Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayview Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 561 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

The school is great, they keep challenging child till find the area where he can become an expert, then they provide allot of ways to accelerate. Participating in American Math competitions, studying levels ahead etc., so my child was accepted into MathPath competitive camp for older kids, passed it with a high rate, accepted to Hopkins CTY placed into Studying Exceptionally Talented team in it, get a college adviser being just a 5th grader, I can say more and more... this what this school and the principal did for 6 years of studying for my child. I am very proud of this school and their work. Miss them for the middle school, but the child is taking High School Honors and AP classes being just a 6th grader, next year will be in dual enrollment. Thank them allot for providing kids with this type of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

The school is the best possible one. My child started in K in it and finished all the years. I wish we would have similar for the middle school too. We moved into Chicago, the child is on top of the district. Nobody believes that Florida gives so great knowledge, knowledge which placed my child into high nationally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Bayview Elementary School is an excellent school. They educate our children more on analytical thinking - problem solving - and awareness on current events. Teachers emphasize the importance of great values, respect, and obedient, which at their young age is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Who would you recommend as the Kindergarten teacher? We just move into the area and do not know the school well as well as the teacher or any one in the neighborhood I appreciate very much Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

Bayview is a great school. The teachers are very involved and truly care about the kids. My daughter came from private school and Bayview is small and feels like a private school. The school has very low student teacher ratio compared to all private schools in this area. I was apprehensive to put my daughter in public school but Bayview has been great. There are politics at every school as there are here but you can get as involved as much as you want by just volunteering as I do. The school is always communicating what is going on and as long as you have your volunteer approval through Broward county you can do all the activities with the kids. The principal is strict and my opinion it is necessary to keep the school at this high level. This is a great school with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Teachers are fairly good but the principal is not effective or a good leader. Makes one wonder the criteria used by Broward Schools to appoint principals. Also, a lot of politics and favoritism. Very little diversity. Discipline uneven. Overall, could use improvement, starting with the principal. To the reviewer below mine; please note the different words, principle vs principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My son is just finishing kindergarten and we've had a fabulous year. His teacher is top-notch. His math and reading skills are above grade level which is significant considering he started the year refusing to read or write. My older children were in different schools, both public and private, in other parts of the country and I believe Bayview offers a solid education in the fundamentals . It is true that the school is lacking in extracurriculars but that may be the trade off for a high-quality, public, elementary school education in Broward County. I've talked to the principle several times, not sure what the huff is all about in these reviews. She is no-nonsense, she sets high standards, she lets everyone know the expectations in advance. The school offers plenty of opportunities for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Wow, what a disaster this school has become. The principal is the main reason. There are great teachers at this school but the administration is lacking in effectiveness, in communication with parents, and with respect toward parents. It was good for a few years and now I'm just glad I can put it behind me and not have to deal with the politics at the school. Lousy, lousy, lousy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Bayview Elementary is a fantastic school! The parent involvement helps this school succeed every year. The school itself only has around 540 kids from Kindergarten to 5th grade so you get to know everyone there, even when the teachers never taught your child. There are plenty of organized committees and events to help include new parents and kids. The pick-up and drop off system is quick and managed safely and effectively. They have a great after school program onsite so your child does not have to be transported over the road without you. The teachers are provided with what they need to teach. The school has computers, music, art and plenty of activities to keep growing minds interested. Locally we joke and call it the Public Private school because it has that quality and you know your child is thriving in that environment. Wholeheartedly recommend Bayview Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2012

Excellent! Great Teachers, 20-21 students per class level very good, good administrative part. I recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

My son started Bayview in K and is now in 1st grade. So far our experience has been wonderful. We visited every big-name private school within a 20 mile radius weren't as impressed. The teachers are top-notch. Many have spent their entire careers at Bayview because they love the atmosphere. The PTA is very active, making sure the school has funding for many bells & whistles, like Smart Boards in every room and laptop computers. The focus is on academics, primarily reading and math. Some complain about no funding for sports or theater programs, but being a public school that's a fact of life. Many kids do this privately after school. Since the school is small, many administrators and teachers know our son and take an interest in him. It feels like a family. The campus is beautiful. They also have a great summer camp. Our son can't wait to go back. Surprised to read negative reports on the principal. We have not had that experience. She has taken the time to get to know our son, and our family, and I have seen her do the same for others. She has always been respectful to us and willing to accommodate special requests whenever possible, more like the principal of a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

GREAT TEACHERS, GREAT PRINCIPAL, RESTORES OUR FAITH IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM IN BROWARD COUNTY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

My two children have been here only a year but they are both excelling. There is a great parent base of volunteers. And I have been happy with teachers. They are very involved, caring and supportive. Coming from a private school, I am very happy with this public school. Yes, there may not be as many bells and whistles, but there is strong support in the fundamentals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

I agree, with the post on May 27, it was a great school until the new principal take place, the students where place in groups base on need and after the new principal, all change, the excuse was all the cuttings on budged, but the reality is lack of management and lack of strategy, you really don't need more teachers to only regroup the children base on ability. Sorry but it is a reality, my respects. No more excuses please only check your procedures and back to the great scores as before, a sad parent that is seeing Bay View going down at the front of my eyes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Everything from the teachers, education, enviroment and care from the staff. Great School!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

Bayview has been a wonderful learning experience for my daughter. The staff and teachers are phenomenal. I recommend it to everyone in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

Bayview has been a fine school for my two children. Even in the early years, their teachers taught them about responsibility and accountability, leaving them well prepared as they grew older and moved on. I wish there were more time for P.E., art and music, and recess time can be scarce. We made up for it by afterschool activities such as ballet and football. It is true that for a period of time they 'eat, sleep and breathe' the FCAT test, but in spite of it, they manage to fit everything in that they need to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Was a great school, but due to changes over the past 2 years, not so much anymore. No more ability grouping for math or reading, lack of individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I agree there is a lack of communication since the new principal took over; the school year is almost over and I have not had even one conference with my child's teacher, and not due to lack of effort on my part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

To that comment below.... you must have one of the 'good teachers' b/c getting a phone call or even an email has not happened in the past 4 years at that school. There is no communication with parents unless you make the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1175 Middle River Dr
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone: (754) 322-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bennett Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


North Side Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



St. Anthony School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT