Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,723 students|Volusia
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deltona High School 2

Posted August 26, 2015
- a community member
I realize that every school will have pros and cons, but as a parent, I regret that my middle schooler will also one day attend this school. My childrens' father was career military, so we have experienced many schools, including DODDS, but this is by far the worst. When I registered my son, the registrar was rude and seemed to view the process as a hassle. I explained that my son had been Gifted and honors courses and gave her the contact info she requested for his previous school. She did not arrange for them to fax his records, so I made that happen, but by then his registration was so late he was thrown into whatever basic classes were available (after the beginning of year he was moved to honors, based on his performance). I tried to discuss the possibility of him doing dual enrollment, but was told on phone by a man last year identifying himself as the Assistant Principal (MacLean?) that as my son had no license, the school would not allow him to ride from the school with another student. This year, he was given Chorus, which he has zero interest in, we have to pay a $25 registrants and $60-$70 for a performance outfit. Since his father and I both work, he would have no ride to practices, but his teacher suggested he ask another student for rides, since apparently this is acceptable now. I have seen figures showing a high number of students not graduating from Deltona HS, and I see why. It appears students are pumped through the system there, with very little concern for providing them tools for success.

Deltona High School 2

Posted September 09, 2014
- a community member
I recently graduated from Deltona High School and I have to say, this school is horrible. I've had issues with people bullying me, so I went to Mr. Smith who is the school dean. He blamed the situation on me. All this school cares about is money. They stopped having pep rally's because the school board told them they can't make the students pay to go to the rally's. The teachers are very nice and caring.


Deltona High School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
Deltona is a great school, although every now and then you realize its not a big school and then you begin to envy other school but It still is great. How you ask? this year they really cracked down on the writing situation AND THE WHOLE SCHOOL ENFORCES IT EVEN CLASS THAT DONT HAVE TO DO WITH WRITING. Their band program is also another great band the blue brigade probably not the best band but it is one of the best, now do you see why DHS IS THE BEST HIGHSCHOOL EVER (AND I MEAN EVER)

Deltona High School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a student
I am now a senior at this school I must say although the fighting has lowered a lot its incredible how our school as a whole is making improvements oh and CLASS OF 2014!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Deltona High School 1

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
I went here for my 9th grade and absolutely hated it. The teachers don't care at all, the staff sucks, I got bullied a lot and when I told the teachers they didn't even care! I was forced to switch schools because the teachers had no idea when they were doing and they don't know how to spend their money! I switched to Pine ridge, and THAT is an awesome school.


Deltona High School 4

Posted July 06, 2013
- a parent
Deltona HS has become a smaller school which provides the opportunity for teachers, guidance counselors and administration to get to know the students and make them feel important. When a school gets too large, no one has time to help you. All three of my children have gone to this school and there is definetly a difference from when it was over crowded years ago to now.

Deltona High School 5

Posted June 22, 2012
- a student
this school is very great. the school has great programs. which university doesn't have. i was zoned for university and didnt get my variance form accepted for deltona. i was greatly disappointed and wanted to change but i guess it dident turn out so i had to go to university but deltona is very nice

Deltona High School 4

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
There is not enough room to answer all the comments made here in order to defend DHS. I've been a parent with the school for 4 years and will be for another 3 years. I'm also a substitute teacher there. Deltona is no different than in other school in the state- WE do have good teachers there, teachers who go the extra mile. What I have NOT seen are parents (unless its sports) getting involved. Where are you? Respect and responsibility starts at HOME, NOT school and when we have to be the child's parent as well as teacher it punishes all students. So get a grip parents- help us to help your child to make their dream come true.


Deltona High School 5

Posted September 24, 2009
- a teacher
Because it is the home of the Wolves. The students are great and the teachers are friendly.

Deltona High School 1

Posted January 31, 2009
- a parent
Deltona High School is a place to put your child if you want them to 'graduate'. They push kids through, giving them grades they do not deserve, allowing all work to be made up the last week of the quarter or semester and passing kids with Bs and Cs who get 60s on their semester exams. It is a joke and anyone who actually cares about their child getting an education and being prepared for anything after high school should take their child out of that school immediately, as things are just getting worse.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deltona High School
100 Wolf Pack Run, Deltona, FL  32725
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (386) 789-7252
Last modified Deltona High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top