. I finally moved and he now attends an A school and by the way he gets A's and B's and is even in the AVID program. The school needs more professionals like Mrs. Matthews who really truly care, strict and fight to educate the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

This school should be shut down! No organization at all. I find the staff to be very rude and ignorant. I've never seen adults act more like children then the students themselves. Smh my daughter is a straight A student and I will not allow her to be objected to such low standards. She will not be attending this school next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

I just finished my 8th grade year, and i'm happy to be leaving. Everyday, there a re fights most of the time, and it got so bad this year, on the last week, they had to have more than 4 cops roaming around the school! I've also heard stories about kids smoking week a couple days ago and they got arrested. Bullying is a regular basis at this school, and they will make fun of your kid for no reason. sure i'll miss all my friends there, but i'm glad i'm done with that bad school! At least it's better these last two years than it was 6th grade. I must give Mr. Oliver his props for that. But, this year was cool, and now i heard that MMS, is getting uniforms, lol! Anyways, 3 years done, off to high school. (:


Posted September 9, 2010

Hi my names daniela i went to mclane for sixth grade and loved it the teachers aere nice theres baerly any bulling there nice kids they teach good and push you till you get it right i love mclane and will never forget itt :]


Posted June 15, 2010

I go to McLane and have since sixth grade, but I am in the 'Robotics Institue'. It is a choice program situated in McLane. It is a great program, and I feel as well protected as I could in McLane. The school has an excellent orchestra, but not much else. The are almost no sports, and club day is a joke. Mr.Oliver has a different approach than Mr.Ellis. He is stricter, but it really has done nothing. Some of the advanced teachers are good, and the Robotics Institute and AVID are excellent programs. All schools have fights, but smart kids stay away form them. If your kid does this, he will be fine. If your kid is not going into Robotics or AVID, I highly reccommend going to another school, as there are better options. **My rating is for the school, not Robotics or AVID


Posted June 8, 2010

<font face="Verdana" size="1" color="#999999"><br/><a href="http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=103321850" style="font: Verdana">MCLANE GOING WILD</a><br/><object width="425px" height="360px" ><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"/><param name="wmode" value="transparent"/><param name="movie" value="http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=103321850,t=1,mt=video"/><embed src="http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=103321850,t=1,mt=video" width="425" height="360" allowFullScreen="true" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent"></embed></object><br/><a href="http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=209228740" style="font: Verdana">'' HiiZ AMAZiiNq ''[LADY MELO]&#39</a> | <a href="http://vids.myspace.com " style="font: Verdana">MySpace Video</a></font>
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

304 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

300 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
Hispanic 26%
White 16%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%67%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK OLIVER
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8135

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 North Knights Avenue
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mann Middle School
Brandon, FL


Brandon Academy
Brandon, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT