Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kids Community College-Orange Charter School

Charter | K-3 | 124 students

"Being dedicated to the well-being and educational success of EVERY child."

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

The truest portrait of a school's climate, care, and concern for well-being and safety should embody several factors: robust and comprehensive teacher support , active family engagement, supportive environmental conditions, strong social and emotional student growth and an organizational wide climate of high expectations. I founded KCC and am now a member of the executive team. I know 1st hand that ALL of or associates, not just any single group of them, are dedicated to these principles and others that make the foundation of an excellent school. While opinions may vary, results don't lie. Our 3rd grade students ranked 3rd of ALL District elementary school (93% reading/71% in math proficiency). Our 1st & 2nd graders SAT10 performance were in the top quartile of the nation. 96% satisfaction rating and were a top workplace again. Most importantly, our focus remains on the well-being and care of students and ensuring that everyone in our employ are dedicated to the values that will help students be their individual best and help us improve every year. We will remain courageous enough to make tough decisions stay committed to continuous improvement. We are blessed to serve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2014

Forget all these other reviews about principal turnover. Bottom line is that the teachers are excellent. They genuinely care for each student and this school strives and exceeds all expectations for the students to excel. This past year I had one child in kindergarten and one in second grade. The kindergarten teachers are excellent and my daughter's had her in an advanced group learning math skills I wouldn't have dreamed she would be doing in kindergarten. As well as my son's second grade teacher. She was caring and communicated weekly about what they were learning. While this is a newer school and they are still trying to get their bearings in some things, the foundation set by the teachers and the academics is excellent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

We were at KCC last year and had a great year. My child's teacher was wonderful, we loved the director, and things ran smoothly. We returned this year with high expectations, and were unfortunately disappointed from the very beginning of the year. The school seemed very disorganized pretty much from day 1, from some safety issues, to a lack of communication from teachers, to the rapid turnover of Directors (there now hasn't been a director for months - I guess they will not hire one before the end of the year). The quality of my child's teacher this year is drastically different than last year. Perhaps it is a lack of experience, I'm not sure. I completely agree with what some of the other parents below have said about the administration this year not wanting to hear opinions from parents if they disagree with anything at all! I'm not sure why things have changed so much for the worse this year, but it greatly saddens me to see a school that had such promise last year really go off track this year. We will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Kid's Community College has been the best place to continue the education of my daughter. As parents, we believe that education starts at home, but having an amazing place to enrich that extra knowledge that every child must have has been a blessing for our family. KCC is the perfect fit for our family, because not just our daughter is enriching her academic life, as family we are also enjoying this experience been part of every aspect of her education. More than a school this is a big family and I'm more than glad to be part of it as parent and as an employee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Kids Community College - Orange Campus is a great school because it has a great academic program that is always striving to be the best for our students. All the teachers and faculty truly care about the success of every student and family. The parent involvement is always extraordinary and is encouraged by staff on a daily basis. I have done a lot of research on public, charter, and private schools and I truly believe that this is the best school for any child to grow and succeed!


Posted February 22, 2014

KCC is developing into a great experience for me and my family. This is my first year there and in the beginning we were very excited about the possibility of finding a Charter School that had a Private School feel. My children have only attended Private Schools until this year. We had a very rocky start but I feel in the past 2 months we have seen a huge push in the right direction. We currently do not have a director at the school but the administration staff, the board of directors and the Tampa employees have all made it their priority to help us rebuild and become successful. I am very happy with where the school is today and excited that next year we will be in a even better position. Not only will we continue to go here next year we will even be sending another one of our children as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I am beyond thrilled at how well the school focuses on academic excellence for all of the students. The teachers truly care about their students and I love that even teachers who don't have my kids in their class know them personally. The community atmosphere and an overall commitment for integrity and high achievement surpass any school we've yet to encounter. The school is implementing more specials programs as the year has progressed and I like that even the after care program has a curriculum. I would like to see more PE activities, but know that is in progress. I feel my kids are safe and that the entire teaching staff and administration is looking out for the students. My kids come home happy. I have seen a vast improvement in my 2nd grader's academics -- it's as if going to KCC energized her and woke her up from the stupor that occurred from boredom at her previous school. Parents who are involved in the school really seem to care about their kid's education and the well-being of every child. There are mandatory volunteer hours, yet every parent still has to meet safety standards/protocol in order to do that. Math is taught a grade level above grade standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I have to agree with the post below word for word its like I wrote it. I was so upset at the Town Hall meeting with the way they spoke to us. They do not want the parents to get involved usless they want money. 2/9/2014 While I would like to agree with the comments posted already, mine are completely opposite. Since my child has started with KCC in 2012 the principal's office has been a revolving door. KCC is now searching for its 4th principal in 2 yrs. And if you bring up any issues or concerns with the administrative staff you are always led to believe everything is your fault, or that you are a burden for even coming to them with a question or issue. Parents have no voice whatsoever. You are told at Town Hall meetings to only ask questions related to agenda items or you will be told "to be on your way" (direct quote). Day to day and weekly communication is spotty at best, our two teachers have rarely sent out an email, maybe twice? When communication does go out, its full of spelling and grammatical errors, and confuses parents- which is embarrassing for an educational institution. Yes this school is a choice, but we will be choosing not to attend next year, as well as s.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

While I would like to agree with the comments posted already, mine are completely opposite. Since my child has started with KCC in 2012 the principal's office has been a revolving door. KCC is now searching for its 4th principal in 2 yrs. And if you bring up any issues or concerns with the administrative staff you are always led to believe everything is your fault, or that you are a burden for even coming to them with a question or issue. Parents have no voice whatsoever. You are told at Town Hall meetings to only ask questions related to agenda items or you will be told "to be on your way" (direct quote). Day to day and weekly communication is spotty at best, our two teachers have rarely sent out an email, maybe twice? When communication does go out, its full of spelling and grammatical errors, and confuses parents- which is embarrassing for an educational institution. Yes this school is a choice, but we will be choosing not to attend next year, as well as several other parents who have already pulled their children in complete dissatisfaction. KCC says they're interest is the well being of every child? But have no respect or concern for parent's voices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter loves KCC. Being her first ever school experience since Dec. 2012, it is a great fit for her and for me. The individualized curriculum keeps her ahead of her grade level. I enjoy the parent involvement and the fact that we help make the school so great because of our involvement. KCC is a nonprofit charter school that is dependent on family involvement. My daughter loves knowing I am making a difference in her life as I did when she was homeschooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

We started at this school last January and absolutely love it. The teachers and staff are so invested in the children's learning it is wonderful. The staff is always friendly and welcoming and makes me as a parent feel safe in leaving my child in their care. Everyday when I pick my daughter up she is smiling and eager to tell me all about what she learned and did during the day. I cannot say enough good things about Kids Community College Charter School. I would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a better approach to learning for their child. So lucky to have found you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Kcc is an excellant school. My children love going to this school. The education that they have been taught is exceptional. I highly reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

I love this school. The classroom sizes are small and the teachers are very engaged with each student. My kids are getting a very good education and school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Charter schools are about school choice. We moved to the Orlando area last year and our son has only attended charter schools his entire life. Compared to others I've had, the previous administrator was just ok in my opinion. I never felt as if she was fully vested in my child's success or well-being since many times she made commitments that were not kept and always seemed to blame others for areas we were dissatisfied with. My son did well this year, but I know he can do better. We believe in this school and its mission and hopefully the new admin can fully deliver on it. We are returning next year and plan to be here a long time. Charter schools are about working together, not about some of the clicky gossipy nonsense that happens with a few at this school - most of whom loved the previous administrator because she allowed them to get far to involved in my opinion. I'm glad that's just a few people though. My experience is that if you're not happy with the school or how it's run, you can work to change it or leave. Don't get in the way and keep it about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

My child also attended KCC this year and I was also upset with the way that the board of directors handled certain decisions regarding dismissing some admistrative staff. This happened very close to the end of the year, and before all of that happened, I had been very happy with the way the director (who is no longer there now) ran the school. She was wonderful. I was also very happy with my child's teacher, who was also amazing. Some of the teachers are leaving this year (and I can't blame them, it must not seem like the best environment to work in)And the board of directors will be announcing the new director for next year in the next few days. And yes, we will be returning next year - BUT with our guards up, and we have every right to do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

I'm an extremely involved CPA parent at KCC and am surprised by the inaccurate information below. When I heard the announcements I decided to go admin rather than speculate. Execs from the Board have been readily available and were happy to meet with me and others regarding the resignations, transition plan, future and concerns we had with the previous director. They explained everything, met with us for as long as needed and addressed our concerns. We are more than satisfied with what was done and how it was handled. These were not a "main branch" decisions. Our local board of directors, which is governed by parents and reps from our school and 1 member from Hillsborough, made the decisions and I agree with them COMPLETELY. I support this change and encourage others to seek facts and post inaccurate info. KCC is a great school and will get better with the RIGHT leadership. I'm excited about next year! It's about choice! Anyone who isn't going to be part of improving should go elsewhere not stick around with their guards up. Leave and give your spot to parents who want a high quality education for their child. There's a long waiting list for this awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I'm so happy that I decided to send my daughter to KCC. The school feels like a small community. Her class size is small and her teacher tailors her work to her academic level. Her teacher is amazing, as are all of the staff. I'm so pleased and comfortable with everyone. I've never been so excited about her schooling. It's wonderful to have such a great option available when you can't afford private school. I feel as if she's getting the best possible education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

We are so pleased with KCC. For us the concern for our kindergardener was individualized curriculum. With all of the testing that KCC does on and for the children, the parents and the teachers both know where the kids are and can cater to the individual needs of each child with challenging academics. The teachers instruct with loving, firm hands. There are extra curricular options for the children including foreign lang, dance and girl scouts. Her teacher communicates with us daily. The principal qenuinely cares about the wellbeing of the students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I have been greatly impressed with the quality of teaching and care for the students, parents and faculty at KCC Orange County. My daughter attends tone of the KCC campuses in Riverview, FL and she is reading and performing math one and sometimes 2 grade l levels higher. She loves going to school. KCC had everything to do with her terrific start so when I learned that KCC was expanding to Orange County, I was excited and confident that the KCC foundation and reputation for excellence would prevail. Boy was I right! I have witnessed students and parent expressions of delight and satisfaction as they sing the praises of KCC and what it is doing for their child. Thanks for opening KCC up to Orange County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I have never known a school so dedicated to the idea of family. They recognize the strength that comes from unity of parents, teachers, students and staff. The teachers work together at such a high level and are creative about helping students achieve success. Families are included in events to bond as a team and play a significant role in creating positive attitude at the school. It is a unique and impressive culture in which to be a part.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 30%
Black 15%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%66%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Some spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Valarie Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • KCC website www.kidscc.org
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (407) 203-3867

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Some spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Camps
Transportation options
  • Afterschool vans pick up daily
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join CPA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Kid's Community College Charter is a second year charter school in Gotha, Florida. KCC- Orange is serving students in grades K - 3 this year (2013 - 2014). Next year KCC will add Grade 4. (2014 - 2015) During the 2015 - 2016 school year Grade 5 will be added. KCC is committed to being dedicated to the well-being and educational success of EVERY child.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
64
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Citrus Oaks Ave., Bldg. #200
Gotha, FL 34734
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 982-2421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Premier Academy
Windermere, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT