Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

224 students|Lee
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I think they need more hand outs instead of all homework and readings being online

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Lets start with the high turnover rate. The 2 teachers that my son started with at the beginning of the year left before the New Year. The teachers don't have much to work with or anything to work with for that matter. The bus service they use is A&S Transportation and an absolute joke. The martial arts are now once a week not 5. My son has never wore the Martial Arts uniform I had to buy. They had a 15 yo 8th grade girl in my 12 yo son's 7th grade class. The classes consist of different grades thrown together. All their reading and work is online and I don't see how sitting a child in front of a computer is teaching them anything. They DO NOT have a school nurse so I don't know how they dispense insulin, inhalers, & other medication. A school counselor comes by on Friday. There is no school kitchen so they have the food catered everyday. There has been numerous occasions when important information couldn't be sent home due to the printer being broken. I just don't see where raising $750,000 for a playground is beneficial at this point. If they raised money for a kitchen they could save money that's being wasted on the caterers they use. I made a huge mistake putting my child here and won't be returning next year for the obvious reasons. I haven't disclosed what happened there today, but let's just say the resources are not available and the sincere concern for your child is non-existent here like they are in the regular Lee County Schools. This puts these students at a tremendous disadvantage. I am hoping that my child hasn't suffered academically from the year he has spent here. Do your homework and take a tour of the WHOLE school before you ever consider putting your child here.


Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy 1

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Let's start with the high turnover rate. The 2 teachers that my son started with at the beginning of the year left before the New Year. The teachers don't have much to work with or anything to work with for that matter. The bus service they use is A&S Transportation and an absolute joke. The martial arts are now once a week not 5. My son has never wore the Martial Arts uniform I had to buy. They had a 15 yo 8th grade girl in my 12 yo son's 7th grade class. The classes consist of different grades thrown together. All their reading and work is online and I don't see how sitting a child in front of a computer is teaching them anything. They DO NOT have a school nurse so I don't know how they dispense insulin, inhalers, & other medication. A school counselor comes by on Friday. There is no school kitchen so they have the food catered everyday. There has been numerous occasions when important information couldn't be sent home due to the printer being broken. I just don't see where raising $750,000 for a playground is beneficial at this point. If they raised money for a kitchen they could save money that's being wasted on the caterers they use. I made a huge mistake putting my child here and won't be returning next year for the obvious reasons. I haven't disclosed what happened there today, but let's just say the resources are not available and the sincere concern for your child is non-existent here like they are in the regular Lee County Schools. This puts these students at a tremendous disadvantage. I am hoping that my child hasn't suffered academically from the year he has spent here. Do your homework and take a tour of the WHOLE school before you ever consider putting your child here.

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
I would like to say thank you to the principal and teachers for working so hard to continue to make the school better and better. I appreciate that my child is not just a number to them but is a family member. Everyone on staff knows every child by name and really seems to care about them.

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are hard working and seem to genuinely care about their students. Some teachers just like every school have had personal issues come up, my son's teacher one year had cancer and couldn't come back the next year. Teachers are people and have lives, families and issues like everyone else. Overall the teachers are great!!!


Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
I am happy with the level of homework given. With the previous company my son had almost 2 hours of homework it was ridiculous. Now my son gets his homework packet at the beginning of the week along with a teach newsletter that tells what he is learning in class that is due at the end of the week.

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
The school develops persistence and determination because they work to motivate all students, even the ones that may come to the school with behavior issues like my friend's son who is now doing excellent. They push and support the students to be their best.

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to respect each other and the staff and administration also show respect for kids and parents and listen to the needs of students and parents.


Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
They definitely teach students to care and show empathy. In fact, even for small disagreements between students they meet with students and work to teach kids to treat each other right. My son was having an issue with another student, when he told his teacher the teacher told the principal and she had the students meet and talk things out. This avoided them having a bigger issue. Now they get along fine. Right now the school has been collecting items for Tornado victims in Cape Coral. They also do a fundraiser for victimes of cancer and sponsor families who are struggling during each holiday.

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to make good choices and be a good person. They teach kids to care about others and reward them for their efforts.

Nearby schools

Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy
2107 Santa Barbara Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL  33991
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (239) 829-5134
Last modified Cape Coral Preparatory and Fitness Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top