Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Caloosa Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a community member
I was a graduate of the 2011 class at Caloosa Elementary and I absolutely loved every second of my time here. I remember having switched here a few months in from a different school in 1st grade and I was scared to death of going to a new school, but the teachers and students were so welcoming and I quickly felt very, very comfortable here. The gifted and enrichment programs allowed me to excel in class and shoot for further. The teachers were amazing - always encouraging, motivational, and inspirational. They made a huge difference in my education, and I couldn't thank them enough. The school also holds a fair dear of activities to enjoy and I always had a blast at them. There are also plenty of extra-curriculars at the school, especially for an elementary school. I know the school has changed a lot since I've been here, but I'm sure it's still excelling in every aspect. I loved Caloosa Elementary and what it provided for me, and will always cherish my days here.

Caloosa Elementary School 3

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
While we have been blessed with wonderful teachers at Caloosa I have found the Administration to be less caring. They have started losing teachers in the past few years as well. I think that speaks volumes about the leadership.


Caloosa Elementary School 2

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
The staff is not very polite when asked questions. I called was asking a question and the lady just placed me on hold and then someone else picked up. Third time this happens, this is what our kids learn!!!! No respect. Very unhappy for a new parent of Kinder.

Caloosa Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
We love Caloosa! There is no perfect school but this one comes close to it. We have been part of Caloosa for 6 years with 3 different children and I cannot complain. All the teachers have been great, there is structure and compassion. The principle is a gem! I would definitely recommend Caloosa elementary :0)

Caloosa Elementary School 3

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
The teachers at Caloosa are beyond GREAT! I can't say the same for the 'management'. In my experience with the 'management', they're a little judgemental and stand-off-ish. They qualify PE as recess time. There is NO recess after lunch, and NO recess on days they have PE. After some back and forth last year, a 'conditional' recess was agreed to for days the children DON'T have PE. If you're wondering why our children are coming home all wound up after a day of school here, now you know. We wonder why childhood obesity is a problem in the U.S., yet at the same time, we strip valuable recess time from the schedule. Elementary school students should have a 10 to 20 minute recess BEFORE lunch, and a 10 to 20 minute recess after they've eaten their lunch. They blame it on the state's 'requirements', and that they only have the children for 6 hours. Excuses. They also like to tell our children what BOOKS they CAN'T read. They feel the need to test the children on EVERY book they check out of the school library, instead of making reading a FUN learning activity. We could change schools to fix my concerns, but then who would change the system?


Caloosa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
All three of my grandsons went there-one is still enrolled, and it was a great start to character building and their love of learning!

Caloosa Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Caloosa Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Caloosa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
this school is the best i love it keep it up!

Caloosa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
Caloosa is on the ball when it comes to student placement. They are aware of every teacher's attributes and accordingly position the student where they fit best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Caloosa Elementary School
620 Del Prado Boulevard South, Cape Coral, FL  33990
(239) 574-3113
Last modified Caloosa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Caloosa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top