Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riviera Day School

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Coral Gables

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $501,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

Riviera Day School is a superb school which provides outstanding academics. My son has attended Riviera Day School for four years. Riviera Day School has provided my son with an excellent educational foundation which will serve him for years to come. Strong academics and personal growth are emphasized at this wonderful school. Students are encouraged to strive for excellence in academics. The Faculty is extremely involved and dedicated in the academic achievements of their student body. Riviera's small student to teacher ratio is ideal in the academic setting. Riviera Day School is equipped with the latest in modern technology, which leads to the highest levels of critical thinking in the classroom. This school has prepared my son for middle school on an academic and social level. Riviera Day School is a magnificent school located in Coral Gables, Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My daughter just started Riviera Prep as a sixth grader, and the experience so far has been in her words, "awesome." The teachers are enthusiastic, professional, and so supportive. The school does a great job at helping make the transition process as smooth as possible. The counselors are wonderful and are there at a moments notice to easy your worries and make life easier for the students. I have great peace of mind every day that I drop my daughter off at school. Go Bulldogs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Riviera schools are run is a very bad way. My daughter was bullied for many years and they did nothing. We left the school and she is very happy now. At one point I even offered to create and help lead a "no Bully" sensitivity forum , but they were completeley un receptive. I was told by the principle that "life is hard , and the kids will need to grow up eventually" . They would send the only ineffective "guidence counselor/vice principle" to "speak with" the girls that were being mean, but nothing ever really changed. Very "clicky" . This school was not worth the tuition, many of the teachers appeared less than enthused to work there, one very good teacher left because the pay was very low. I also know of 5 children who are not returning to this school because of its poor management and in general a lack of charecter. The aftercare program was chaotic and the kids were bored and unable to work/study. NOT A GOOD CHOICE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

this was a terrible school. The administration was very disorganized, charging a very inflated tuition and hiring inexperienced first year teachers who often didn't know our follow a curriculum. This school did not address bullying and took a hands off approach, m many have left for this reason, there is a very high turnover of children. R, moneyiviera cares about one thing, money, not your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

My daughter transfered to Riviera late - in 6th grade - from a a year in a Miami public school. What a difference! The classes are small, the teachers know every student personally and pay close attention to their progress. The curriculum is well put together - very challenging, but not extremely overwhelming. From a weak B student and decreasing enthusiasm for learning she became an A student on the Honor Roll and more competitive and eager to learn than ever. I couldn't be more happy. She will be continuing at Riviera's High School as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

This is an amazing school. The first grade teachers are phenomenal. They planned their lessons and used technology to the most, including computer based power point presentations for tests, and weekly vocabulary studying that were easily downloaded from web server . The math program is a year advanced. I also had a pre-k 4 student that bloomed during this school year, and learned a lot form hands on science experiments. The class ratio is small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

The school is amazing. They now have a high school, which is great for continuity. My son has been going there since kindergarten and everyone knows him by name. It's a very nurturuing yet academically rigorous environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

My three year old's class is small which allows the teacher and her two aides to interact with each child on an one to one basis. The curriculum in this classroom is structured in a way that allows the children to have the fun and learn at the same time. The staff is very attentive and keep the parents well informed of the daily activities in the Pre-K program. I enjoy reviewing my child's work folder at the end of the week. I can also communicate with her teacher on line on a daily basis which is a plus. Overall, I am very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

The class sizes are very small and there are plenty of teacher aids in each class. The teachers are very attentive and available to meet with parents regularly. It is a wonderful small school that has an advanced curriculum. There are only two aspects I do not like about the school. First, the lunch program. Second, the afterschool care allows for too much unstructured time. The kids are often bored. For a fee you can sign your child up for extracurriculars. But overall, it is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 29%
White 32% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 23%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 Nervia Street
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 666-1856

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT