Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,363 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mater Academy Charter Middle
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank Ms. Matos because she is very special, she makes learning fun and interesting and my daughter Sabrina loves her because she is a great teacher but also a good friend to her students. So thank you so much Ms. Matos for your noble work.

Mater Academy Charter Middle 5

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is studying here, and whenever I visit the school their staff is attentive, this school has many activities, sport teams, etc. When you walk by the hallways there is a good and friendly ambience. They keep me informed of the important events coming up. My daughter says she is very happy with Mater Academy Middle.


Mater Academy Charter Middle 1

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Warning: Do not send your kids to this school. The administration is comprised of bullies who would rather scream at and insult concerned parents instead of answering their questions and addressing their concerns. What's more, my son went from being a top student at his elementary school to being completely unmotivated and apathetic in regards to education and school. If you are thinking of sending your child here and would like to hear how they treat a parent with legitimate concerns I would be more than happy to provide you with a recording of experience with the principle of the school and it's administrators.

Mater Academy Charter Middle 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Yes, at matter academy you have to pay for sports and activities, but they have good programs , the best books for reviews and a lot of caring teachers . The principal is a Latina yes, and she does and excellent work, FCAT scores talk, this is an A middle and high school in Hialeah ... Not too many around a poor place like Hialeah with the majority of kids coming from Hispanic fAmilies and been ESOl because of their lack of English knowledge ! I love mater academy and I am proud parent of this school not a teacher, this year my son has very good teachers , and I couldn't be more happy

Mater Academy Charter Middle 2

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
This is a Charter School owned and operated by Academica which is a for profit company owned by a latino family. The worst option in the area. The only people that give positive reviews to this school are employees of the school. They do not have textbook for students, the sports they have are not free, the after school activities are not free, the worst school in the area hands down, they have posters with rankings given by john does from non credible magazines saying they are the best of the best, obviously a ranking that is fictitious. Any public school in the area is ten times better than this for profit school called Mater Academy.


Mater Academy Charter Middle 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
I love this school because it teaches children how to behave and maintain well dress and teach them also to learn how to follow rules. My daughter was in this school and now my son started middle school and I can't be any happier for him to continue his education on this school

Mater Academy Charter Middle 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My son plays sports, is involved in performing arts as well, and still maintains great grades.

Mater Academy Charter Middle 4

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter has been in this school since Kindergarten and she is now in 7th grade. We were given an opportunity to transfer to another charter school closer to home (Miramar) and it turned out to be a huge mistake. My daugher attended only one day at the Broward charter school. I asked the Principal and Vice-Principal of Mater to allow my daughter to return and they received us with open arms. Thank you! I am eternally grateful.


Mater Academy Charter Middle 4

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
Great school! Love strict environment with no tolerance for kids who do not want to follow rules.

Mater Academy Charter Middle
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I have two daughter's that attend Mater Academy and I have always been extremely happy with the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mater Academy Charter Middle
7901 Northwest 103rd Street, Hialeah, FL  33016
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (305) 828-1886
Last modified Mater Academy Charter Middle is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top