Advertisement
Advertisement

Maimonides Shalom/Brauser Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Fort Lauderdale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

This school is fantastic! I had my kids at another Jewish school and switched them to Brauser. The school is small and welcoming and they have a wonderful family atmosphere. It's a very religious school which is what I wanted. but also very rigorous academically. I feel the teachers really care about my kids and I am super happy and more importantly, so are my kids. They have both thrived!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Ohhhh I should of listened to all the bad reviews about BMA. Unfortunately I missed the writing on the wall and sent my kids to this school and had to pull them out, (which sucked sine my kids made lots of friends), the staff are very not skilled all they care is to look good and all administrative cares for is to get as much money as they can from you. They dont know how to handle any situation with the kids, the few kids in class that do good, after speaking to there parents the reason is only because they have lots of private teaching outside of school. most the parents I spoke to had different complaints and all ended the conversation the same way.. I wish i never started with this school and now i feel trapped since my kids have lots of friends in school. At this point just from parent to parent all i can tell you is DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I have witnessed tremendous growth in this school over the years. My children are excelling academically. My son had an issue with bullying in his class and the teachers and administrators handled it with sensitivity and alacrity. A high value is placed not only on academics, but on middot as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

It is such a shame to call it school!!! Teachers and administrators are teaching kids morals and values when they are lack of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

There are some good teachers and some not so good ones. Teacher morale is very low, which isn't good for the kids. I'm getting tired of paying almost $50,000 for my kids to go there and then receiving letters about how the school is suffering financially. If they trimmed the administration, they might be able to pay their bills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

Had a bad experience with a teacher who was underqualified and with a bad attitude. I pulled my child out because bullying was not addressed and the teachers spoke behind other peoples backs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

the academics are fine but the way the administration handles child/child situations is to be questioned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 44%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS
Fax number
  • (954) 989-4548

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5300 SW 40th Ave
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314
Phone: (954) 989-6886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woods Haven Academy
Hollywood, FL





Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


The Quest Center
Hollywood, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT