Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J. M. Tate Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1994 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Health academy, Veterinary science, Early childhood education, video game designing, Multimedia academy. Tate offers so much more than most high schools. Art, 3-D art, and photography. Tates a very large school and there is endless sports, clubs, and after school activites to do. It's the school for anybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2013

Tate is one of the best high schools in the area. We are top in academies, not so much in football but otherwise its great! Teachers are helpful, staff is great, i love our principal and guidance counselors. You dont have to know a teacher or anyone to fit in or do great at this school. You just have to do something people dont do now a days because everything is handed to them: APPLY YOURSELF!


Posted July 20, 2011

I am glad that other students have not had the problems that my child has at Tate. My child had only had problems last year and had NEVER had any problems with any teacher for the entire 10 years of school. We have taught our child very well and we do not blame others, but in SOME cases it just happens and some teachers should not be teaching at all. There are some good teachers at Tate, but there are bad ones as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My daughter LOVED taking Honors Biology and the teacher was just wonderful. She also enjoyed all of her other honors classes this school year. We also LOVE the Assistant PRINCIPAL and every reasonable request we've made to any Tate Administrator has been honored. We've taught our daughter to work hard and not blame others when she has difficulty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

i graduated from tate high school and i am now a wife and a mom! i live in another state now but if i were still in florida i know without a doubt my son would go to tate. ya never know we may end up moving back for that purpose ha ha. anyway this is a great school i loved my experiences there and all the teachers were awesome. by the way im looking for a bus driver from that school in 2005/2006 if you may have any info please give me an email for details. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

the only way you will do good at this school is if your on a team or you know a teacher.this school is bad, the teachers are rude and the people in th office do not wont to deal with kids and there rude, the teacher and princible tell you if your sick do not come to school but when i missed a week of school cause i was having migrans they told me thats no reason for missing school and told me i should of been at school.. all they care about is getting there fcat scores up. they had people from thet state come and the teachers told us if our grade dosnt come up the state will take over ad there will be nomore sports or band and everything.. the curreent princible is rude. and i dont get introuble.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

I have 1 child that graduated from Tate and another attending Tate. I have found as long as you don't have to deal with the administration everything is fine. Just hope your child does not have an illness or a death of a family member or friend. I have found the principal and the asst. principal,Mr. Shackle and Mrs. Soderlind, very rude. The attendance office is the worst to have to deal with. The teachers are OK I guess they like to treat the teens as elementary students instead of teenagers,but that could be due to too many teens in one day and one planning period. I feel if the school district ran better the teachers would be happier. Too many Superintendent Assistants and not enough money for teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

I am a 10th grader at tate and ummm I can say that you have to know somebody to do good at ths school. But its ok if you like groups. and a 2 acre campus. really big school. not to mention some crazy teachers. but the debate is really fun. FAB was stupid along with Stu.co but its alright.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

Tate has always been a wonderful school. I've heard countless stories about how fun it was. But i am a senior this year and in the past 4 years it has been on a slippery slope downhill. We have lost countless students and extra curricular activities for no apparent reason. I believe with a new Principal we should bounce back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

i went to this school and graduated year 2003 this school was great i switched from escambia to tate and i intantly could see a diffence this school is a nice one and the teachers are helpful and you dont get students back talking teachers and being stupid like at escambia and other school ive went to in florida this school by far is the best high school there isnt even a distance between popular and unpopular when i went everyone fit in .
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

this is the best school I have been to I think Tate makes a difference for so many people.the teachers are wonderful and there activity are the best. there are so many activity to join and groups I love Tate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2007

Tate is one of the best high schools in our area. The teachers and adminastration work hard to keep Tate at the top of the list. At any given time you will find parents, teachers and administration working together to educate our children. All extracurricular activities are put at the top. Each are treated as though it was the only one. We are proud to be parents of a Tate High student. We look forward to our other children attending. We moved to be in the Tate disctrict and we have never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

great athletic department wonderful teacher clean scool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I believe Tate to be one of the best high schools around! The band and colorguard are top notch! The parental involvement in the band compares to no other band (possibly in the country). I believe Mr. Shackle to be doing a good job. I hope the football team is on its way back from a dismal few seasons! Not alot of trouble from the students, considering the number of students! The office staff are very helpful and the counselors are accessible. I believe a A+ school. Now the buildings themselves are another story.... but hey, the kids are here to learn, not admire the architecture
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Tate High School was once a feared school in sports with it being at the top in the area. The past few years it has decreased, but with a new basketball coach and football coach, I greatly beleive it will be one of the best if not the best school in the panhandle! Principle Shackle is a great leader who is making Tate High School a great academic school as well as great athletic programs!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2005

The teachers and facility at tate high are caring individuals, that work with the students and the parents that are tring to get their children a good education. It is important for the parents to be involed in activies and to get their children active and interested in different activites at the school. My father, brother, and myself have graduated from tate and we are looking forward to my daughter, and son to graduate from tate. My daughters confidence has increased so much since she entered into tate. She has joined colorguard, brought up her grades and cares about what she does in and out of school. We are very proud parents and stand behind the teacher and staff at tate. Colorguard rocks, and good luck to colorguard in competition, ya'll are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Not a good school. Teachers and Leaders are ridged and not helpful to students. Most Teachers are frustrated at size of large classes and have given up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

This is the greatest school in the world. We all get along and there is no problem with anyone. There is not a real bad clique here. Even with the day of silence still showed up and the day was fine with no problems. not like what the media showed us as. also we have the best arts program we have talented students with brillant and o.k. teachers. Mr. Hooten with a great band. One of the best in the country. The theater program is one of the best in the county starting with Cookie Poynter who started is of. And leaving it to Ron Archer who has brought it over the top. We are one of the best in the county and I would love to see someone prove us wrong. Now it is Mr. Tuley's turn and he will bring it up further. The chorus program is coming along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2004

This school was once a top-rated school. Unfortunatly when the current principal took over it began to deteroriate. All areas have suffered including academics and sports. Great teachers, coaches and support staff began leaving under this principal's leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

The Princple needs to go, for this school to regain the respect in the community it has had in the past. The leadership in this school, over the last several years, has ruined this once great school. It is a shame that one person can get away with so much power, while hurting the very people she is suposed to be leading.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

506 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

541 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

545 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

483 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

401 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

592 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
94%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

369 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 77%
Black 13%
Hispanic 4%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 73%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%59%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. RICK SHACKLE
Fax number
  • (850) 937-2328

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1771 Tate Road
Gonzalez, FL 32533
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 937-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Newpoint Pensacola
Pensacola, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT