Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennett Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 431 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

Bennett Elementary is one of the 'old style' schools left in Broward County. It has a staff that cares. The family atmosphere from their wonderful Principal, Chirs Carney to the teachers and the support staff is heartwarming. They have been known as the Broward County Schools 'best kept secret'. THEY ARE THE WAY A NEIGHBORHOOD SCHOOL SHOULD BE!


Posted August 23, 2013

The school my daughter attends is "Bennett Elementary" we love this school she has been attending since school year January 2010 when she entered kindergarten. The school made us feel very comfortable from day one u. Every teacher she has been a pleasure & according to my daughter "fun to learn". I would recommend any parent who has a choice were their child attends to contact Bennett. My daughter just entered 3rd grade & the school makes it very nice the 1st day we can meet the teacher & also take them to their class.The principle is always available to speak to and also very helpful when it comes to any after school functions the schools might be having movies..etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter has attended Bennett for 6 years and could not be happier. The teachers and administration greet their students by name in the halls. They deal with funding cuts creatively by sharing special area teachers between schools. The principal also shows respect for the contributions of his staff, encouraging and recognising them continually at school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Bennett Elementary School is truly Fort Lauderdale's best kept secret. Our son is very happy there. So are we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

This is the best school my children have been in !! They have excelled in there grades since the transfer 1 year ago!! Teachers abd staff are amazing !! They make u feel like your family !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

We love this school. The teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic. Principal Carney is kind, focused and loves this school. It shows. Very organized; the entire staff knows my daughter by name. The learning is better than my fancy private I went to in the 70's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

This will be my daughter's second year at Bennett and we love it. The office staff, principal, and teachers are great. Being the parent of a first grader, it's still a learning experience, but a fun one here at Bennett Elementary. They are re-modeling part of the school and the kids are really enjoying the progression of their school. I had my daughter assigned to this school, and drive her 20 mins there and back everyday, and I'm quite happy I did so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This is my grandsons2nd year at Bennett and we love it there.He was in a private school before coming here,and he has advanced so much in 2 years,he couldnt even read before.I drive him 10 miles eachway,each day,just so he can get such a wonderful education.The staff are all so caring and are truly interested in the students learning.I give this school AAAAAAA.Thanks Bennett.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

As a parent of 2 grown children who have both graduated from the Broward Public School System I have spent many hours in Broward Schools in various areas of the county. I volunteer at Bennett now and have been so impressed with the 'feel' of the school. From administrators to teachers to school staff to students there is a sense of caring, diversity, security and respect. I am so happy that this is the school I was assigned to and enjoy being a part of it's community.


Posted July 24, 2005

I have lived in this neighborhood and been a part of this school for many years. Both of my children have attended Bennett. Their key to their success is parent involvement and teacher longevity. Though more than 70% of their students are at 'free lunch' status, they have maintained an 'A' ranking 4 years in a row! I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 24, 2005

This school is the 'real world'. Students come from all over the world, speak a number of languages, and all receive a fine education. Their ESE or handicapped cluster is mainstreamed into other classes for a shared environment and a better understanding of handicapped children. Discipline is under control and learning goes on here! My kids loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

My son has spent two years at this 'A' school. The first year was excellent, caring supportive staff and excellent academic programs. This year has been dramatically different. The academic programs seem less structured and the staff moral seems way down. They still have some excellent teachers and a very strong PTA. Most disappointing section of the school is the mentally handicapped 'cluster' - those students seem to be left out of the main school ethos and sometimes you get the feeling that no-one is minding that part of the school at all. Overall, a great school but lacking in strong leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 56%
White 20%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 48%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. CHRIS CARNEY
Fax number
  • (754) 322-5490

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1755 Northeast 14th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone: (754) 322-5450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bayview Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


North Side Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



St. Mark's Episcopal School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



St Anthony School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT