Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 820 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

Very disappointing - I was hoping the other reviews weren't accurate, but they are. The office lacks organization upon enrollment of new students. The principal is very rude and unprofessional. There is a lot to learn as a parent coming into a new school, unless you are told at enrollment. Yet your treated rudely by their leader for not knowing. Not a very welcoming experience. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

OUR G-SON has been there 2 years he needs help with reading/ and understanding some problems some things need to be EXPLAINED . he said 1 day that if he comes up (teacher)1 more time 4 help he will b on (RED ) list. This teacher or 1st g) teacher said he is DYSLEXIA! yet from what i understand THERES NO HELP OR GUIDANCE. I feel very heart broken for him and his mother .NO DIRECTION!


Posted November 13, 2013

Not sure how this school is an A+ school. We moved here from another state. The curriculum was at least 6-9 months behind the school we left. My kids were not challenged, the teachers yelled constantly at the kids. My youngest was bullied - verbally then physically assaulted. Nothing was done. We also have food allergies. They have no rules on food, handing out treats whenever they feel fit to anyone who will take it with no way of knowing, caring or keeping track of the kids who might be allergic. When we first enrolled, we mentioned on every form and several times verbally my kids would be car riders. Vague instructions were given on how this process works, but no sign (which apparently I needed). After a week of picking up my kids, I got 'pulled over' by someone who asked where my sign was and informed me I needed one and to get one right away. Not where or how to do, just get one. I was then yelled at by 3 other staff members for the same thing. Not one offered to get one for me or apologized it wasn't given to me upon enrollment. A few days later I learned the first woman was in fact the principal. What a missed opportunity to welcome a new family to your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

My child went to Pine Ridge from K-3rd grade and the 1st year was fantastic. Loved the teacher and the communication between teacher and parent. After that, it was downhill. The last straw was having my all A and some B student, in a half special education class. There my child was picked on and bullied by other students. When she finally had enough and said something to the teacher, my child was put on yellow for the day and told to go sit down. Since the class was split the teacher had to teach half her class then teach the other half, my daughter didn't ever have the ability to go and ask questions. Her grades suffered and for the 1st time she made a C. I am glad we will no longer be dealing with the bullies or the teacher who doesn't seem to care about the students that do well and follow the rules. I am sure that it is not fair to either group of children in the class to have their time split in half.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

The teacher's are not monitored closely enough. One of my children was spending most days in the "quite room" because the teacher was angry with a student that would literally throw temper tantrums and was allowed to disrupt the classroom, other students took the brunt of her frustration. I wasn't told my child was missing so much of the limited classroom instruction time until fourth quarter. This year one of my children's teachers took away my child's class tshirt (each of the students were give one by the school), she actually kept and never returned it. After discussing this with the principal it still wasn't handled appropriately. A boy on the bus was picking on my daughter and the vice principal handled it so poorly it was difficult to get her to go to school, my child now does not trust teachers or administration. We've had problems with one teacher in particular this year, with mentoring she could improve and be a great teacher but she needs must assistance. We try never to complain about anything and are thrilled this will be our last year at Pine Ridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

This school was great when my child was in K but first grade has not been the best and the school claims that they had problems with my child last year but if they did I didn't get anything on it and my child went from starting the school year out on a 2 grade math level and they did another evaluation and had now dropped to below average!! Looking into a new school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

My child is currently in first grade at Pine Ridge Elementary and so far we are very pleased with the school. The teachers have been great and I feel the Principal and Assstant Principal are doing an amazing job and really care for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

The curriculum in Lake County is a total joke. First graders are expected to read without being taugh phonics, after they were allowed to "journal" in Kindergarten by spelling words phonetically any way they pleased. I got a nite from her teacher because the "poem" homework. Really?!? I was too busy with the other more important homework -that takes over an hour EVERY NIGHT- to bother with COLORING. First grade teachers from schools in another state are in agreement with me that the lesson plans are completely backwards. How is my student to be expected to sound out words if the proper way to pronounce vowel/vowel and consenant blends aren't being introduced? The curriculum writers are obviously morons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

Pine Ridge is great place for kids!!! They have a great staff who love and care for students!


Posted July 22, 2010

My child is special needs. They have met and continue to meet her needs every year that she has been there. The staff is wonderful. The teachers are the best! Two thumbs up from me. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Always had the best teachers, loved the principal, cares about each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Great school!! Love the teachers and the new principal!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I have 2 daughters at PRE. We are incredibly happy with the school, the staff and the administration. My chldren look forward to going to school because they are so comfortable with the environment. There is a fantastic volunteer program and the parents are very welcomed if they are interested. School safety is a #1 priority to Ms. Kinat. She is a very strong leader who has the respect of her staff. We could not be happier with our teachers. They view themselves as an extension of the parents. That is what we all need!! Terri
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Education at this school is a joke. I realize the Sunshine State Standards are low across the board, but this school takes the cake. If your child is gifted, they sit there bored. They teach the FCAT. No more, no less. Parents are welcomed for certain events, such as evening Science Fairs, Field Trips or other specified times when they NEED parents help. But other than that, the over all feeling is that parents are not very welcomed. Bullying and teasing is not addressed. I have heard from other parents that threats/bullying towards their children, have been swept under the rug. My child has been teased and made fun of only to be told, by the teacher, 'don't tattle', when he tried to tell her. Considering the problems that schools have had across America regarding bullying, I find this extremely disheartening. I would encourage parents to look elsewhere for their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I love PRE!!! It is a wonderful school and both of my boys love it there! The teachers are awesome and stay in touch with the parents. The principal and office staff are great too! Very small town atmosphere. The school is serious about keeping the kids safe and giving them a great learning environment. I was skeptical due to the reviews on this site, but they were not accurate. I couldn't be happier with Pine Ridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

i was almost scared to send my son here because of all the bad reviews! i dont know why, it's a great school! The staff is so incredibly nice and helpful, better than the private school here. and I met the principle, shes very nice too! she's just really busy, i guess thats why people see her as grumpy, but shes sweet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This school is great my daughter has been going there for 4 yrs k to 3rd grade Teachers are wonderful and the admin is top notch
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

This school has no extra help for child who do not have a medicial disability. If your child is average but learns slower than the rest than they will fall through the cracks...and if your child is an A student and is bored... they tell you to put them in a different school because they have no excel classes. The district makes up there own rules and you as a parent have no say. They teach the kids how to take 1 test and that is the FCAT test which they terrify them into learning. They only offer any kind of help only until they take these test and once they are over there is no more help--so the children who need the extra help gets nothing after that...Not in the best interest of the children. The teachers are good but some feel the same way with these test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

My kids started Pine Ridge last year 2006 and I didn't even know who the principal was until mid way through the year! I have two children in this school and the teachers are hit or miss you either get a really good teacher or a really bad teacher. The way that the students are assigned music, art, PE, and library is confusing, it is not on the same day every week and sometimes they don't one or more of them in any given week. There is no point in allowing the children recess because there is no where for them to play and expell some of that energy that kids have. They have a basketball court but the teachers in each class have to provide the equipment to play, equipment is not provided by the school for recess. I come from up north and school's there seem to care more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I truly enjoy the VPK program & their teachers. They are wonderful. My son is in the program & Mrs. Myers & her assistance are great w/the kids. My son enjoys going to school each day and for there caring ways, I thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 17% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%62%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10245 County Road 561
Clermont, FL 34711
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 242-2223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT