Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

366 students|Volusia
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
My son's 2nd grade teacher was very ineffective. The teacher across the hall had a chair thrown at him by a student.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
My son only experienced humiliation and shame. I do not think this promotes persistence or determination.


Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
No. It was obvious to me right away that this administration did not respect anyone unless they came from a similar socioeconomic background as they themselves or their parents before them. They were unable to discuss with me the objections I had about placing my son into the 2nd grade before he went through the 1st grade without the use of sarcasm or disdain towards me asking questions about the decision.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
I observed the Principal arguing with parents and storming around the campus. She appears to be coming unglued. The teacher my son had used techniques and language that would imply using humiliation and embarrassment as a teaching tool.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The office staff was rude and argumentative. I asked about Spanish classes and the staff member reviewing my son's paperwork said, "why?, we all know how to speak Spanish." She was very sarcastic too.


Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School 1

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
I enrolled my son in McInnis in August of 2013. He made it 2 days. My son never went through the 1st grade and I requested that he be placed in the 1st grade and they refused. I was told they placed transfer students based on age only. In addition, this is not a primarily English speaking school and they do not offer Spanish classes for those of us that are not familiar with the Spanish language. My son came home crying and distraught for 2 days. He would say none of the kids in his class spoke English unless they were answering a question in class. To make matters worse his teacher called him stupid and told him he did not know how to read in front of his entire class. It was the worst public school experience ever. I pulled him immediately and enrolled him in a private school. He is in the proper grade, in the top 1% of his class and is happy & well adjusted.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School 1

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
I moved here 3 months ago and enrolled my son. In that 3 month period, my son has learnt mexican gang signs, exhibits unfavorable behaviour and has dropped a grade in every subject. I actually came to this website looking into transferring him to another school. Unless you don't care about how your child does academically and socially, you might want to look into other options. I would also like to add that some of the teachers here are wonderful. Unfortunately, there is only so much they can do on their own. I have never in my entire life seen such a poorly run school. I think that having a principle that showed genuine interest in the students and the school would be a great place to start.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School 1

Posted June 20, 2012
- a parent
The Principal @ this school is NOT parent friendley. This principal hides behind her office door and it's like pulling teeth to get her to return a parents phone call. After many phone calls to the school, and then the district office in Deland. I as a parent had to go into McInnis school's office demand a meeting with the principal told them I wasn't leaving till I met with her did I get a meeting. The way this school in ran is VERY Unsatisfactory and is doing a disservice to our community. I am ashamed of this school and will be seaking a school that not only has Challenging academic programs for my daughter, better teachers, Strong principal/school leadership and is a parent friendly place.


Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
The teachers here are awesome. My kids love the Principle and the Assistant Principle. However, There is absoluty no parent participation. This is due to the amount of Mexican families who are scared to get involved. Don't judge by there scores, because it is hard to keep the scores up since so many parents pull their kids out of school for wees at a time and then reregister there kids when they get back. They return right before FCAT testing without any preperation. For thosekids that do stay they get an excellent education. I have 3 kids in the school and they love it and exceed. We need to change legistration saying that after missing so many days of school they are not allowed to take the FCAT test. This is how it was at one time. This should not apply to kids with medical reasons if they are tutored at home and keep up with their work.

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
McInnis is wonderful, the teachers are there to help at all times and everyone is very friendly. My daughter already learned so much in the first couple of weeks of school, it is amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School
4970 U.S. 17, De Leon Springs, FL  32130
(386) 985-6700
Last modified Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Louise S. Mcinnis Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top