Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
I graduated from this school about 5 years ago, and remember what horrible experiences I encountered at this place. Now I have my sister in this school and she is suffering from panic attacks because of how much work is given to her. This school is horrible...has no good qualitites. Please do not send your children here. The principal and administration are rude and do not care for your child. All they care about is the money. My poor sister doesn't even have time to eat at school because of how crowded it is. This is ridiculous. This school should be closed or put under new administration.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Warning: Do not send your kids to this school. The administration is comprised of bullies who would rather scream at and insult concerned parents instead of answering their questions and addressing their concerns. What's more, my son went from being a top student at his elementary school to being completely unmotivated and apathetic in regards to education and school. If you are thinking of sending your child here and would like to hear how they treat a parent with legitimate concerns I would be more than happy to provide you with a recording of experience with the principle of the school and it's administrators.


Mater Academy Charter High 3

Posted September 30, 2013
- a student
Mater has like every other school it's bad qualities, like over population, pointless discipline (at times), and favoritism. But people should stop moaning about how horrible it is, because its as good as it gets in this town. And in all honesty it's certainly not the best school in the world or the U.S. but it's the best school in the city, seriously have you seen some of the other schools? What I like about Mater is that a lot of people have one common goal: getting into a good school and there is a competitive edge about everything which makes you want to try to be a better. Being top ten percent is an honor and people don't go around calling you a nerd or whatnot, they congratulate you. All in all it's a decent school, it gets the job done. Nobody should expect them to be perfect.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
This is a for-profit school, meaning the money the get from the district they keep it in their pockets and they do not buy textbooks for students and place 45-50 students per teacher. THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a student
Horrible, extremely dissatisfied, DO NOT GO HERE because the teachers are semi-adequate, and the curriculum is easy and not college prep ...


Mater Academy Charter High 4

Posted June 19, 2012
- a student
Im a freshmen at this school and i have been here since 6th grade. This school has both good and bad qualities. The good qualities are that they have very good discipline,and safety. There are security cameras everywhere and youll always find a security officer around. There are some teachers who go to amazing lengths to make kids understand and pass the subject. Personally i have always passed my classes with good grades. Also, everyones friends with each other. Now, onto the bad... the school lunch they serve is horrible. Mostly its either overcooked or undercooked. Some teacher show favoritism towards other students. Some teachers dont know where the heck theyre standing, and no matter how many complaints the office gets, they still dont get fired. The school worries about the silliest details on earth like having blue nail polish or boys having their hair too long(i dont mean that long, imagine the old Justin Bieber.) The classes are too crowded and the teachers spend have of the class telling the kids to be quiet. They dont have too many fun electives, like home ec. When the students are in high school, the staff doesnt care any more and lets them do whatever they want.

Mater Academy Charter High 3

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mater Academy Charter High 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a community member
A school with the most safe environment that is also very disciplined. You don't find another like it. This school is above the rest.


Mater Academy Charter High 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mater Academy Charter High 5

Posted July 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mater Academy Charter High
7901 Northwest 103rd Street, Hialeah Gardens, FL  33016
(305) 828-1886
Last modified Mater Academy Charter High is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mater Academy Charter High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top