Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

671 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
My son began attending this school in the 7th grade. Prior to going here he was a honor roll student and did very well in school. Since attending this school i'm proud to say that his is still on top with grades he recoeved an award at the end of the 7th grade year for maintaining Honor Roll for the entire year, now in the 8th grade he's still maintaining honor roll, he's also a member of the National Junior honor society and a peer tutor!!! This school is great he's had no problems with other students, he loves being apart of the CAMBRIGE MAGNET PROGRAM and honor and advanced classes. I drive a total of 40 miles to and from his school every day so that he can have a shot at a good education and thus far this school has helped him to continue to excel. I couldn't be more proud!

Lawton Chiles Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
The kids are all determined to suceed and they push and help each other. Parents are awesome too. We all have but one goa


Lawton Chiles Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
They teach the kids pride and to feel good about themselves. And how to treat others with respect.

Lawton Chiles Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
love all my teachers. all are super nice. but all school lunch needs to change. NO MORE SOY BEAN MEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
This school is my favorite!! Everyday all the teachers ask how has your day? always nice


Lawton Chiles Middle School 1

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Students have no time to use restrooms between classes and them are ridiculed for using them in class. My daughter has to carry all her books in a book bag and has to change buildings and floors throughout the day. To top it off the no bully policy should be applied to the teachers too. My daughter is yelled at every time she is out sick, which is not excessive by her teacher. Then she tells her that mother should not take her out of class for every little thing, like her neighbor. When does a teacher have a right to encroach on a parents decision to keep a child home when she has a fever and requires breathing treatments. Not to mention this teacher likes to use the D word when the bell rings. My children have never had any problems with teachers before.

Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
I have to say this is a great school. My 12 year daughter loves the school, the teachers are amazing. The school doesn't have so many students, so the kids have more personal help when they need it. The Cambridge program is fantastic because it motivates students to keep learning.

Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
A mi hijo le gusta mucho LCMS, yo estoy muy orgullosa que el este en este programa, los maestros son muy buenos, y quisiera animar a todos los padres y tutores de nuestros muchachos para que nuestra escuela siga subiendo su calificacion porque se la merece. Dios bendiga a todo el personal educativo y al administrativo. :)


Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
This large school has only has 620 students. The classrooms are incredibly spacious, huge in fact. The Principal and vice principal are just incredible. They have their finger on the pulse of everything going on and know each student. The Cambridge program they now have is equipped with the best teachers and highest quality materials. In their iPrep math, each student has a laptop. They no longer bus students there, so unless you are zoned for the school or were accepted into the magnet program and have your own transportation, you cannot go there. My child is happy each day to go to school. I hope they get more enrollment. Public schools are closing. Doral Middle was closed. People are choosing charter schools over public schools and it's a shame. If more caring parents with good kids would send their kids to public schools an spend their money supporting the school instead of giving it to private institutions we could save our public school system. It's one of the most essential institutions we have in this country. I see even public school principals that are making a lot of money choosing to send their own kids to private school. I think it's shameful.

Lawton Chiles Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
We transferred to this school from Jackson Heights Middle. We couldn't be happier! We love this school. All the teachers and staff create such a welcoming environment for the children to come and learn in. Ms. Lawshe is top notch! Thanks for everything!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawton Chiles Middle School
8190 Northwest 197th Street, Hialeah, FL  33015
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (305) 816-9101
Last modified Lawton Chiles Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top