Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sheridan Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 680 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2013

Took my son out for reasons below but forgot mention that he was not allowed to talk at lunch time and would get punished if he did! !! That's got to change, if it already hasn't been done so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

The teachers at Sheridan Park are terrific and the sole reason I kept my children at this school. They are caring, kind and creative - especially in the face of budget cuts. However, the principal is more of a politician than an educator. She micromanages parental involvement and never answers a question directly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

This school is amazing with parents and staff that CARE. An overlooked gem. I pulled my older child out of private to attend this school and it was 100% more challenging. My older son flourished academically and he loved his teachers. It is one of the few elementary schools in Broward County to even have a LEGO Robotics team that qualified for statewide comp. My younger child has had intuitive teachers who are communicative, empathetic and understanding of his disability. He's made tremendous progress. Strength of character comes from the top and from the testament of tenure. And, I might add, it's nice to enter a school office where administration is genuinely kind, smiling and happy to assist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I will just say it..Sheridan Park administrator and some teachers have caused many students to leave the school and enhance issues between parents and students with no attempt for resolution. It starts from the head on down to the other employees. Hopefully, they can began to correct these matters instead of hiding and covering them up. Deeds done in the dark will all come to the light. I am a person with inside info and details and know what I am saying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

A+ School, Great Afterschool Care Program, Very informative,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I am very pleased with the Adminstration and Teachers at Sheridan Park Elementary. My son's teachers have been great and most importantly he looks forward to going to school daily. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I love Sheridan Park Elementary. Both my daughters have attended this school and the teachers and office staff have been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

Great School ! I have Loved it for the last 3 years! My hat off to great teachers, especially Mr. Yuen and Mrs. Kleid who give their students 110% of their caring heart for the love of learning and fill the kids with knowledge to make winners some day! The office staff is so helpful ,attentive and pleasant! I love to deal with them always. Keep up the great work Sheridan Park and Staff and PTA!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I love Sheridan Park. My oldest that is now 17 years old started at Sheridan Park from Kinder garden and now so did my 11 year old that is now in the tah grade so I have seen lots of improvement in the school. I do not agree with the kids being quite at lunch time, that is the only time they can socialize with their classmates. I have never had a problem with any staff member. Sheridan Park teachers are a reason why my 17 year old daughter wants to be a teacher. Teachers need more recognition, like for example Ms. Clark (your the best). Security is the best at the school, can't ask for more. Let the kids talk at lunch time, it's healthy for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

I like Sheridan Park because it is organized in lots of ways. I really like teachers there because they take their work seriously especially hats off to Mrs. E in first grade who makes every kid comfortable not matter what background they come from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I think that Sheridan Park is a great school! In any situation there is always room for improvement, but I have never seen a group of professionals run such a tight ship and still balance it out with the care and compassion that these people have. The amazing part is that they do it with and without parental involvement. I am well informed on my child's individual progress and other happenings in the school. It seems as if they are passionate about doing their job, but they also believe in making the students accountable for their own education. While some may view this as a negative thing, I think that it is great. I feel that the goal of parenting is to raise a self-sufficient human being. The teachers,administration and staff are assisting me in doing just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

The school is a great school. Teachers are great. The only thing I don't like is that during lunch they have to be quiet and the get yelled at if they aren't. The children have to write the rules of the cafateria if they aren't good. This is the only time they get to talk to their friends. Lunch is a time to talk not to be quiet. They have to be quiet in class and all during the school day. Why do they have to be quiet during lunch time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

My granddaughter has been going to this school for 2 yrs now - and I just want to say hats off to Ms Entus - she is one great lady! - caring, sharing, patence of a saint - she gives 150% of her self to her kids, way to go! God Bless - great program you have - and one great prinicpal - Mrs Tracy - she handles everything with professionalism and class - keep up the good work ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

This school's security is great, however it would be nice to be treated like a parent instead of a suspect everytime you're there. I drop my child off at the door every morning and pick her up at the door every afternoon. I have only been allowed to enter the classroom on two occassions (orientation & open house{this occurs only 4xs a year}). As a result of the limited access to the school drop-offs & pick-ups can take up to 30 mins. each. Nevertheless academically they appear to be on task. I'm recieving a daily behavior report, graded classroom assignments, and weekly homework for my child. The Panther Press is definately a wonderful way you're kept up to speed on special days and events. In addition to this they have a excellent and attentive asst. principle(Mrs. Brown),Bravo! Overall it's just a few that need to develope their people skills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

I think that there is still room/need for changes and progress. This is on behalf of the staff and students. For this to be an elementary school of supposed mature adults, leaders and examples. There's too many negative attitudes that I face when inquiring information in reference to my child, who's a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

I love Sheridan Park! I have 4 wonderful children and all of them are there, except for one due to age. All of my children's teachers have been excellent! All of them have been kind to there needs and feelings. I could not ask for a better school let alone the teachers. Sheidan Park keep up the 'great' work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I believe that Sheridan Park is great - I came from Davie Elem and that was the pits - Sheridan Park is so organized and on top of things and kids concerns - Kudos to Ms Klasfield and Ms Entus - they are the best - so caring and involved with their students - this was the best move I ever made for the betterment of my Grandchild - she has shown great improvement since starting there- Hats off to all of you - God Bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2003

I think Sheridan Park is a good School, but they need to have a program for gifted kids or at least test the students. I give a big thumbs up to the teachers who are with our children for 6 hours a day.The teachers need to get paid a bigger salary tnen what they are getting.The P.T.A needs to stop and think about what kind of fund raiser that will benefit all the children and not just the ones who sold more stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2003

Aunque no conozco la Sheridan Park, la escala correcta es de 5, porque la educacion que ha recibido mi nieta Irina Chiu en ella es excelente. Muchas gracias a los 'Teachers' y a la 'Principal' por contribuir a su formacion educacional. Rosendo Lopez del Castillo, Abuelo de Irina Chiu
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I think Sheridan Park Elementary it is too conservative and that by trying to be the best of the best it is way to strict with the kids don t giving any room to teach tolerance I feel that to get any where there one have to fight it to the end, it is like a wall, kids are not allow to be kids, if Halloween come they are not allow to do anything, and so and so, even in the cafeteria, they made the kids to put their arms up and turn the lights off, that is insulting! In the other hand one have to recognize that they are well organized as far as safety; discipline is necessary but kids need to also get an smile and a palm on the back and over all I have to say that it is a good school and the place is very clean and it has very good programs for challenge students. Another thing I don t like is how they are constantly asking for money, doing fund raises , every week is something and they constantly manipulate the students by saying if your class gets the most sales it will get this or that I think that is wrong because it does put parents in a very uncomfortable position where one have to be constantly saying no to the kids. I don t think they should use the kids to get money from parents. Once a year is ok, the Christmas fair is ok, but all the time, no, I think that shows no consideration at all and it makes our kids to feel very prickly
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 21%
Black 19%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA CALZADILLA-TRACY
Fax number
  • (754) 323-7390

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2310 Northwest 70th Terrace
Hollywood, FL 33024
Phone: (754) 323-7350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lycee France-American
Hollywood, FL


Beacon Hill School
Hollywood, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT