Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christa McAulliffe Charter Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 729 students

Strong Accelerated Program for gifted and high performing students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

My daughter attended CME from 2nd - 5th grade and I can't say enough positives. She is now in high school and the improvements they've made since she left are truly amazing...accelerated program that challenges high performing and gifted students, science lab "special" class, diverse curriculum to include art, music, social studies (including world history) as well as regular "core" subjects. I wish that all of that had been in place when she attended. I thought it was an amazing school then, and Principal Collins has done a lot to make it even better! I would recommend it to anyone who has a student that needs to be challenged and wants their child to stay interested in learning and not be bored!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Overall this is an amazing school. Both kids attended since VPK, we just moved over the summer and miss the school dearly. The principal and teachers truly care and listen to parent concerns, of course some are better than others. The children excel. Between the accelerated curriculum, the high level of parent involvement, clean facility, and events they plan, it is an all around great school. My kids, as well as many of their friends have entered accelerated or gifted programming, and many of the children are reading in VPK. They allow the children to learn at their own pace and are pretty decent at recognizing individuality. Some minor issues with bullying that I would have liked to have seen resolved a bit quicker, but that is my biggest complaint. The food is healthier when compared to alternatives, the playground is newer and well maintained, the school is clean, they recognize achievement, push kids to excel (but are not militant), have frequent and interesting field trips, and Principal Collins has always been accommodating with us and others I have spoken with. Also very secure in how they handle children being picked up. IDs required, cards for the car-line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My kids have been going to this school for 6 years different grades my daughter which is the last of my children has been there for kindergarten now going into first grade they withdrawal her seat with out even contacting me even thou she was going there for summer activities with her current teacher because of volunteer hours that I did complete my advice write down all your volunteer hours and check always because your always wrong there always right bottom line and it dosent matter how long and how much you have helped though out the years.Mrs Collins the principal wont do anything for you she will just treat your child like a number.So beware cover your back and dont except any help from the school.My daughter is happy at another school now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

CME is by far the best elementary school in the Cape! We moved to Cape Coral last August three weeks into the school year so we had to just choose a school by lottery. I researched CME through greatschools.org and saw it is identical to my daughter's former school Sandpiper elementary. Without hesitation I put her on the waiting list. CME kept me informed throughout the summer and the weekend before the 12-13 school year started, they called and said there was a seat available. It's been a great year thus far and my daughter loves the 3rd grade there. From online grades, to different after school clubs, community activities as well as mandatory parent involvement are some of the best any school can offer it's students and beneficial to my daughter's success. Thanks Great Schools for ALL your help!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

WE LOVE CME!! The staff is great and I love the emphasis on parent involvement. We have 5 kids attending this school and I cant even think of one complaint. The teachers are very good about keeping you in the loop on your childs progress and work very hard to give each student the tools they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Excellent school, both my children are very happy and are learning so much!!! But, I wish they had some extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

The atmosphere in CMCES is unlike any other school I have ever stepped foot in. The school is chocked full of amazing teachers who place the kids at the front of the line in their long list of priorities. Most of our teachers do this work to make a real difference and they certainly go above and beyond the call of duty. The school also does a great job with getting parents involved as much as possible. I dare you to find another school where so many parents volunteer their time to help in the classrooms as well as events that take place off campus. This is the 5th year that CMCES has been open and they have managed to accomplish being an A School in the state of Florida each and every year so far. From top to bottom, Christa is the best school in America and we are so glad our children get to learn in this wonderful establishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

Christa McAulliffe is one of the greatest elementary schools I have ever seen. Considering the school has earned an A rating consistantly, the amazing parental involvement, school activities, events and community togetherness it promotes; these are just a few of the reasons why Christa should be considered to be the number #1 model school in the U.S. Please help improve public awareness on this amazing GEM of Cape Coral, Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

I am a teacher and a mother of two students at Christa McAuliffe Charter elementary School. The staff and families are a phenomenal crew of hard working dedicated individuals. Our students benefit from these exceptional people who work together to support exceptional students. I am glad to be a part of such a successful school!! Two thumbs up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I agree wit the previous parent. Last year I transferred my son from Cape Coral Charter school as well. The difference is unimaginable. My son gets very exited every morning before leaving for school. The whole staff makes it easy on both students and parents, and the principal is of an incomparable kindness. Most of all I can tell you that my child is in good hands and is receiving the best education a child could get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I transferred my children to this school from Cape Coral Charter School this year. Christa McAulliffe is Awesome! The teachers are great, the staff is pleasant, the principal is involved and you can tell he loves what he does. The academics are challenging and presented in a nurturing environment. I am so happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

Excellent school. Private education feel with great parent involvement. Highly Recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

My daughter has been with the City of Cape Coral Charter School System since it began. I am thrilled with the way she is treated as an individual student with unique needs and not just a dollar amount. The quality of the curriculum, the 'no homework' policy and the belief that children will test will if you teach them are making all the difference in her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I am the parent of 2 children attending Christa McAuliffe. The staff is very professional. My children are in great hands, learning more than they would be if they stayed in the private school they were in. The principal is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

This is a well structured school. My two children are doing great with the Core Knowledge Curriculum which Lee County Schools don't offer. I am very pleased with the professionalism that the staff displays. This is surely one of the best schools in Cape Coral. (Next to Oasis Charter Elementary) Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 24% 29%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Golden School Award (2012)
  • Golden School Award (2011)
  • Golden School Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • ESOL
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jacqueline Collins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • website
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (239) 282-0376

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • ESOL
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • limited transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Sports Club
Girls sports
  • Sports Club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Recycling club
  • Sports Club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
  • Young Astronauts Club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • 30 hours annual requirement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Municipal Charter School - students must reside in Cape Coral Located next to Jim Jeffers Park.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Oasis Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2817 SW 3rd Lane
Cape Coral, FL 33991
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 283-4511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT