Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sheridan Hills Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hollywood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2013

My son has been going to SHCS and I absolutely love it! He's almost 3yrs old and he has learned so much more than the other "school" I had him in before. The teachers, parents and students all are amazing!! I would definitely recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

Excellent... My daughter was coming from another school and her improving was awesome... Very good school .... I am so happy...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

The school is alright. The teachers are nice and friendly, the education is well, but the students well to much drama. The school is now having really strict polocies like if you dont tuck your shirt in, wear a belt, or wear a school jacket you get detention. If your not wearing pants with the SHCS logo on it or a school shirt you get sent home. If someone calls someone "crazy" even if playing around they get suspended, and if something happens online like on facebook and it has nothing to do with the school or bullying but its problems with someone then the student gets suspended. If you get 3 detentions in 1 quarter or skip detentioin you get saturday, if you skip saturday or dont show up you get suspended. Students are also not allowed to go to bathrooms or drink water between classes. There are to many problems at that school.


Posted April 15, 2010

One of the first things we noticed when touring Sheridan Hills before enrolling our oldest son was the amount of respect and manners the middle school and high school students showed adults...something that can be hard to come by in today's society. We greatly appreciate SHCS's focus on both academics and citizenship and look forward to our younger sons joining the ranks soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I love Sheridan Hills Christian school because I have seen what a POSITIVE impact it has made, academically and morally on it's students!


Posted April 15, 2010

I have enjoyed working at Sheridan Hills for about 8 years. My children have done well since they started the school also. Their academics have improved greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

This by far has been a great school for my child. he started in first grade and I am absolutely thrilled. I recommend this school to any parent who is looking for the small close nit atmosphere and the detailed attention your child needs to grow academically and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

great school, because they are teaching our chidrens the love of God
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

A++ Excellent, beautiful and great in my book. I love this school. My child is happy and holds only the highest regard for the staff, teachers and coaches who do a great job and truly care about these kids. My child is encouraged, challenged and inspired daily through academics and sports. As with any private school adherent to budget constraints, of course there are things that could be better, and it would cost more to attend. The main thing here is the priority is on the students and their future, their future in Christ and the promotion of family values. It is a small school with a big heart. Support for the athletics programs is strong. Where do you find all that in this world?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I like Sheridan Hills Christian School because of the Christian influence that is prevelant there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This is a very good school where you can find lots of good freinds, and the teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

My son transfer to this school from another private school and I am so happy and satisfied that this time I made the BEST choice. Tuition is a bit pricey but you do get what you pay for. My child has developed so much academically and his Teacher is wonderful. I love the fact that she is very welcoming and I have her home phone number. I love this school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

I've been at this school for 4 years and its a great school.It's almost like a close family.Academically we're great.Since there are small classes, it's easier for you to ask the teacher questions.We're a Christian School but religion is not shoved down your throat.Overall,SHCS has helped me improved academicall,sports wise, and in my religion (Christian).
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter transferred to this school from another private school. I agree with previous review the PTA is a bit disorganized. The teachers are a GIFT and any parent will feel safe knowing their child is in their care. The tuition is reasonable which is something hard to find for such a GREAT school. They do not PUSH the religion thing, only set the foundation of course for the children to believe in God and his teachings...again NOT too pushy..I love that part. Academically, they are in line with other programs and I'm confident that will only continue. The staff are always smiling and that means alot because they work there...I don't think that need clarification. I highly recommend this school to any parent who can afford it and if you can't they have tuition help programs too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

Our child was in another private school and transferred here. The school is fantastic and the teachers love their students. The PTA is a bit unorganized but I'm sure thats everywhere. School safety thumbs up, great education level and most definitely great sports programs. Fantastic alternative to public school's overcroweded classrooms. Here they get best of both worlds. Solid foundation, not too pushy on the religion thing but again solid on education. Whether or not you are a believer in God, your child will be welcome here, no doubt. The school is well maintained, very clean and has great staff. Definitely was a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

Good school academically, has a very family environment, the kids and teachers seem to have a good relationship. The school has a sports program but it is very elementary, if you are looking for a school with a great sports programs this is not it, but if you are looking for a school where you child can be nurtured this is a good option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

I had my children here for 3 years. I think that the academics are awesome at this school. The administration really is unorganized and terrible communication. I found problems with the financial administrator and the headmaster. Neither of them return phones calls or show any interest in helping parents at all. I would not recomend this school to someone who wants the personal touch and someone to call you back and explain everything in detail. As far as academics I would recommend this to parents with grade k5 and under.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 29%
White 34% 42%
Black 14% 23%
Two or more races 12% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (954) 961-1395

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3751 Sheridan Street
Hollywood, FL 33021
Phone: (954) 966-7995

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Emerald Hills School
Hollywood, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT