Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

City/Pembroke Pines Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 1716 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

This school stands out above the rest because of the leadership that the administration sets forth. This admin. gives the student a career path like no other. It is very easy to succeed,, because ever goal that they set for the student has a direct plan. The success of any plan is its backup plan NO BACKUP PLAN ON PLAN,NO GOALS! The principals leadership, a strong faculty following is reassuring the student a large smile at the finish line which is there prom. Not many schools have all the finer things in a faculty, packed solid classroom of higher learning to offer the student body solid, determination, the secure feeling of knowing that there dreams are coming true because the faculty keeps them energized and focus on there ability, and there will to succeed. Sincerely, John L. Roberts


Posted March 23, 2014

THIS IS AN AMAZING HIGH SCHOOL! Of course the administration enforces rules like any other high school, but they expect the students to have a mature mindset and to stay out of trouble. The school has a very comfortable and diverse environment, which is perfect for a high school student. The teachers are very well trained and represent the school in a productive way. Also, this is school as some of the most advanced technology available, in my opinion. Overall, this is a really good high school and any parent that would like to see their child succeed, please consider PPCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Safe School. Generally good teachers. Great Principal. This school seems to hold the "golden" standard and they claim to be a "college prep school". I can tell you that this is not the case. They took out alot of interesting and great electives that kept students motivated and intrigued and replaced them with FCAT prep courses so that students could score higher on the FCAT to graduate high school. During my experience here, the school offered a SAT prep class senior year for one semester and it was only available on a first come first serve basis. Therefore many students were saddened that they were not able to take this class and had to look else where and paid for outside courses and classes with help for the SAT. It seems that this school is more focused on training students for their FCAT tests and getting them to graduate high school then focusing and preparing their students for college for much more important tests such as SAT and ACT. Please consider taking your child to another school in the area that has more college preparatory classes and programs to choose from. This school is definitely overrated. Your child will definitely get more out of another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2010

I worked as a permanent sub for the City of Pembroke Pines Charter Schools and loved it - from 2003 - 2004 - almost a year and a half - I got to teach in all of the middle schools and in the highschool and just really enjoyed teaching for them. I taught in every subject area as a sub with emergency lessons from the class teachers - and threre were several rather long stints where I ended up being assigned in my own areas (English/Social Studies/Reading) I have applied several times to work full time (but not since 2007 - I am full time and a Dept. Head - in another school) but always ended up on a waiting list for positions. This is a good school system. They are fair with their employees - and this is the one charter in South Florida I would be happy to workagain.


Posted June 12, 2010

I love this school. But like any other it is not PERFECT! They are not great at dealing with making accommodations. I spent a lot of time this year trying to reason with them about my daughter who was sick. Most of her teachers were great, but 2 of her teachers just did not get it! The Principal is AWESOME and will take the time to listen to students or parents! There are very few fights which are very common in high schools here, and the supervision at school is above average. The homework load can be a little insane, but I guess that is why the students are so much further ahead of others in the area! It is a college prep school and these kids are going to feel like college is a vacation compared to this H.S. All in all, I love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

I graduated from PPCHS and had attended there for 10 years. My younger brother attended for 14. PPCHS was a great school. All of my teachers were generally more than delighted to help me whenever possible. The principal, Peter Bayer, is an excellent principal and a great role model. PPCHS is the total package.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

there is not enough time to walk to classes, have never had such a bad math teqacher in all my years of schooling. Uniforms aren't as strict as they could be. This school needs more extracurricular activites and motivation because students are not as driven as they could be. Though the food is better than what the county provides it is too overpriced. More electives are needed and block schedule would work better into student's schedule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

I have two children in this Charter School and I am very happy that they got in this school, they care about the children education, the teachers are good prepare and helpfull to the kids and the parents also, it is a great comunication between the school and the parents. Definitibly a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

i am a parent of 2 children one who graduated the high school last yr and there for 3 yrs and i am very pleased with all aspects my daughter now going to 11th and there since the 6th grade...academically they came from catholic school and i believe the level of education surpasses the cathlic school minus the parental cost and very college oriented.parents are required to participate as they have to do 30 volunteer hrs per yr. is is a definite great school of choice and the city is wonderful in supporting them...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I am the mother of three children, two of which have graduated from PPCHS (class of '05 & '06) and one who is currently attending (class of '10). I am so grateful that my children had the opportunity to attend this amazing school. PPCHS is run by an amazing staff & faculty, all of which are more than delighted to help you with anything you could ever need. The principal, Peter Bayer, was and still is a great role model for all three of my kids, who love him dearly. All of the teachers genuinely care about the quality of education their studentS recieve. This school is the total pakage. PPCHS creates a safe environment for student to embrace the rigorous cirriculum and enjoy learning along with plenty of extracirricular activities. I don't believe my children could've recieved a better education anywhere else in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I have a daughter who began this year and she is very happy. She is getting the help she needs from her teachers and she is very enthusiastic with her classes. Lots of friends and a comfortable environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2006

I am a parent of a student in the charter school system and this was a big mistake. The academic challenge of this school is lacking in every department. The kids are not taught discipline or challenging education. I truly believe that the kids in this school will not succeed as others would across the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

I have a graduating senior this May of 2006. I am very disappointed with the quality of education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

The kids when they reach High school are not performing. They are distracted by working off School hours and they are tardy when in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I am not quite sure the level of the parent involvment at this school. However, i am not sure (but am trying to find out) the quality of the acedemic programs, certain people are happy and some people are not. However, this school does have a variety of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2004

My daughter has received an excellent education at this school. However, the school's principal is very autocratic. Additionally, politics must be kept out of the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am a former student of PPCHS and let me tell you, going to that school was the best thing that happned to me! Not only are the teachers great, but the quality of the education is exceptional. The teachers actually care about the students and feel responsible when a student doesn't understand the material. Looking back at it this was a great learning environment and I am proud to say that I had the priveledge to be a part of that school and to be a part of the first graduating class. Class of 2003!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2004

PPCHS is a charter success story in the making! The administration and faculty are attentive to parent concerns and respond within a short time frame. The schools promotes academic achievement by all students. The also strives to keep parents involved in the educational process with Saturday workshops. My daughter has been at the school 4 years and excels in the educational environment. KL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

PPCS is a great school. I'm so glad my son has the privilage to be part of it. In all areas I'm confident that he is developing greatfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2003

This school is 'exceptional' in my book. I am very impressed with administration and the entire staff. I couldn't ask for a better school. Two thumbs up in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

454 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

418 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

418 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

434 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
White 26%
Black 24%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 47%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/AN/A
Female 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 96%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%53%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Rock band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PETER BAYER
Fax number
  • (954) 538-3714

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Music
  • Rock band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17189 Sheridan Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33331
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 538-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL





Somerset Arts Conservatory
Pembroke Pines, FL


Trinity Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT