Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
380 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are always willing to go the extra mile. They are always helping the children both academically and to get organized.

St. Mark's Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Students are all treated with fairness and encouraged to be kind to each other. My son says everyone is friendly with each other. There no cliques.


St. Mark's Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
The honor code is adhered to. Students earn merits for good behavior and demerits for bad behavior so they learn the consequences of their actions. There are awards for community service.

St. Mark's Episcopal School 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are so caring and helpful! Love the band and art programs!!! My son has thrived at this school!!

St. Mark's Episcopal School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
I would like to send our sincere thanks to Mrs. Pereyra, Ms. Stevens and Mrs. Frennesson , for always helping and communicating with us through the school year! Your compassion for teaching really shines brightly! You are all so amazing!


St. Mark's Episcopal School 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
My son started 6th grade at SMES and this past school year was fantastic! The teachers and staff are wonderful and warm and are extremely attentive to the kids and families. Small class sizes, amazing academics, extra curricular activities and awesome sports! We couldn't be happier! Highly recommend SMES.

St. Mark's Episcopal School 1

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
We purchased tuition insurance. Had to move. They withheld our sons transcripts and would not release them to the new school because wanting full payment of tuition. We wrote them trying to resolve the issue and didn't even receive a response. Not a very "Christian" thing to do. How can you punish a child over a financial dispute? Overpriced and heartless institution!

St. Mark's Episcopal School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
Saint Marks in Fort Lauderdale Florida is one on the top private school in South Florida. They have terrific educational programs from early childhood through middle school. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Call for a free campus tour at (954) 563-4508.


St. Mark's Episcopal School 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a community member
I am a graduate of smes and while enrolled, I dreaded school. I wasn't a place of learning, but rather where I was a victim of bullying by the teachers and admins. they would constantly be rude to me because of my previous behavior while at saint marks. They have made myself and my friends so stressed until the point where we literally cried during the school day. I will not mention names, but one particular administrator showed 0 respect toward students because he believed that he was a "figure of authority." He would call them names and taunt them constantly. The schools enrollment has rapidly decreased over the past 2 years, so now they're trying to make it more fun for students include having more free time, a color run at school, and even repair the school campus to make it look more appealing. In addition, SMES didn't prepare me in any way for highschool. Throughout high school, I've had to teach myself information that my previous teachers failed to provide to me. For $28,000 a year, smes sure didn't put my money to use. I hope this helps

St. Mark's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Impressed with the STEM program...teaching in a way to make our kids marketable in the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mark's Episcopal School
1750 East Oakland Park Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL  33334
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. (954) 563-4508
Last modified St. Mark's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top