Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grand Ridge School

Public | PK-8 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2011

My child recently began middle school at Grand Ridge. Our family relocated last year when my husband opened his clinic in a nearby town. Being new to the area, we are very impressed with the level of compassion, dedication and competence our child's teachers display as our child settles into a new town and a new school. It is a bit alarming, however, to read such distasteful comments by parents. I would like to think that in a Christian based community we would have parents that exert a bit more tact. My child is a Grand Ridge Indian and we take great pride in that. During my initial conference with the teachers, they were very supportive of my child and refreshingly, each other! They were backed up by an excellent administrator as well. I believe every school has educators that are less than qualified and exhibit unethical behavior from time to time. GO INDIANS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Compared to the education that our children recieve at Sneads, this school falls short. So short, it doesn't even reach the bar. There does happen to be a few exceptional teachers at GRS that keep the whole school afloat. It is unfortunate that these very few wonderful teachers have to be lumped in with the rest of the inadequate staff. Until there is an overhaul in administration and staff, this school will continue to be substandard. GRS needs alot more great teachers to go with the precious few they have. Hopefully that can happen for the sake of the children in our community!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Grand Ridge is a wonderful K-8 school. I am just sorry the high school was closed last year. The teachers are great and really want their students to learn. Many of the teachers are willing to stay after school and offer assistance to those students who need it. It is a very safe school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

i have been going to grandridge for 2 years now and i think it is great the principal mrs.beth westmorland is very responsipal and gives us the students time to talk so if you would do not listen to the people who tell lies about us listen to the people who acctually go to the school. i think that the teachers should send home a survey for the students to fill out about this school. thank you for your time and particiaption.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

Grand Ridge is a pre-K through eighth grade school. The principal has an open door policy and she makes time to listen to students and parents and other parties. As a parent of 2 children who attend there, I'm very satisfied with the education they are getting. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

At Grand Ridge school there are some things that need to be fixed and some that are very good. This whole time the principle has been at the school, i believe i have seen her once or twice on school campus.Our VP Mrs.Danials is the best you can ever ask for. She should be principle. There is one teacher who will stay after school and he will help you with anything.He actually wants us to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

This is a small school with an excellent VP. Our youngest had issues with bullies (lots of punching, sand thrown in eyes over and over, etc). Supervising recess/gym teacher did not control the kids, kids were wild on school bus, etc. We couldn't wait to move to a better area for our kids education and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Our Principal needs to be in another field. The elem. VP is Great, the Midd Schl VP needs to go with the Principal. Several of the teachers need to be looked at as well. Anyone that writes a good review on this school before spending actual 'time' at the school is blind by a show. You have teachers that spend more time gossiping than teaching, screaming at children, & absent. There are a few gold medal teachers, but FDOE needs to clean house on this school & the school board!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I have been going to Grand Ridge for a long time, i feel safe, and like im a part of a big family. I dislike the principal and the 2 years she has been there ive seen her about 3 times. There are some great middle school teachers that stayed after school for anyone that needed to make up a test or anything! Our 2 VP our great(they should become principles).
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

This year we have had a lot of changes. Some good a lot not good. We need a Principal in our school that has 'people skills' as well as academic. Our VP you couldn't ask for any better! Always willing to listen & try to resolve any issues. Parents need to be more involved with what their children are doing & try to help get the ones that are out of control in class to sit & learn so the rest of the class can too. Too many parents don't accept that their kids are acting up & do something about it. Taking away from the learning of others & fustrating good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

The school teachers cannot handle their students. Music activities, sports, etc. are nonexistant for <4th grade. The level of teaching these children get in fundamentals is inadequate as is their arts classes. Most teaching is geared towards rote FCAT memorization. Hopefully something will fix for this school. My children will be going to Tallahassee schools next year, i'm sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Grand Ridge is a small rural school that is extremely safe. The children feel safe and comfortable. Meeting students individual needs is very important to the administration and staff. This school feels more like an extended family. After school tutoring is available with many opportunities for extracurricular activities. Parents are welcome on campus and involvemnet is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

A small school in a county that has an inadequate educational system, yet it produces some of the best F-CAT scores in the county. This school is still surviving because of the teachers who love to teach, no matter how low the salary. If you want your child to be a student and not a number, enroll him/her at Grand Ridge.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Black 19%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%70%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAURA CULLIFER
Fax number
  • (850) 482-9834

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6925 Florida Street
Grand Ridge, FL 32442
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 482-9835

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hope School
Marianna, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT