Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance Elementary Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 922 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

My son switched to RECS starting on 5th grade and I'm very impressed with the educational experience overall. The school is academically demanding, the teaching staff is capable and also very nice. Overall couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

After reading a lot of the school's reviews I have to say the following. This school is not easy and it does has a lot of homeworks and projects. We do have a lot of very stress nighs but this school is awesome. I am not a classroom mom or know a lot of the staff in this school. I almost can't go to the school activities or do voluntary hours. The only thing we can do is help our kids with their homewoorks and projects. My kids are both honor students and they are great kids. As long as you as a parent do your daily work with your kids...no need to get anything for free. If you know what I mean! About Mrs. Cordal and the teachers....they are awesome. When you work with so many people you have to follow the rules and if you do one exception then you have to make exceptions with everybody. That's why we have such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Since I have switch my son to this school I have seen a huge improvement in his grades. His teacher is always willing to help make him better and improve on where he struggles. etc. The teachers and staff are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2013

The Principal of this school is a MONSTER and a HORRIBLE person! Mrs. Cordal is evil, uncaring, and rude to the parents, the staff, and the children.


Posted September 25, 2013

I believe that principles with great leadership are those who exude love and kindness to their students, faculty members and parents naturally and at all times. The principle of this school doesn't have the quality of nurturing not only when board members or parents are present. So often you find the principles that only act a certain way when the are in the presence of those in charge of her salary. I hope that the right people in charge take this into consideration and get a more nurturing and loving principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Excellent school, I'm bless with this school..Great teachers and staff My children are so happy and feel like home..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This is a great school with wonderful teachers and staff. Small enough that everyone knows everyone's name. Always greeted with a smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Great teachers,good coordination to drop off and pick up the kids,the staff is very friendly and respectfull.My 3 kids are in both school (elementary/middle) I recommend both school are always attentive to students as well as in the area of the cafeteria,hallways and courtyard. Buenas maestras,buenas coordinacion para dejar y recoger a los ninos,el personal es muy amigable y respetuoso.Mis 3 hijos estan en ambas escuela(intermedia/elemental) Las recomiendo a ambas escuelas estan siempre atentos a los estudiantes tanto como en la cafeteria,pasillos y patios.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2013

My children (twins) study in this great school since kindergarten, now promoted to the 5th grade. We are two parents involved and extremely pleased with the Principal, staff and teachers. Our school may not be perfect, but that is north of the director, assistant and other staff. We are proud parents, confident and happy to have our two unique children studying in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

My daughter has attended RECS since the first grade and is now moving onto the fourth grade. We've had our share of not so great teachers, but such experiences have been outweighted by the great ones! A lot of the parents are high maintenance in the wrong way and demand their kids pass with grades based on who they know and how much they can do for the teachers and school. A lot of them have been disappointed over not getting their way. The principal is as tough on her teachers as she is on her students, with the benefit of all in mind. She listens and acts, and will go as far as she needs to go to correct issues! The office personnel is excellent and make it a warm, safe and inviting environment for parents to leave their children. I am highly engaged with the teachers to ensure communication is there, nothing else. Teachers have a true vested interest in the children and there isn't much of that elsewhere. It is not a perfect school, but it is definitely one of the best schools out there. Having worked in the school system and having had my daughter attend other schools, I can say that schools don't get any better than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

The negative comments about Recs comes from differents parents. I am one of them and the coincidence in the opinion is the product of the decay of the school. Most of all 5th grades students will not asist to recs middle school and many of 4th grade parents are thinking the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

It is very sad that this school has gone from bad to worse. 2 years ago, I would have been the parent defending this school, now I can honestly say that I agree with all the previous comments about how horrible this school is. I am glad that I pulled my children out of this school. They have advanced in every single subject and are much happier in the new school. I am sorry Renaissance but something has to change, whether the administration, the teachers or the curriculum. I feel a change is needed in all 3 areas in order for this school to TRY to catch up to the rest. So sad


Posted February 21, 2013

As a former parent, I can honestly say that this schools leaves a lot to be desired. The administration discourages contacting teachers with any frequency, and as an explanation offers that teachers have too many students and that the teachers cannot be receiving many emails or communications from parents; likewise, the administration says that you cannot contact a teacher before class because that adds stress to her teachers, which have enough stress already. It takes over six phone calls and over a week for a teacher to return a phone call or an email. It is hard to follow up and provide help for my child, when the school does not cooperate in efforts to help him succeed as is so claimed repeatedly throughout your marketing efforts for the school via the website. There seems to be an extreme lack of organization, lack of communication, and most importantly, lack of professionalism in this schools carefully selected staff . Many parents will eventually realize the picture you paint as a school is no more than a farce, and you will lose students to schools that genuinely care about students and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The "Educational Philosophy" of the school as referred to on the school's website states: We place strong emphasis on identifying our student's learning styles and developing strategies that enable these students to succeed. However, this "philosophy" does not apply to all students as stated previously, the large class size does not allow for any identification of strengths, only weaknesses, which are not addressed by the teachers for the purpose of providing support to "enable these students to succeed". Rather, they are addressed to let the parents know that their child is failing. There is no explanation of why, no showing of results to support that recommendation, no meeting to discuss ways to help the students - simply, failure is the option! Since your school has a requirement to show success in order to keep its charter status and federal funds, when students cannot keep up with the pace that you have set, then your solution is retention, or a simple exiting of your school. This way, you are sure to keep your charter status and the funds to continue functioning. All of this, of course, at the expense of those children that may need a little extra help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The "Curriculum" referred to on the school's website states: The program focuses on each student's individual learning style with interactive studies in mathematics, science, language arts, social studies, music, art, technology, life skills, intramural sports and foreign languages. However, the teachers are unaware of the students individual learning styles, as per my conversation with my sons former 1st grade teacher, wherein she stated that there was no time for differentiated instruction, individual learning styles, or individualized attention due to the number of students in her class. That was made very clear!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

This school could be great if the current administration would only follow their own bylaws contained in their own Renaissance Charter School hand book. Unfortunately the schools A+ rating has clouded the school's true vision of the current principal's main objective. This is to protect and serve our children's best interest for building a strong foundation through a good education. This is achieved through Proper communication within an accommodating atmosphere which is clearly stated in the Renaissance Charter School hand book.: "'Parent-Teacher conferences are an important part of the school program Give your child the security of feeling the cooperative spirit that exists in a friendly parent-teacher relationship." As I mentioned earlier, this school could be great. However, if the current administration is left to rule for too long a period of time, eventually stagnation will occur and the system will inevitably become corrupt. Thus preventing the Doral Renaissance Chapter school from ever reaching the pinnacle of true greatness
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Yes, the school is very pretty and small, has a private school feel but beware! Do not judge a book by its cover . I do not recommend this school to anyone. I had a very bad experience just like most parents who are involved and who care about their child s academics. The teaches have no clue what as to what they are doing; the classes are too big (29 plus students) per 1 teacher. The principle is a piece of work, you will get nowhere with her, so don t even waste your time. The only parents that comment great things are probable homeroom moms who are the only ones with privileges and the only children who pass (whether they are on task or not) are theirs what a coincidence! Stay away if you could, not the best decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

RECS is a fantastic school. The teachers are dedicated and professional. Yes, it is strict and I love it! School is a learning institution where good behavior and high expectations should be attained, without question. My kids love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

As many other parents have stated the PRINCIPAL is a piece of work. Her lack of people skills go very far with her. She is quick to say that it is a "choice" school, and I agree, but she forgets that without our choice there would be none. Academically it is a great school, but administration... It really leaves a lot to be desired!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

My daughter is in fourth grade. I am very happy with this school. The teachers are really nice and kind and I like the discipline and the open communication between teachers and parents . The administration is well organized . My daughter have Ms. AZ and Ms. Ardilla . Both teachers are really inspiring and teaches the kids in a very interactive way.I feel very lucky to have them as my daughters teachers. They also helped her emotionally when she was going through a stage of low self esteem . They were able to guide her in a friendly way that made her regain her self confidence. Ms.AZ challenges kids through a lot of fun filled math and science activities . Ms Ardilla gives them higher level challenging work and keeps them busy with a lot of projects and group activities. Now my daughter feels sad as the school year is ending. She really enjoyed the school year and it was made possible by her wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
White 5%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%58%61%
Master's degree 15%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ANA CORDAL
Fax number
  • (305) 591-2984

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10651 Northwest 19th Street
Doral, FL 33172
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 591-2225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Doral Academy
Doral, FL



Shelton Academy
Doral, FL


Vann Academy
Miami, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT