Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter attended Nativity Elementary School and Middle school and then on to St. Thomas Aquinas then off to college at Florida Gulf Coast where she graduated Magna Cum Laude. Thanks Nativity for an excellent foundation. We love the principal and staff! Great work building our kids futures!

Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
I believe if you can't say something nice , don't say anything at all. Find another school.


Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Classes are too large, 35 children. Teacher's are punitive & see no other perspective to teaching but their own. Ready to label any child that does not fit "their" social norm as a problem. Says they follow the diocese guideline of differentiated instruction but don't believe it. Does not recognize and award students fairly. Is too involved with being champions & not involved enough to educate all children to their full potential. Buildings and classrooms look like something out of the 70's. Charges some of the highest tuition fees for a Catholic elementary and middle school in the area and after reviewing several other Catholic Schools and the condition of their school I can't figure out what they do with the money. Also, regarding their children's Mass, I found it very disrespectful. Parents are loudly gossiping, children are learning from this how to act in Mass and for some reason they think they have to let the kids be loud and disorderly to make them want to attend.They need to be told to behave and be respectful. The Liturgical Dancers, teen and ore-teen girls dancing on the altar was the final straw for me. Check out the other Catholic Schools in the areas; I wish I had.

Nativity Elementary School 3

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
OK but no robotics club or 20th century stuff.Library needs new books. Needs clean bathrooms!!!!!!! Broken and dirty stuff found in bathrooms and all over.

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
I been looking a lot of schools for my son and definitly Nativity is the Best shool in Hollywood Florida!!!!!!!


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a community member
Attending Nativity from pre k-3 through grade 8 was a blessing. Not only did it help me get way ahead academically, but it also nourished my desire to play sports. Being a Catholic school, it taught Christian values, though it was never overbearing. The administration always encouraged practicing kindness, respect, and having a good Christian attitude.

Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
We chose school based on ads of excellence and for faith based education. Our experience reflected neither. Huge classes (38 not unusual). Punitive measures used by teachers. Favoritism rife. Campus: poorly maintained, often dirty, floods easily. Bathrooms often dirty and smelly. Poor post-jamboree cleanup with fly and maggot infestation around dumpsters as happened after 2011 jamboree. Education average to so-so. Emphasis on winning competitions; results used to tout school's excellence . Technology primitive and lacking. No facilities for gifted or struggling kids. Science taught sporadically. Kids check about half of their own classwork, and all math homework. Teachers miss a lot of errors when they check work. Faculty very mediocre overall, with literally 1 or 2 exceptions. Inbred staff, most of whom have been there too long. Office clerks and teacher's aides become full teachers in a short period of time. Need for new blood . Leadership and administration are not progressive and not receptive to parental concerns or anything other than maintaining the status quo.

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
Fantastic. Great teachers and the parents so involved!. Well rounded and fun!! So happy there!!


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
My family has had a very positive experience at Nativity. In our two years there we have noticed constant updating and renovations to the buildings and grounds. Not only that, we know our children are receiving an excellent education. The teachers are truly remarkable: patient, nurturing, and committed to meeting the children's needs. Discipline is firm yet gentle. The curriculum is very well-rounded, with many ways to learn, and also many enriching lessons and programs that are unique to this school. Most of all we value the spiritual education they receive here.

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
Excited for another school year! So glad to finally have a covered area for gym/athletics (no actual gymnasium at school). Hope the lunch room experience will be a better one...the children are harped on a bit to much to "be quiet"...I can understand wanting them to behave but to have to spend a brief 25-30 minutes of free time at lunch being at times yelled at over a microphone to be quiet is a bit much I think.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nativity Elementary School
5200 Johnson Street, Hollywood, FL  33021
(954) 987-3300
Last modified Nativity Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Nativity Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top