Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lyons Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1799 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2009

Very bad school,teachers are horriabe,principal and teachers are very difficult to communicate with,my kid went there for his 6th grade and he hated it then i tried to communicate with the teachers and principal no response from them like they do'nt care,please stay away if you care about your kids future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

The school is an A school the band is great earning a superior in band assesments. also the athletic department is outstanding
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

My son has attended Lyons Creek for 3 years and any parent who rates this school a 5 must have a smart kid. Now for the parents who have kids who tend to struggle you are in for a nightmare at this school. It doesn't matter if you attempt to stay on top of things the teachers DO NOT GIVE A CRAP especially once they make up their minds that your kid seems lazy or not interested. Don't let the A rating fool you. It means absolutely NOTHING.The teaching faculty is a joke, they are there to collect a paycheck and take weeks to update grades. By the time they do your kid has failed. And they always blame your child rather than themselves for failing a student when they make no attempt to contact parents about what is happening in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Lyons Creek is an outstanding middle school. It is a magnet school, but in a great neighboorhood, instead of a lower socioeconomic area. The principal was a finalist for Principal of the year in the state. My family moved into the area so my son could attend a wonderful trifecta of schools: Tradewinds, Lyons Creek, and Monarch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My son is in 7th grade there, and while the school itself is nice, the faculty and staff seem apathetic at best......Very little structure in his advanced classes, and it takes forever to get a graded paper or project returned....pretty middlin'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Lyons Creek is a great school. The principal really cares about the students. It is rare to find a staff that works so well together. Middle school is a change for most kids, Lyons makes it much easier for the kids. Lyons Creek ROCKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

LCMS is a great school, with teachers who really seem to care about their students. My 8th grader has had the best year with technology and writing and band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Teachers could care less and are very insistant on letting us know that too. I never have been able to actually interact with my son's teachers and all they do all the time the students are in class is email their friends and talk on the phone. I would not recommend this school if you are hoping that your child recieves and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I love this school because it is a safe and fun environment to learn in.Last year I had the best team of teachers Gordon,Amati,Mitchum,Morgan,and Gardner.They were willing to help with any of my problems.The faculty and staff are informed 24/7 about everyones problem.We miss Mr.Curry and Dr.Tumor.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2007

My previously honor roll student(who used to love school)ended up hating school after his first year at Lyon's Creek Middle...terrible communication between teachers, ESE, principal and guidance. No such thing as zero tolerance at this school and my son will not be returning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Last year was my son's first year in middle school and I was extremely worried. With the help of some wonderful and caring teachers - Allbright, Johnson, Kozell, Castro & DeSoritz - we survived. This group of teachers are the best. There are not enough words to express my gratitude to having them as my son's teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I just wanted to tell you how great Ms. Cole and Mrs. Matarasso are as teachers. They really helped me when I needed words of encouragement and someone to rely on. And keep up the good work!!!! love, Kala Hennessey
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

Protect your children from this school! The faculty and staff were either uninformed or did not care the majority of time I requested information both before and during my son s enrollment. My child came as an outstanding straight 'A' student only to hate school after one year.A strict dress code is needed as students dress very promiscuously. The entire school appears to care only about the FCAT and their school grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My son is extremely intelligent and has been in the gifted program since pre-school. He has always made straight 'A's' until he entered Lyons Creek Middle School. It is obvious that neither the teachers nor the administrative/leadership/counseling staff care at all about the success and/or problems of my son. They should feel like losers since my son isn't doing well since entering their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

I have a son that graduated from Lyons Creek last year and a daughter that is now in the eighth grade. I have had nothing but enjoyable experiences in dealing with the staff. The teachers are attentive and regularly give feedback on my children's progress or lack thereof. Mr. Satty is wonderful and should be applauded for his professionalism, ethics and devotion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Lyons Creek is an excellent school, and the majority of the teachers are very interested and involved in the well-being of the kids. Our son has really blossomed here, both academically and socially. Like many other schools, however, they need to be able to offer much more in the way of cultural learning opportunities, e.g. art, music, etc. In addition, like every other school in this state, they have been forced into the position of putting so much focus on the FCAT tests that it has become detrimental to the learning process in non-FCAT subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

I have one child in the school. Haven't had any ploblems the teachers have been helpful. The band is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Lyons Creek Middle School is an 'A' school in my books. Both my daughters in this school and they love it. The teachers give the students all the necessary attention to reach their potential. They have a wonderful collection of staff. Both my dghtrs have done very well thanks to the classes they offer. The school has a great after school program and activities. One of my daughters is in the gifted classes and they have done wonders for her! I would tell any one to send their child to Lyons Creek Middle if they have the opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

This school is one of the most fantastic schools I have ever had the pleasure of sending my child to. The teachers are wonderful. Specially mr. satty. He is kind and friendly and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

All three of my kids have gone to this school. While I love the school, the only issue I have always had is class size. The school is overcrowded, and class sizes are way too high for quality teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

568 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

560 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

517 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

583 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

396 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

605 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

609 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

603 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

635 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Hispanic 30%
Black 19%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. TED TOOMER
Fax number
  • (754) 322-3785

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4333 Sol Press Boulevard
Coconut Creek, FL 33073
Phone: (754) 322-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT