Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Broward Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 1400 students

Academic rigor, fine arts and athletics
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Coconut Creek

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2011

As a student, I am 100% thrilled about my education. Great teachers, great students, and a great school! Proud to be graduating next year, as an Eagle. If you're looking for a great school that cares about the students, look no further. NBPS is number one!


Posted June 18, 2011

My son is completing his 3rd year of elementary school at the Coconut Creek Campus. The teachers have been great so far and the academic program is very good. Mandatory Violin, Chinese, math and science courses are excellent. Your child will fit in well if he is outgoing. Some kids who are the only child have a tough time transitioning however the staff does a good job of recognizing this and providing support. Overall I could not be happier. My son has really flourished at NBPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Where are these reviews? Not on this web site. NBPS has been undergoing a fantastic renaissance over the past few years since it became a Meritas school. I encourage you to take a tour. I think you will find a caring, nuturing environment with excellent academics and both AP and IB programs. 99% of our graduating seniors got in to their FIRST choice colleges and universities. The fine arts program is second to none. If you don't reconsider, your children might not have the opportunity to attend one of south Florida's finest schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2011

Not a review, just a question for anyone who is available to answer. We are coming from out of state and looking to move to the Parkland area. I was interested in this school until I read so many bad reviews about an angry, unhappy principal. The tuition is too high to have bad leadership. Has anyone moved from this school to Pine Crest? Would that be the better option? That would mean looking at real estate in a different area. I am looking for a private school that focuses on education as opposed to religion. I expect my kids to work, but will not allow them to be in a constant state of stress. I appreciate any suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

I've been at this school since Pre-K. The teachers here are extremely committed and talented and love the students. Now that I am a senior and am moving on to college at either NYU, the University of Michigan, UF or UM, I am going to miss the incredible atmosphere and the wonderful people at North Broward.


Posted March 21, 2011

This is my first year as a parent at North Broward and my daughter and our family LOVE the lower school. Great teachers and administration. The cost of the school is pricey, I won't lie, but my daughter is getting such a great education. Much better than she would ever get at public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

Our daughter began attending eighth grade at North Broward this school year. After much discussion and deliberation, she left a public school that we no longer felt was able to provide her with the best possible environment for learning. I cannot say enough wonderful things about North Boward. Not only does she continue to thrive in her advanced classes, she has become very involved with the amazing fine arts program and is surrounded by caring, involved teachers. She has made great friends and we have never looked back or second guessed our decision to make this commitment to her education. She will be attending high school at North Broward on an academic scholarship and I am confident that she will continue to thrive and do amazing things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

We have one child in the high school and have found it to be excellent. Extremely caring and involved teachers, Strong and challenging academics, and a variety of extra curricular activities combine to make for a wonderful high school experience. The campus feels very safe and the small size allows the students to develop strong bonds with both teachers and classmates. We are very happy with our decision to send our child to North Broward!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

Great school with challenging and varied academic offerings along with unique and interesting electives. Great leadership. Excellent teachers who care about the kids. Very involved and active PSTA. Good group of kids and a good group of parents rounds it off to a great experience all around for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

My children have gone to NBPS since Pre K and Kindergarten. Each year I am amazed during our Parent Teacher conferences how the teachers are so in tune to my individual children. They know their strengths and weaknesses and have found ways to motivate them to "want" to learn and be good students. I have two very athletic boys who were not so interested in academics and now one is taking AP classes in high school with a 4.6 average and the other is right behind him doing great in Middle School. I am so thankful to have the teachers and staff at NBPS be a part of the "village that is raising my children." I would highly recommend it to others who are looking for a school that is interested in helping each child achieve their greatest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

Because we have 3 children in very different age ranges, we have been at North Broward for 12 years. Over the last 3 years, we have seen deliberate focus and improvement in: student and campus technology, character building, IB and AP programs, faculty and student development, and "academics first, enriched by fine arts and athletics." There is tremendous three way communicaton between parents, teachers and administration so each student is accountable and accounted for. Parent involvement in the school is outstanding. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to have a challenging academic experience while having many opportunities to become a well-rounded adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

I have a 3rd grader & a 5th grader, and both have been at NBPS since Kindergarten. I have been extremely pleased with each and every one of their grade-level teachers. The school offers a challenging curriculum, wonderful fine arts programs and competitive athletic activities & teams. Having the facilities of the upper school available to lower school students presents them with opportunities they would otherwise not have. I wanted a school that my children could attend beginning in Kindergarten and graduate from 13 years later. I feel that I have found the perfect match in North Broward Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I have a child in the lower school and one in the middle and we are extremely pleased with both. We transfered from a public school three years ago and are amazed at all of the opportunities that they have availble to them at NBPS. From extensive Fine Arts and Athletics programs to challenging acedemic curriculum that suits their individual needs. We are so lucky to have found so many wonderful familiies, students, teachers and administrators all in one place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

I am a parent of 2 high school students. The experiences have been great. The school offers so much that if your child does not take advnatange of everything then you are not getting your money's worth. If your child excels in Fine Arts or Athletics this school makes it all available. If your child is an AP, IB , Honors or takes regular classes NB has it all. When reading the previous reviews any one can see that the new owners and leadership have improved in the past couple of years. I would recomend NBPS to anyone that truly wants the best for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

My son just completed his freshman year at North Broward. He previously attended public school. He found the overall experience to be highly rewarding. His honors course work was challenging, but supported by a teaching staff who make themselves available to their students and show an interest in their acheivments. The school offers an extensive athletic program. They seem to take an interest in developing not only students, but preparing the kids to be good members of their communities. My son feels fortunate to be able to attend school at North Broward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I wish I could say I love this school, but I don't. Teachers need a dress code. Better this year than last year. Something about teachers wearing open toe shoes or tattoos on the ankle (like the new lower school guidance counselor) is just not attractive nor professional for a preparatory school. Students are required to wear uniforms, but it may be a great idea for the teachers as well. School has some great qualities, but the bad outweighs the good. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Middle school is exemplary for honors students, wonderful environment, fabulous teachers, safe and nuturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My children having been at the lower school for 3 years now and this year will be the last. I think this should sum up how my husband and I feel about the school. Administration could use a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

The campus is gorgeous. Feel very safe leaving kids there. However, you can't judge this school by the cover! The lower school needs major improvement. The leadership is honestly just a sad situation. Principal seems to always be angry and not very nice. Always one bad apple that spoils the bunch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Seems parents in upper school are happy. Lower school has MUCH room for improvement. Very poorly run lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard
Yale
Princeton
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jackie Fagan, Admissions Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (954) 247-0012

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Vision The Schools' central vision is to challenge our students to accept responsibility for their own learning with the support of teachers and staff members who care about their future. In that way, we fulfill our responsibility to students to empower them to succeed both in college and in life.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
academic scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Top Schools Throughout The Country
State Schools Throughout Florida
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7600 Lyons Road
Coconut Creek, FL 33073
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 247-0011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT