Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Schmidt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 624 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

This a great school with dedicated staff. I have had kids attending for many years. The Staff are up against great odds. Very high poverty, lack of parental involvement and very wordly kids that are a handful. They use a positive behavior system and have many ways of helping all kids. They have a Gifted classroom for those who show they need more advanced work. The media people are very good at thier jobs. The newer State Standards or Common Core standards make it hard for the teachers in ALL schools to teach the way us as parents may have been taught. The VAM is a downer to all teachers regardless of the school your kids attend. The biggest concern at this school is the behavior and language displayed and used by some kids. But the school does try very hard to instill good values onto these children. The amount of testing is the same at all the public schools. We stay at HSE because other than a private school costing 10k+ a year, the grass would not be greener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter's school schmidt elementary is one of the best schools they are very dedicated to My daughters need in learning and they show they care I really Grateful for the teachers as well as the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

My daughter loved this when she went but we relocated since army doesn't stay in one stop but compared to Virginia and Texas she loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

This is my son's first year at this school. He is attending 2nd year with Mrs. Chambers as his teacher. We transferred our son from Limona Elementary and are so glad that we did. From the moment you walk in the office you can tell a difference. The staff here actually enjoy children and actually greet you with a smile (unlike some other schools). Our son dreaded going to school last year and now he really looks forward to it. Mrs. Chambers is very patient and seems to really care for the children. Our son is on a 504 plan for health issues and Mrs. Chambers and the staff at Schmidt made it a really easy transition and are knowledgeble about these sorts of processes. Word cannot express how relieved we are that our son is now at a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son has been in H.S.E since Kindergarten, he's in 4th grade now and I have NO COMPLAINTS! I LOVE this school. Every year we were blessed with AMAZING teachers. Mrs.Sperling, Mrs. Chambers and Ms. Martin hands down is what all teachers should be like. My little one now in first grade and I'm excited for him.... Now I'm worried about Middle school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

this is my school... I love it 4th grade is gonna b ez this year i got ms.bates she is the nicest teacher ever never the less, student- ~mia~


Posted March 28, 2013

We love this school! Mrs. Gray is the best kindergarten teacher in the world and has helped our son achieve so much in a very short period of time. He is reading solidly at a first grade level and is excited and inspired at school. There is great communication and parent involvement and a feeling that the staff truly care about your children. Great school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My son attended this school for 3 years. He is in need of services due to learning and behavioral issues. This school does not have the qualified staff to handle children that are in need of ESE services. Even when the paperwork and evaluation was done it was not done they way this school did not do the right thing. Now we are at a new public school trying to complete what needs to be done. This is a good school for a regular student and not fora student that might need more individualized attention or special instructions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

We are very lucky to find a great school like H.S.E. We always be very thankful to H.S.E. staff for all the dedication they always have with all the kids. Our daughter is being attending H.S.E. since first grade and now she is in 4th grade and the improvement have been better and better each year. We would like to reccomend H.S.E. to every parents this wonderful school for the wonderful teachers and the great principal. H.S.WE. school has done a lot for our daughter and we Thank's to everybody that has been making the school a so wonderful school for all the kids and parents . We will reccomend H.S.E. School asm the best school in Brandon.Thank You to all staff for making our daughter better and better each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

My son goes to Hugo Schmidt. I'm very happy that he goes to this school. The teachers are excellent and overall I think this school is up to date with the ciruculum and activities. Staff is very friendly and I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

I wrote a review back when my son started Kindergarten. He is a third grader this year in Mrs Ellis/Mrs Thompson class and I am extremely happy not only in his performance but those teachers are really getting the best of of him. They provide personalize input, they are on top of their development providing the parents information on their development on a weekly basis or as needed. This is being a great year and I am looking forward to another year at Hugo Schmidt elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

This is my daughter's 2nd year here at HSE, and I have to say that we both are very happy with that school! The teacher's are always encouraging her to be the best that she can be. I only hope that my son is just as fortunate and is able to attend HSE next year also! Thank you Hugo Schmidt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I am so pleased with this school. The school is new & modern. The principal and the teachers are active in student achievements. PTA and parents is also active and constantly supporting teacher and student activities. The school is proactive in encouraging student values with Sailor (mascot) expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

Hugo Schmidt Elementary opened in 2003 and already operates as a well established school. The principal and staff are progressive and creative. In addition to the normal cirriculum designed to help students achieve benchmarks and pass state and county tests, they promote character. It is not common to find in the school system, a that educates, promotes and rewards excellent character traits and behaviors. Not only are they teaching the children, they are molding responsible and respectful adults. They participate in continous progress cirriculum. They also provide after school extended learning, FCAT writing workshops and a fun learning academy. Hugo Schmidt Elementary is a model school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

Hi Parents, If you are contemplating on Hugo Schmidt Elementary, I have my two cents worth on it! At the outset, HSE, is a very good school. To my knowledge, it got the new school building just within 15 months. New as it is, the entire academic staff over there are new but experienced from other schools. Principal Bonnie Bullard is an excellent administrator. The discipline and standards she maintains is very commendable. This school has regular parent - teacher meetings, field outings, classroom level, school level and district level competitions for children to compete. While my knowledge about the rest of teachers remains unknown, we found Mrs. Chambers an excellent first grade teacher. She poured her hours and heart to encourage all her class students and was always there to help them in their strenghts and weaknesses. If I relocate to Brandon, my son will go back to HSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 39%
White 29%
Black 26%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 127%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 216%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%67%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANET KELLY
Fax number
  • (813) 651-2114

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 Williams Road
Brandon, FL 33510
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 651-2110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brandon Academy
Brandon, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT