Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Driftwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 568 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

I Love this school it might not look like everything. But I really enjoy the atmosphere and knowing that my child is safe. Maybe the parent should try to be more involved and not expect so much and they will be alright... again, I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

This school is a terrible choice. PARENTS BEWARE!!! Terrible Communication, Terrible attitude!!! I transferred my son here from Palm Cove Elementary (which I highly regret) and didn't even know until report cards came that they did not attempt to get records from my sons previous school! They said they had called to no avail. SINCE WHEN DOES A SCHOOL GIVE UP? I had to intervene and got the records the very next day! The office staff is terribly rude, extremely unorganized and they lack in communication with parents! I have met the vice principal on several occasions and every time I see her she says "Nice to finally meet you". I have called to have tardies resolved (because they counted my kindergarten child tardy even when on school grounds if he is not seated) and the response was "I am the only one here, I'll have to call you back." I wouldn't send my kid back to this school if they paid me!!! BEWARE !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Glad i made the choice of my son currently attending this school. Driftwood has made transitioning to the state of florida great. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I was a former student at Driftwood Elementary. I attended the school from kindergarden to 5th grade. It is an AMAZING school! I believe every child should have the learning experience of the teachers at Driftwood Elementary! My teachers were mrs.Q ( k ) mrs. jones ( 1st ) mrs. alhouse ( 2nd ) mrs.walker ( 3rd ) mrs. guffey ( 4th ). I absolutely loved my teachers! my fith grade year was a little ruff but still very memorable!!! the school staff was very attentive! never any fits and did every thing to prevent bullying! the principal and vis principal were both AMAZING!! they did their best to become familiar with EVERY student! I truly enjoyed my 6 years as a student at Driftwood Elementary!


Posted November 29, 2012

I give this school a very high rating score. Not only is this a great school, but the teacher are also great. My daughter is a third grader there and we couldn't ask for a better teacher. Ms.Walker has been a Blessing to my daughter and to our family. Thank you Ms.Walker for being such a great teacher and a wonderful person overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Driftwood has a wonderful staff of teachers, and support staff. I have been so impressed by this gem of a school. My oldest child attends private school, and I can say that her school should take lessons from the staff at Driftwood. I feel that everyone at the school cares and that speaks volumes! In a time of budget cuts, the school has kept the music program which rocks!! Kudos to Driftwood!!! Tina Carr
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Everyone is wonderful but the teachers are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I went to this school and my siblings all did as well. This school actually cares about it's students and I've never seen more involved parents. The teachers are for the most part loved by the students and there's something for everyone to get involved in. I think this school builds strong students and gives them a great experience.


Posted July 27, 2009

I love this school my daughter is going to the 5th grade and she is loving it and i am so happy too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

This is my first year in driftwood I have two children one in 4th and one in 5th so my experince is bad. I wish I would have never moved to this school. My daughter the gifted glass Mrs.L is great. But my son is doing awlful and I have ask for help with no luck. No communication with his teacher and still waiting after two weks for the guidence teacher to return my call. All I was told is it was a choice for my child to behave in certain ways. So if he does not want to learn they are not going to teach him. Great just what we need another bum on the streets< I heard of this in high school but he is only 10 I make his choice not him but they are my eyes when he is there and I was just asking for
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

My child has attened driftwood for kindergarten and first grade. I was a little unsure about the school to begin with but as the year went on and I saw how well my son was excelling in all areas I was very happy. When he went into 1st grade I helped out in the class and was very impressed with Mrs Q. She is amazing with the kids. The car pick up was crazy but very well supervised. We have moved out of the area but will miss the education and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

The academic program is excellent. the teachers are very helpful. The music program and sports programs are very divers. Parent involvement is great. This is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

I have been very pleased with Driftwood Elementary thus far. My daughter has excelled with the curriculum that has been provided to her and has recently been placed in Driftwood's Gifted Program, which is just now forming for the upcoming year. The staff is very diligent and efficient. I had always feared my children getting bullied, but I have come to find that there is no need worry here. There was one small incident involving name calling last year and the matter was cleared up immediately and it never occured again. THANK YOU DRIFTWOOD ELEMENTARY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I think Driftwood is a good school. There is alot of cultural diversity, and the principal is commited to making the school a comfortable learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2005

Driftwood Elem. is a great school. My child's teacher is very interested in his progress. She is even willing to give out her home phone number so that parents may reach her at any time if there is a problem or question. The administration is always visible in the school. They are easy to get to and talk to. They are will to help out in any way possible. The best thing is that they are always out and about and the kids see that they are interested in them. Parents are alway welcomed on campus for whatever reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 61%
Black 17%
White 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GLADYS F DONOVAN
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5490

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 Northwest 69th Avenue
Hollywood, FL 33024
Phone: (754) 323-5450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lycee France-American
Hollywood, FL


The Quest Center
Hollywood, FL


Beacon Hill School
Hollywood, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT