Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academie Da Vinci Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 248 students

Excellent academic performance and integrated arts program

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

ADV is a fantastic school that has so much for my child. It is so great to see your child happy to go to school. Between art, dance, music, and PE my child has had the most opportunity to enrich her education with the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Great school and a great principal. We do have some growing pains in the new building but we're working through it. They do have some great events to try and bring everyone together and love the extra's they have such as dance, art and music classes. Overall we are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

My son has thrived here. Wonderful principal, excellent teachers, parents very involved. Finishing his second year and he has come so far under their guidance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

My husband and I have been impressed and very happy with the school. We have an amazing principal who really cares about the students and also maintain a good culture throughout the school. There are only 215 students, which is very good in my opinion (smaller classes more individual attention)....Lots of school functions for the family, wonderful parent involvement, and a great group of kids!! We have never regretted our decision! and my daughter can't be happier...!!!! she loves everything about the school, which tell us a lot as parents. I have done a lot of research and talked to a lot of parents.. an have reinforced many times our decision about this school. Thanks Dr. Ray for everything you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Those one star reviews are a shame and simply not the whole truth. I have been involved with the school for several years and have never seen a class out of control. Teachers have different styles, but never showed lack of control or disrespect for students. Upon moving to a new building there were hiccups, but now a year into the new facility, these are more than worked out. The new playground is shaping up, student achievement is high, and safety is pinnacle. Baycare does share a portion of one building, but there is just one locked door that cannot be accessed from the lab side. Besides, every patient is 75+!! Also, I've never seen a principal so involved or caring towards the kids. She also is very supportive of the staff. No, this school does not have lots of special education services, but if you are involved in your child's education and want a well-rounded learning experience in classes at or below 18 students (or 22 in 4th and 5th), then try to get on the waiting list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

ADV is a special gem of a school! My son is beginning his fifth year at the school and has flourished both academically and socially. It isn't the environment for every student or parent, but it is a grass roots kind of school with an amazing principal involved with every aspect...from heating students' lunches to spending time with a student when they are struggling to janitorial and maintenance duties! Each teacher has their own amazing strategies for promoting learning through unconventional methods, way beyond simple book and paper work! Check out the school to see if its a good fit rather than relying on some of these reviews ;-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

I thought switching to a new school that is not a zoned school would be a better choice for my children. I was VERY wrong! This school lacks so much. There is very little technology in this school. We are in a day and age where technology is the way of the world and this school is lacking. The school is very disorganized, they seem to have a hard time with the amount of students at this school or it could be they do not have enough staff to handle the school.The bathroom and lunchroom seems to always be filthy.The teachers are not very experienced and lack control of their classrooms. Yes, they made changes and moved some teachers around, but at last years kids expense? I find it frightening as well with the lack of security at this school. Please when you tour this school make sure they show you the other building with classrooms in it. Please be aware that it is the same building where Baycare labs is and they do blood work including drug tests at this facility. I believe we are now more aware of the harm that can come to our children in wake of school shootings. Safety should be a priority. I am now looking at other charter schools that offer so much more for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

ADV is a special school where our son has thrived. The principal, teachers and PTA are all supportive and involved. We were thrilled to get into the school in kindergarten and for our child to have dance, music and art integrated into the day to day. We have appreciated the way the staff and administration treat a child as an individual. We also LOVE the clubs offered, including drama club. Our son has also enjoyed a lego/robotic club, spanish club and others offered throughgout the past several years. All are wonderful opportunities to provide other ways and avenues of learning. Academically he also enjoys the gifted program and most importantly he loves going to school each and every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

This school was a BIG disappointment. I am an educator and thought putting my children here would be a nice move...smaller environment, individual attention etc.... BIG MISTAKE! Yes, the kids that go there are happy and can dance and draw etc. great artists..... but they lack academically compared to where they should be... THe "testing and grading" is a joke! HOME SCHOOL in Florida if you can and if you cannot, check out private schools where at least they will prove their worth since you pay them privately or look at HOME SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

Academie Da Vinci is not only an Excellent School, but a big part of our extended family. Choosing the right school for our daughter was a parent responsibility we took very seriously. We researched and toured multiple elementary schools in both Hillsborough and Pinellas counties before we made our decision. Due to our work schedules, our daughter spends more awake hours on a typical school day with the teachers, staff and parent volunteers than she does with us. We chose well. ADV is not only an excellent learning environment for our daughter, but also an extended family. We are so pleased with our decision to enroll her into ADV five years ago when she started kindergarten. ADV truly lives up to it's slogan "A Small School, With a Big Heart". Our daughter loves school and is always learning. Even though she must take the FCAT and other standardized tests as any student in public school, the emphasis is not on these tests, but on the learning that takes place and developing a balance between academics and the arts. We are truly impressed with the level of dedication, commitment to excellence in education and the arts that is exhibited by all stakeholders in our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This is a fantastic school and as another long time parent I am honored for my children to attend ADV. The teachers and staff members have my child's best interest as their top priority .They have created a nurturing enviroment that they are thriving in! This summer we moved into a beautiful new location. A SAFE A rated building and we could not be happier! The sense of family and community within the school is amazing! We are a proud ADV family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

We are new to ADV this year, and are just thrilled! Things were a little hectic the first couple of weeks due to moving to a new facility, but everything is smoothing out and is fabulous. The PTA is super-involved which gives me lots of opportunities to be a part of my daughter's education and feel like I'm making a positive contribution to the community and the family that is at the heart of ADV. When your child can't wait to go to school each day, and can't wait to tell you all about art, music, dance or any of the other things that makes ADV so unique and arts focused, you know you've found the right place. Compared to the "regular" school she was in last year, ADV is heaven - miles above their closest neighbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

I am very disappointed with this school! They have no playground for the children, no science or computer lab,no foreign language and the academics seem to be lacking. The school is very disorganize and to top it off. They share a building with bay care labs a blood draw place. The door that separates the school from the lab has been unlocked due to lack of the right doors. The children have p.e. in the parking lot and recess in the ditch next to a retention pond. To top it off the class sizes are 20 kids and above. Most schools only have 18 students per class. Please if you are looking into this school ask questions and volunteer a lot!! You have other options that are much better. Don't let the staff fool you and say we are working on it. That is not good enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

My twin daughters are starting fourth grade this year and we were pleasantly surprised when they had already made the wait list for this year and then found out the school was moving to a newer, bigger and of course, better facility! I had the pleasure of helping out this summer with packing up the old school and moving into the new school. It gave me the opportunity to get to know Dr Ray, the principal, most of the staff and many of the parents. I haven't met a more dedicated principal than Dr. Ray! (and I am a teacher and have taught in Philadelphia, Tampa and in Pinellas County) She has made this move happen with the rest of the amazing and caring teachers and of course the awesome PTA and other parents. I felt like I was actually stepping into a family--not just a school. School has started and the dedication and determination to get this school completely open and operating (and doubling in size of staff and students) has just amazed me! If you are looking for a school that nurtures and allows your child to be a child; embraces their creativity and imagination while growing their brain, you could not find a better school!! Kudos to ADV!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

Best Elementary school in the county! The teachers and staff are kind and loving to the children. The academics are also excellent! I can only recommend this school.


Posted July 23, 2012

Academie da Vinci Charter School, has a new home starting in August -- The Olympia Center, 1060 Keene Road in Dunedin!!!! The building is beautiful. We still have several openings in 2nd, 4th, and 5th grades. Check it out and tell your friends!! http://www.academiedavinci.org/
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2012

Excellent school, great teachers! After three years at ADV and three teachers I can just second the opinions already expressed here: This school is happy to have a great principal (now with a Ph.D., loved as well as respected by the kids with great and ambitious ideas, but both feet on the ground) as well as excellent teachers. I just wish the school would go beyond elementary level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

The principal is dedicated to her job and creates a very positive learning environment for the kids. The ADV community is supportive and most parents share the same ideals when it comes to prioritizing their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

ADV is an awesome school. We love the small environment with caring teachers and an awesome principal. All the teachers and kids know each other by name. My daughter loves going to school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

Our son attends ADV and this is the BEST school ever. It is such a nurturing, loving, creative environment. The teachers are top notch, the principal knows every child by name and they all truly care. I feel excited to drop him off at school everyday! And my goodness, the manners these kids have here (not only with adults but with each other)----it's amazing. As the post before me, I agree......the 5th graders are so kind to the newbees and set such a great example for them on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

22 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 39%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Female 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%67%65%
Master's degree 20%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Mayor'sTop Apple (2012)
  • State DOE A School (2012)
  • State DOE A School (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rotary Club Read to Feed (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MRS. SUSAN RAY
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (727) 298-2780

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Drumming Club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
25
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
150

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Palm Harbor Middle
Local Charter schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1060 Keene Road
Dunedin, FL 34698
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 298-2778

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT