Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tradewinds Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

I was a student from last year and looked at the reviews on this site only to see there aren't many posted for this year or the year before. So here I am ;). Whether you're checking this site because you're a parent or thinking of attending, you should always keep an open mind. As I've already said, there really aren't many recent reviews. So if you came here to see what the school's like, you won't have much luck. So what you read here should have only a little bit to do with your judgement of the school. It all depends on what YOU or your child makes of it. Of course, for me, I'd say that when I was an 8th grader last year, the best thing were my teachers. The best will try to educate you, have fun with you, and try their hardest to be there for you. I was lucky enough to have amazing teachers from 6th-8th.(Pssst, I was in gifted ;) ) But, if you want your teachers to be great, you have to at least be a good student also. Now, I'm not exactly talking about good grades, but you really need to get involved and be respectful. All in all, I enjoyed my time at Tradewinds. I go to Suncoast now ;D and so do about 8 other TMS kids. Go Bucs!!!


Posted August 1, 2013

The school was awesome when my eldest attended under the leadership of Dr. Howell. However, now that my second is attending under this other principal, I feel the quality of leadership has declined somewhat. The teachers are all still wonderful but they could use better support from a more attentive principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

I went to this school for 3 years, and for those of you who said Dr. H ran it like a boot camp were entirely wrong. He treated the school as if they were all his kids, not accepting it if any of us steped out of line. Where as Mrs. S, she has all her A.Ps do all the discipline for her. I would say since she took over the school it has gotten worse. This school however has teachers that are very understanding and amazing. I am now entering h.s with all college level (ap) classes. If i could have anything when i enter hs this fall, is that the teachers are as good as the ones at tradewinds.


Posted March 16, 2011

My child is in the 6th grade and is on the honor roll in advanced classes. My family is low income and minority; which I only mention to advise those that believe low income equals low self esteem and education. My child thrives here amongst a very diverse student population. I turned down Carver's IB programme to keep her away from the belittling attitude of Boca/Delray's unaccepting attitude toward minorities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The school is basically a 9-4 daycare. The majority of the students do not want to learn. The majority of students have no respect for themselves, staff, subs, or teachers. The root cause is attributed to being a low- income SES school; uneducated parents, etc. Student misbehavior is rampant, and the students do not care. To be fair, there is a small minority of students who want to learn. Unfortunately, those students are outnumbered by the students who just don't care. What a shame. In the end, Tradewinds Middle School does a big disservice to the community; take a clue from the NY School System. Students who don't want to behave should face expulsion. Lets place the blame where it goes.......


Posted May 7, 2010

The principal (Dr. Howell) runs the school like a boot camp. Kids must act like robots, or the teacher is viewed as unsatisfactory. If you break the rules (even having your shirt untucked) you will not be allowed to participate in any after school activities. This makes many students feel negative about academics and they get a I don't care attitude. Middle school is hard enough hormonal wise, and adding more negative feelings is not helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2009

i love tradewinds because of our assistant pricipal Mrs J Smith. I love her so much nd i hope she'll come tis school year of 09-10. I u mrs. Smith!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

Speaking as a student who has talked to my parents about this, I do not like the way the school handles situations. When drama begins and the school intervenes, they ask for statements from other students who were not involved, which makes sense, but the administrators don't understand that some students may lie to get others in trouble. Besides that, tucking in your shirts when they are a reasonable length does not make sense to me, and I shouldn't have to wear a belt if my pants fit correctly. The academics are poor, in my opinion, the teachers teach well for the most part, although they have to stick to a certain teaching plan, they should be allowed to teach what they have to teach the way they want to teach it, for example, doing more hands-on things or contorting projects to mould to how the students learn best and fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

even though we do have fights, Tradewinds is an awsome school it is very fun and we hav a staff that tries to keep their studentshappy w/ dances and other creative ways.|TRADEWINDS IS AWSOME PERIOD|
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

I went to this schol for two years and i had a great time a met some great people and the teachers were great they were like having a parent a school you could talk to them about any thing -----Go Bucs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

I graduated from that school this year. 2008, I was there 6-8 && i miss more than ever, the teachers are awesome, the experience was incredible, and dr.Howell rocks (the principal), i've had my best memories there. This school really prepared me, i would recommend any student to go there. I loved every minute of it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

My son loves the school because it is very safe. The principal is visible and accessible to all parents and students and this is the first time my son enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

this is my son's first year at tradewinds,so far I feel he has learned a great deal. therefore I'm very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I am very pleased with the beginning of this school year. The teachers and the new principal have worked hard to provide a well organized and safe opening. This is day 5 and my son is already in the swing of studying and completing homework. He is also trying out for the baseball team in the evenings. You would think that he has been a middle schooler for a long time but actually this is his first year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I was very unhappy last year. Parents who are involved with their children don't get the responses necessary to improve the child's academic achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

im sorry to say that my daughter absoultely hates this school. she attended tradewinds for only one year. and while the administors did listened to everyones problems, they did nothing to make the school a better place. i strongly urge other parents to consider sending their children to better schools, so that their children can get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My daughter attends Tradewinds Middle since 6 grade, we relocated from NY and I must say that this is one of the best schools. I am there every day to pick up my daughter and never see anything out-of-order. I love the teachers and this school, I will recommend this school to any parent who wants to send thier child, no regrets....excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My Daughter came to Tradewind from Brooklyn New York she attended for a year and a half , Tradewindes middle school is a wonderful school. She misses Tradewinds and was doing very well , with her studies. Tradewinds is highly recommended my me 100% they are for the students and parents by far the number one school in palm beach county and this is coming from a New Yorker, who has been in the public school system for 20 years. staff /teachers and Principals are dedicated and and made me and my daughter feel at ease they are the best that Palm beach county has to offer number one
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I think this school is great my daughter loves it there and is excelling high in her studies everyone there is kind hearted and generous and will be there to support you all the way through
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

The School is very good but I think they should have absolutely a tiny more freedom. My son likes to wear a colored t-shirt inside, which I think fits him perfectly, but then I heard he could not do that. But the rest is very satisfying! The school is very nice. Oh and the electives should have a variety for the students to have!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

366 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

213 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

398 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

396 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

380 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
77%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
97%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
Black 36%
White 16%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 56%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%73%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. REBECCA SUBIN
Fax number
  • (561) 493-6410

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5090 Haverhill Road
Greenacres, FL 33463
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 493-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Royal Palm School
Lantana, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT