Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgewood Academy

Public | PK-5 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2012

Edgewood used to be an "A" school three years ago before the current adminstration took over. Now it has been a "C" school for the past three years and going downhill fast! If you have an ESOL student, walk away. If you have an ESE student, RUN as fast as you can! There are no accommodations(remedial help) for ESE students and ESOL students. If your child is an ESOL student, you would be lucky to see the ESOL paraprofessional for 30 minutes a week. There is only one paraprofessional for a TON of kids. I would look for a better school where ESOL and ESE students and teachers get some support. Edgewood has inclusion which means that ESOL and ESE students are mixed with other students and no accommodations. The school may look nice and have a beautiful campus, but don t let that fool you. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

We love edgewood because its a great place to learn and the teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Edgewood has made such great strides in the past 5 years! From a 'D' School to an 'A' school - and finally making AYP. The staff is caring and concerned; the administration truly cares about the kids and their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Edgewood has come a long way. The scores show it. If there was more parent involvement the students and the school would benefit more


Posted November 1, 2006

We moved to this area, and enrolled our two kids, 1st and 2nd grade, in ERA only because it was the only school offered to us. It was not the school we wanted, because of it's low test scores, as well as the fact that it's on the other side of town, an hour by bus both ways. The office staff is rude,dismissive, and does not follow through with requests, ie. messages to teachers and homework from missed days - my daughters homework was sent home with a different student, not her brother, twice. The teachers seem nice, but I worry that my 1st grader still cannot read, and isn't getting any help, other than being put in a 'below-class-standards-reading-group' with the non-english-speaking students. This made problems worse, as she is now embarrassed and ashamed. Isn't this what teachers are supposed to help with?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I have had 3 children attend this school for a total of 10 years. Ever since Mrs. Witt left as principal,it has gone down hill. Through the years we have had good and bad teachers but the last couple of years we have had teachers that just seem to not care, or have the time to talk to us parents. I pulled my 4th grader and 2nd grader out of this school this year. Because I think my kids deserve alot better then what they have received from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2005

I have had three children attend ERA aver the last 6 years and have some concerns over the academic class placement that they use. It is fine when you have a child who naturally excells in their academic studies, however when you have a child such as I do that struggles, they are placed in a lower achieving class. This would be fine if the children received additional teacher guidance, but from my observations this is not the case. The classes ssem to be full of behavior problems, which my child is not and my child subsequently suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My kids have been in this school for 3 years, next year they will be going to another. the teachers are not very good and they dont follow special needs children like they should. my 1st grader is doing pre k work and he was passed last year (while doing pre k work without my knowledge) and now he will be help back this year. the academics leave something to be desired, the extra curricular activities are none and the parent involvement wasnt even an issue. I tried numerous times to talk to my childrens teachers and never got a response. The office staff is awesome (to bad they dont teach) I would not reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 29%
Black 24% 23%
White 10% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%66%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Laura Trombetti
Fax number
  • (239) 334-6776

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3464 Edgewood Ave
Fort Myers, FL 33916
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 334-6205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lee Charter Academy
Fort Myers, FL




Tice Elementary School
Fort Myers, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT