Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bethune Mary M Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

For the child who gets off the bus in the morning to the same child getting back on at the end of the day, Bethune Elementary has transformed his/her life scholastically and emotionally pouring value into their learning experience day in and day out for the entire school year. The school has an interactive relationship with parents that rounds off the educational experience to include the entire family in the business of creating successfully accomplished students. It is the best educational experience that money cannot buy. From the Principle to the teach to the aid and assistance very few compare...congratulations Bethune so glad to be a part of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

This is no longer a school. This place is a zoo gone wild. My child hates this school with a passion. All of the kids curse & are very disrespectful. The pickup lines after school are all so unorganized, your child can get the car with anybody or can walk off with anybody. This is my child's first & last year at the zoo. I've requested 2 parent teacher conferences since December now it's February & still haven't had a conference yet. This school sucks.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This school is very disorganized. I went to an orientation that did not start on time. My children and I were on the bus. After 8pm, the city buses slow down, and run once an hour. I complained the program was not starting on time, and could not see the whole performance. It took us 2 hours to get back home in the cold wether. DISAPPOINTED WITH THEIR SERVICES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I must say I am a bit disappointed with this being a title one school of the arts. The enthusiasm of the administrative staff is not so great. No one seems the ability to think outside the box and be innovative. There doesn't seem to be any school spirit at all and they have that 'I am here just for a pay check' attitude.1 of my children was upset because the learning activities and privlages were limited due to the disruptive children who had no respect for the teacher or classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

I would give this school 10 stars if i could .My children attened years ago when the program was just getting started. It was super then and I am sure it has done nothing but get better.my children were Adam and Dawn Dietrick


Posted July 3, 2006

This is just an amazing school. My kids love this school and are going to be heartbroken when it comes time to leave. Neither my kids were into the arts and now all they talk about is finishing homework and practicing. You will not regret having your child attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

This is a great school for students that want love the arts. Their programs are so enriching and the students have agreat time. Very good performing arts program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Bethune Elementary is a great school. Their magnet program is awsome. This schools majors in performing art. I have three children that has attended this school from Pre-K to fifth and I am very impressed with the whole schools staff in their dedication to teaching children. My children''s majors are in keyboarding and strings. I am pleased that their interest is on point. They have the opportunity to learn and perform with friends, and I don't have to encourage their interest. Parent involvement is great, the parents enjoy participating in their childrens talents. I am proud to recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

Caring principal; excellent speech teachers; very good magnate program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

This school has had its ups and downs, but what school doesn t? It is an older school that needs a little TLC in a few places but I have seen many changes in the past 6 years some for the best and some just to make room. When you visit the school and see the different projects that the children have worked so hard on you are just amazed by the talent you see. It makes you forget about the wall in hall that could use a new paint job or the carpet that could be replaced. The school is working on the cosmetics but their main focus is the children and it shows. The kids are given such an opportunity to explore areas in the Arts that they wouldn t get any were else. I do have some issues that I m not happy about. I wish that the 4th & 5th grade classes could be at the school and not at the Middle School and I wish they didn t have to ride the bus with the older kids but I know that the school is working on changing this too. Bethune is like a book, don t judge it for its cover until you read what is says inside. The teachers and children work very hard to bring out the beauty of this school and what it represents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

So far this school seems to be doing great as far as my daughter is concerned. She is in kidnergarten and she seems to be learning so much so fast, most of all she seems to be retaining it all. Her teacher is firm but very friendly and seems generally intrested in the students, which is very important to me. I chose this school for it's performing Arts program I hope to see my daughter a little more involved in thats so far it seems it's mostly older children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

School has not kept commitments for ESE services which were to be afforded to special needs child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 75%
Hispanic 14%
White 9%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 195%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 28%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%53%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY LOU RIDGE
Fax number
  • (754) 323-4940

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Meade Street
Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone: (754) 323-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dania Elementary School
Dania Beach, FL


Emerald Hills School
Hollywood, FL


Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT