Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lighthouse Christian Preparatory Academy

Private | PK-9 | 204 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in DeLand

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

Love this school. They teach life skills as well as books. Give rewards when they are do and make my child feel important to them. We came to this school in the 5th grade after going to a different private school. I only wish we had been here from the start of school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Lighthouse Christian in DeLand is such a blessing to our communityand to our kids. It's learning environment is awsome and the staff is very caring and knowledgeable. They not only have the respect of the students but also their love. I love that my child is at Lighthouse because it gives me peace of mind to know that she is being tought in a well oriented learning environment and that her life is being greatly impacted by her teachers because they really care about their students. To know that i can trust the staff that works with her and that she's growing in knowledge is very rewarding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter has attended Lighthouse for 2 years and it has been a wonderful experience. My daughter has blossomed here both academically and spiritually in her 2 years. The teachers are caring and nurturing and it shows in her fellow students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

LCPA is the absolute best school in West Volusia!! From the 1st time I entered the school office to inquire (6 years ago) I have felt that my child is important at this school! The office staff is amazing and caring and sweet and helpful at all times. The teachers are nurturing, educated, dedicated and you feel Gods love shine through each and every one of them. The principal is very involved, concerned, fair, and also spreads the Love of God through the school. How many schools do you know where the principal is invited to outside activities like birthday parties and holiday get togethers, and she is there, with a smile on her face! Lighthouse has become part of our family, and now that we have 3 children attending, we are all one big family. I am familiar with all the kids in all three of my kids classes, and their parents! My children receive the highest levels of education, yet the tuition is not the highest in the area! The quality of education the children receive and the genuine concern of every single staff member makes our school the BEST IN THE WEST! I highly recommend LCPA to every parent seeking a quality, Christ-centered, nurturing daily environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Lighthouse Christian Preparatory Academy has been a God-send for my family since August of 2000 when I first enrolled my oldest daughter at 2 years old and since then my youngest was also enrolled at 2 years old. Now I have my youngest daughter, 11 years old in the 6th grade middle school still attending and getting the best education she possibly can from a school I have come to love and trust completely with my childrens spiritual and educational learning experiences. Both my girls have strong values and believe in Jesus with all their heart, plus they are getting a top-notch education from teachers that are extremely dedicated. I recommend this school to everyone I know and meet that is looking for someplace better for their children to attend. You won't meet more loving, dedicated teachers and staff anywhere else and I am blessed to have them available for my daughter's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Lighthouse Christian Academy is an awesome school. My son joined the family at 2 years of age, and now he is a 4.0 kindergartener excited for the first grade. The staff is warm, welcoming and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

The teachers at Lighthouse care. My children feel safe and loved at this school. They have built close relationships, and there is good communication. They have recently set up security measures and advanced more technologically and changed to a more challenging curriculum. I'm so glad I have my children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

My grandson has been going to Lighthouse for 2 years. He started in K3 and is now finishing up K5. The teachers he has had have all been good caring people. They want to teach the children, they treat your child as if they were there own. The teachers and the principal are stern if necessary but also loving. They have great response towards the parents and will take the time to talk to you if you have any issues or questions. This is a great school and the only thing I am hoping for is that they get more sporting teams for the younger kids. They are working on that. I hope to keep my grandson in this school until he graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

LCPA works very hard to make positive changes on a regular basis. Change is not always welcome, but they are imperative. Greatest bunch of people I have ever worked with. Bonnie Fernandez, Office Manager.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2014

LCPA strives to give kids the foundation they will need in the future! My two children both started when they were two-year-olds and continued through high school graduation. The advanced curriculum impressed me and helped them greatly achieve. The emphasis on God's Word, prayer, and discipleship enabled my kids to have an even deeper faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

LCPA is small private school that provide a great education. It's moving forward technologically with use of MIMEO board in each classroom and ePad for the students to use. This means less physical books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Lighthouse Christian Preparatory Academy gets 5 out of 5 stars!!! This school has been a huge blessing for our family! My 5th grade daughter is thriving! Her teacher Mrs. Hull is a God send. I love the Christ centered curriculum and weekly worship in chapel. As well as the daily prayer and bible study. We really enjoy how every subject is from a Christian perspective. All of the staff are so kind and informative. My daughter had been bullied in public school but not here. Yes middle school is small but that's a great thing in my opinion. Also they do have computers and although they do not have a gym the high school students frequent the YMCA during school hours. I just can't praise this school enough. We are so thankful to LCPA and stepupforstudents.org scholarship program. Jesus shines at this school! You will NOT be disappointed Don't want to forget to mention how wonderful Mrs. Dormire the elementary principal is along with office staff Elaine & Theresa. They are always quick to help with any needs and have prayed for me several times. I love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I am so pleased already with the success and milestones my child has accomplished, even just in his first months of his first year at LCPA in the Pre-k 4 class. I am confident that their Pre-K program really is a preparation for Kindergarten and beyond. Also, I have personally known many students who have gone on to be successful in Universities, College, and the community who were trained at the Academy. The staff is very kind, especially the Elementary Principal, Mrs. Dormire. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Lighthouse Christian Academy is such a blessing! They exemplify what makes a school great, and that is teaching kids not only academics but the love of Jesus! I thank God for the opportunity for my children to be able to attend such an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

This is a great school with great staff. Mrs. ROLAND IS THE BEST! She goes beyond to always help the student. The atmosphere is also great. It is always pleasant. The front office staff greets you with love and often assist you in any area they can. We love LCPA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

My childrens school is by far the greatest school in the county. If you want your children to receive the best education and have Jesus in their heart, this is the place for them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

They teach Gods word in a way children can understand.They pray with the students and are allowed to attend worship time together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

My son is in K2 and loves it!!! We are very blessed to have the teacher we do she truly cares about her students and wants all of them to grow as individuals. I am a parent that wants the very best for my child and I believe we found it at LCA. We have enrolled for summer and spring classes and I would recommend others to do the same. Victoria -parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

I am so happy we switched to Lighthouse. Our son is excited about school again; he loves his teacher who gives him the help he needs. He didnt recieve this help at his old school. What a great blessing this school has been. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

What a blessing Lighthouse is to my daughter and our entire family. The moment my daughter and I met with the principal of the middle school we felt we had found the perfect school. It was after the first week of her attending Lighthouse that we KNEW we found the perfect school. My husband and I see the beautiful smiling face we missed seeing when she previously attended public middle school. No longer do we have to wonder if she is getting bullied by other students, no longer do we have to wonder if her teachers will make fun of her for her Christian beliefs and no longer do we have to see our daughter crying because of school. Furthermore, our daughter is challenged daily from each of her teachers in all aspects of learning. She is fed spiritually, academically and socially the love of Christ. No longer do my husband and I have to believe the lies that we were fed when we went with concerns to the public middle school and told oh, that s just how girls are in middle school. She is blossoming into the beautiful pre-teen that God intended. Lighthouse has answered so many different prayers for our daughter. Thank you for all of your hard work and dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Black 28% 23%
Hispanic 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • FCCPSA accredited
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (386) 734-5627

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

126 S Ridgewood Ave
DeLand, FL 32720
Phone: (386) 734-5380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Casa Montessori
DeLand, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT