Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Barnabas Episcopal School

Private | PK-12 | 380 students

 

Living in DeLand

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

We came to St. Barnabas after a couple of years in the public school system. We were actually very pleased with our public school expereince, however, we thought that we wanted something more for our children. We have not been let down. St. Barnabas has been an amazing place to have our children and they have excelled beyond our imagination since being here. The faith, virtue, and excellence that St. Barnabas speaks about has truly inspired our children and blessed our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Under new leadership, Yelp for the second time this year lol. I do have a question about that subject. Why did the hiring committee for the school skip over the now head of school and hire a total stranger only to have to fire her 8 mos. later. Then they put the person in charge that apparently wasn't qualified the first time around ? As for the teacher commenting on the parent who's child needs a little extra, what were they expecting ? Probably what they were promised by the administration. I know myself they promise you the moon and don't deliver ! Also one thing they probably would have gotten in public school is a smaller class size and a lot less homework ! Also is it true the school had to stop advertising itself as a blue ribbon school because it's been like 10 years since they were awarded that status?


Posted April 29, 2014

I agree with the teachers comments to the parent who's child needs tutoring. St. Barnabas is a school well suited for children that excel academically. And families that are willing to spend their evenings at the dinner table doing homework . If your child can't handle the rigorous workload here then yes you should find a place better suited for him/her. My child is doing very well here and we are happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

This is our first time at a private school and contrary to what I 've been told about private schools, St. Barnabas has proven to be an excellent choice for us. My child loves coming to school and is excited about being involved in plays, projects, and sports. We really enjoy that they give a religious study class and they participate in chapel. The school is small in numbers so their students have a close relationship with one another. Nothing is perfect but St. Barnabas is pretty close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

To the parent who says they aren't getting their monies worth. If anything I can gather from your thoughts is your child is needing some kind of special help for a (developed) learning disability. I have seen teachers and other children tutoring their peers. For a school the size of St B a special ed teacher is out of the reach for the salary they will need to be paid for the cost of your tuition. What were you expecting? You talk to the administration about a teacher but how is the teacher to know your concerns if they don't talk to their teacher. It seems team work is well at work here. Accept that your child has gotten the best of education your money has bought and would your child be as far as they are now had they been in public school all this time? Yes it is about the money. Giving a child the best education at the next to lowest price (to public school) a parent can afford. And again this year a St Barnabas graduate student achieved another award at Deland High with the Medallion of Excellence for academic achievement. Some times things aren't meant to be. Things change. Things don't go the way you want. Lift your child up and find what works best for him/her.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2014

St. Barnabas is an excellent school. There's no comparison around - and believe, me, we've looked. The teachers are well-educated and very dedicated. They communicate constantly with parents. The classrooms are well-appointed with smartboards, carpeting, and new-looking desks. The extra-curricular classes like Music, Art, P.E. and Spanish are really great. The Music teacher puts on very nice shows and plays, and the kids take these very seriously. The older kids travel off-campus once a week for P.E. for six-week concentrations, including swimming and tennis. The school also has bus transportation to and from New Smyrna and Father Lopez/Daytona-Ormond. The schools' test scores are in the upper 4% nationally!!! Needless to say, the students are very challenged--but in creative ways, so we really appreciate that! Sixth Grade dedicates part of the last quarter to the Shakespeare experience, where they work with Orlando Shakespeare Theatre and produce a play, memorizing the actual lines. If you're looking for a beautiful campus with excellent teachers and bright, motivated kids, St. Barnabas might just be the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Under new leadership, both at the school and the church, the school is continuing its outstanding educational program. The closeness of this educational family, not only in the nurturing of the young minds from the teachers, staff, and parents, but in the compassion of how everyone's lives are cared about in this school family is just truly exemplary of its Christian values. These are the children who will be leaders one day. Sometimes it is not all rosy, as the devil tries to lead some astray, but compassion and forgiveness, teaching and patience, wisdom and guidance prevail from the leadership of Mr. Garcia and Father Brian. I see a bright new future for this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 17, 2014

As a parent, I like the small, nurturing environment. My kids have had mostly positive interactions with their teachers and the leadership. I would recommend this school to my family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I love this school. There is great school safety. The teachers are fantastic and go above and beyond to help your child achieve. They are pricey but if you can afford the cost I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

This is our 2nd year at St. Barnabas and it was best decision we ever made. Fabulous staff and excellent learning opportunities. Sooooo glad we enrolled our son here. Highly recommend this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My son has attended St. Bs for the last 3 years and we LOVE IT I've read a couple or reviews that are way off base. First the comment of cliques and having money and if you dont your ignored. Well we are definately not one of those families we are more the blue collar family that struggles and sacrafices to make it. As to the admid taking on bullying my son had a boy pick on him within 1 day it was handled VERY WELL and to the chilld with ADD not being supported thats ridiculous my son has it and was having a very hard time right away the admid and teachers got together and gave him support they have been AMAZING I have delt with public and special needs and bullying with my son who and daughter no where near the care as St Bs as to the academics WOW i dont know where these other parents are coming from but my son and several of his friends are in the 87% compared to the other 5th graders if you ever attended their awards most of the kids are on honor roll and funny if they are so behind academically then why is my son studying 8th grade science and pre algebra in 6th grade oh and his reading comp is in the 99th so i have NOOO Idea where some of the comments are coming from!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Every negative the other PARENTS have stated in their reviews are absolutely true. This is not the equal opportunity, exceptional Christian school that it claims to be. There is much favoritism here. If a student is related to an employee of the school, of Stetson University or a local physician, they are catered to regardless of their ability; whereas many of the truly academic and Christian students are passed over. From the class room to the special groups to sports, it is the same thing. Although there are several great teachers, there are more that are not. The administration has exuded her positions throughout and this is what you have (as I and others have stated) Parents are involved and make up a large portion of the school's energy. Thousands of volunteer hours are donated each year by the schoo'ls families; however, the cliques are even evident there. We along with many others have been very disappointed in our experience with St Barnabas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

The most caring and compassionate teachers and an excellent education all in one great place. Thanks SBES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

St. Barnabas Episcopal School in DeLand has been a toxic place for my children and our whole family. Academic opportunities are there, but in an environment of bullying, cliques, and behavior that is far from representative of Episcopal missions it's hard for many kids to focus on their education. The Head of School is more interested in furthering her personal brand than in abating the cliques, bullying, and unkindness that runs rampant in the Middle School. She exercises horrible retribution for any parent who might disagree with her; she was rude and dismissive with me when I asked questions about bullying treatment my son received. As an Episcopalian at another parish, I am sadly removing my children from this school. I plan to ask my priest to alert the Rector at St. Barnabas and the Bishop, so they can step in and check attitudes and accountability--the school needs ministering. The teachers do try to focus on the children, but they appear afraid of retribution if they cross the Head of School, even in an attempt to help kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

I loved this school in the beginning. However as time goes by I find myself becoming less enchanted with it. Everyone I know that has left and started public school are all behind academically. They do cater to certain families. As long as you stay quiet and go along everything is good, but the minute you have a problem and complain You become the enemy. It is a dictatorship for sure. Bullying does go on much as they like to say it don't. The family atmosphere is gone and the class sizes are way too big! They have a if you don't like it leave attitude and that is SAD. There is at least one teacher there that should not be teaching. She is very nasty. I just think when paying this kind of money to send you kids to school you should not have to be so afraid to speak up with any concerns you have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

St. Barnabas Episcopal School lives up to its national ranking of a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. They teach to the whole child and all three of our grandchildren have been very prepared for high school and beyond. There are not enough words of praise to thank the teachers, administration and staff for their loving guidance and the academic preparation that students receive each day.


Posted November 20, 2012

We have been at St. Barnabas for 5 years and have been nothing short of impressed. They are both challenged academically, while instructed by excellent and caring teachers. St. B not only educates my children academically, but also spiritually and provides life-lessons to prepare them for the world they face. Thank you for going above and beyond in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

St. Barnabas has been an excellent school for my two children for the past 5 years. I love how they have a challenging academic program along with Christian values. The Faculty and staff are always friendly and welcoming, and willing to help in any way possible. The students are great and always respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

St. Barnabas has been the best choice I have ever made for my children! They have both been there since preschool and we wouldn't have it any other way. The Faculty and staff have always been extremely supportive and helpful in every aspect, and my children have become very capable and successful students because of them. They still have close friends that they met first at St. Barnabas. I feel this school is a great environment for academics and encouraging well-rounded students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

On paper St. Barnabas sounds like the perfect school. Unfortunately what is written in their brochures and on their website is not a reality. Those with influence are catered to and the rest receive a mediocre education at best. The administration and faculty have an elitist attitude and show no sense of accountability for their actions or the impact of these actions on the children in their care. St. Barnabas was unfortunately a huge disappointment to our family and a time in our children s lives that they would like very much to forget.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 42%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Paul Garcia
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • FLOCS/ACTS
Fax number
  • (386) 822-9417

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
84
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
104

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

322 W Michigan Ave
DeLand, FL 32720
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 734-3005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Casa Montessori
DeLand, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT