Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gulf Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1000 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2008

This school has changed over the last several years. It has become impersonal and too big. The average student does not get serviced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

My daughter has attended Gulf since Kindergarten, I have to say, I have NOT had a bad experience and she is in 2nd grade. From the teachers to the principals, wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My son is in 3rd grade at this school. We moved here in the middle of last school year and we come from an area where the expectations of the children and PARENTS is extremely low. At Gulf Elementary I really feel like everyone is involved in my son's education and truly want him to succeed. He went from failing, barely being able to keep up with his classmates, and really hating school, to making the Honor Roll, and looking forward to doing homework and going to school. This is all within 1 year. My son is being challenged for the first time and really gets to feel good about himself. As a parent, I feel like I know everything that is going on at his school, good and bad. I don't find out things when it is too late to do anything. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

Thius is a big school with alot of students but the learning experiences that they receive is outstanding. The teachers and principals really do care and get involved in all daily activities with the students. They are strict but it helps keep all of the children well behaved and respectful. I highly recommend this school to any parent. The gifted program is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

My daughter and son have both gone to Gulf Elementary since Kindergaten. She is now in 5th, he is in 3rd. The school is excellent in every way. This summer they were so excited to go back to school and LEARN! The teachers and principals do their best to keep the kids well behaved and interested... they also organize some great field trips taking advantage of the area we live in. The gifted program is also tops... we are very lucky to have such smart children and a program to enhance their learning experiences. This school is BETTER than a private school. Save yourself the money and put it toward your children's college fund.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

My son started out in ESE, and was mainstreamed into a regular class this past year. The teachers, administrators, and teachers' aides have all gone over & above to help our son succeed-we have been so pleased, we're even moving our daughter out of private school to attend Gulf. They track each child and make sure they are challenged at the right level for them; not just letting kids breeze through, either bored or overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

This school is the best elementary school in our zone. Our son started in Kindergarten and his teacher had such great experience that she knew right away that he needed to be moved to 1st grade. The staff and administration worked with our son and our family to determine the proper placement for him and we had a great transition. We know that he is being challenged and learning so much. The principals are extremely responsive and truly watch out for the well-being of their children. The kids are well behaved and the staff and environment is so friendly. The parents are very involved at this school and it shows. We looked at the private schools in the area and had our acceptances in hand, but felt this was a better fit for our family and 2 years later we still know that we made the right decision to choose Gulf.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I am so thrilled with Gulf Elementary School. My daughter is in first grade, she started in Kindergarten. I am very happy that this school offers a separate building for children K-2 grades. One of my biggest concerns was that my daughter would be exposed to children 9-10 years old, learning some behaviors earlier than I wished! The curriculum is fantastic - by the end of Kindergarten, she was reading on 2nd grade level and they separate the reading groups by skill level. They do P.E. every other day with other 'labs' in between, including computer, art, music and library. Most of the teachers have been there for years and seem to love what they do. I appreciate that they don't allow children to misbehave to spoil the learning experience for other children. Before you put your child in private school, give Gulf a try. I'm happy that I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

This is a great school. I feel that my kids are exceling at Gulf. The enviroment is friendly and I feel comfortable that my children are really loved by the teachers. There is the usual 'teacher' stuff I call it, meaning some teachers do things a little odd. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

Our son started kindergarten at Gulf Elementary in August. While we are only approximately two months into the school year our experiences have been very positive. The teacher provides constant communication and feedback. She has been available to meet with us and talk about issues that may concern us. Our son is already happy and settled into his new routine. We can see the progress he makes and most importantly is excited about learning. My only concern would be the lack of school uniforms. Gulf had such an excellent reputation we chose the school in spite of this, but basic uniforms would enhance the learning environment. It is not as much an issue in kindergarten as becomes in the future, but it nearly swayed us from choosing Gulf. Especially with most schools in the distric already having basic uniform requirements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

This is a great school. It seems as though the teachers really care about their students and strive to make sure they are learning to their greatest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Mrs. Kernick is a great asset to Gulf Elementary. In my daughters class however was filled with unruly children who parents were uninvolved making it difficult for the 'good' ones to learn. Mrs. Kernick did her best with the resources that were available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

I have 3 children in this school and am extremely pleased. I love this school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Our experience with Gulf Elementary has been limited thus far, but from what I can tell they are a wonderful close-knit school. The VE programs are well rounded with excellent teachers. The principal is caring, the staff effecient, and the teachers attentive. I only have refrence of this school via their VE programs, and I have been nothing but impressed thus far. Gulf has recieved a grade of 'A' based on their FCAT testing. The campus is nice, and they are building a new building to make it better. I can't think of one negative thing to report on this school. We are very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

I have two boys going to this school now and even went so far as to move within 1 mile to make sure they go there. Teachers are extremely motivational to kids. I couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

My daughter attended this school from K-5th. Now my son is in 2nd grade at Gulf Elementary. I could not be any happier with the Principal, teachers, and staff. I feel my children are getting a private school education in a public school setting. The parent participation is wonderful and this is attributed to the encouragement on the part of the Gulf Elementary staff. I have been picking up and dropping off for 7 years and have never had a problem considering the amount of parents dropping off their children. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

This is my daughter's third year at Gulf Elementary. The principal is outstanding and works well with parents and students. I am very pleased with the super education my daughter is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Student drop off and pick up, needs a lot of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have to say that Gulf Elementary is an EXCELLENT school. The teachers are awesome and truly care about all of the kids. The principal works right alongside the staff to keep Gulf an A rated school. I would definitely recomment Gulf Elementary to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 25%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%66%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Southwest 17th Place
Cape Coral, FL 33914
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 549-2726

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nicaea Academy
Cape Coral, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT