Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cocoa High School

Public | 7-12 | 1457 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

This school is filthy and constantly has headlice outbreaks. Its policy on students of age making adult videos outside of school should be revised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

this is by far the worst school in brevard we have moved to melbourne and love it here . my kid goes to melbourne high school and loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

Cocoa High School, my older son went to CHS and had great teachers, wonderful staff. I know that they might have a bad rep because of rumors. But CH has some of the best teachers in Florida. My younger son will now enter the 9th grade and I have now worries. The only thing I could say about CH is that the staff should so the same respect for all sports not just he ones that win all the time. If they gave the same support for say like soccer as they do foot ball maybe it would boost the kids moral.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Teachers are inconsistent with keeping posted grades up to date, are disorganized with and sometimes cryptic with posting assignments and instructions. Often they take awhile to respond to parents requests. Guidance at school is mediocre Mrs. Bobay, the school guidance Counselor and others do work hard to do what's best for students, but I've had trouble with getting the staff to see things through to improve my child's performance or see their plans through to completion. I constantly struggled with my child son who always complained about not liking the school. I ve applied for a n out of area transfer as advised by other parents in my neighborhood. CHS has the potential to be a great school being directly behind a college. Sr. Staff is quick to suspend students for relatively minor infractions, where detentions would have been warranted in any other school. Once a student is suspended (In School) they are supposed to be afforded the opportunity to complete all class work for that day in ISS, but teachers do not submit class work for student to work on, and often will count the student absent instead. Every class drops almost a full letter grade for this type of disconnect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

My daughter went there last year and is now homeschooled. She was intimidated by the other students, lunch was stolen every day. Administration does not return calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

"A" school for 2 years since 2010. The AP program is really good, teachers are willing to help their students to pass the AP exam, also great spirit for the football team. Country football champions 2012, and has not lose by any other school in the country since 5 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

I just graduated in 2009 and I think CHS is a great school. Every year they try to make the school better than before. I think it is a great foundation for academic learning because now im at a Florida college, and I am doing great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

The students and staff are friendly and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I am a student at Cocoa High class of 2010 and I love Cocoa High. Alot of people say our grades are horid but our grades are improving and I think its because of the new staff who are really trying to make a good learning enviroment. I think people should give this school a chance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

I went to cocoa high and graduated in 2003. I know that there was a drive to improve the school that we knew was the lowest ranking in the county. I was in some extracurriculars, but there were many that other schools in the county had but we did not. When I visited other schools durring county wide compitions or preformances, the students from the others schools looked surprised that we were even there. And for good reason there was enough funding provided for anything the other students had. I suppose you can blame it on test scores, but test scores arent going to go up until the kids have fun going to school. Although some of the students who go to the school actully care about learning their lights are quickly extenquished as my own was by senior year. Its the school everyone forgot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2005

Cocoa High is a great school. The addition of the 'Senior Experience' in the 2003-04 school year was a very good thing. It Gives the seniors a chance to think about career choices and options they have once they Graduate. While attending Cocoa High I was apart of several extracurricular activities and still found time for classwork because of the flexibility of the activity directors.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2005

The principal at CHS has fostered an atmosphere of mediocracy by skirting responsibility for low student achievement. Mrs. Backkus has been my child's principal through Fairglen, Clearlake and Cocoa. She has repeatedly made excuses for low test scores and low grades on the state's scale. The administration has taken three weeks to return repeated phone calls regarding summer school registration. We are frustrated and glad our child is a senior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

If you are thinking of buying a home in the area and education is important, be wary of this school. It recieved a D rating this year and C ratings over the 3 previous years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I think CHS has been improving. There are some teachers that I think need some more training. I've had some problems with some things at the school, but they have always been resolved in a professional manner (most of the time).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

The band program is lacking, and needs an overhaul of board members and director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Cocoa High School has done a lot of changes in the past few years and its FCAT scores Do not give the school the credit for all its hard work. The teachers at this high school truly care for their students and are willing to work with the parents to help make their child's high school experience the best it can be. For a student who wants to duel enroll in the local community college, this is the place for that student. The local community college is in walking distance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Cocoa High School is a very good school when you consider the demographics of the comunity that feeds it. The economics range from extremely poor to upper middle class. CHS has a principal that actually cares about her students and faculty and sees that the enviroment they work in is safe and conducive to learning. As far as 'Tiger Pride' goes there are students that have it and students that don't... As with any school there are those that are involved and those that aren't. In today's day and age life gets in the way of some parents physical involvement. The school rates a 'C' not through it's own fault but through the feeder schools. Cocoa has special classes to help improve learning, all that's needed is involvement. CHS also features college courses, Parenting courses, and courses to help students get back on track. That's impressive to me. - C.J.B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I think that Cocoa High is an alright school. There are a lot of areas that need work in order to improve and make it a better environment. I graduated from Cocoa, my daughter graduated in 2000, and now my youngest daughter is a sophmore. The only thing she complains about that there is no school pride! I know when I was attending school it made the days go by faster when everyone was involved in school activities. Maybe this will be a helpful tip in order to improve the C school to an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

225 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

228 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

205 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
48%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Black 24%
Hispanic 15%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 71%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. STEPHANIE A SOLIVEN
Fax number
  • (321) 636-1218

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Tiger Trail
Cocoa, FL 32926
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 632-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT