Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
I attended Nativity from Kindergarten through the 8th grade. I have very fond memories of my time there and the relationships I made. I still attend mass there weekly and am amazed that even after all this time ( I am now 29 years old) my old teachers still remember me by name. Truly a wonderful school in everyway and I am forever grateful for the sacrifices my parents made so that I could attend. I look forward to sending my own children there.

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter attended Nativity Elementary School and Middle school and then on to St. Thomas Aquinas then off to college at Florida Gulf Coast where she graduated Magna Cum Laude. Thanks Nativity for an excellent foundation. We love the principal and staff! Great work building our kids futures!


Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
I believe if you can't say something nice , don't say anything at all. Find another school.

Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Classes are too large, 35 children. Teacher's are punitive & see no other perspective to teaching but their own. Ready to label any child that does not fit "their" social norm as a problem. Says they follow the diocese guideline of differentiated instruction but don't believe it. Does not recognize and award students fairly. Is too involved with being champions & not involved enough to educate all children to their full potential. Buildings and classrooms look like something out of the 70's. Charges some of the highest tuition fees for a Catholic elementary and middle school in the area and after reviewing several other Catholic Schools and the condition of their school I can't figure out what they do with the money. Also, regarding their children's Mass, I found it very disrespectful. Parents are loudly gossiping, children are learning from this how to act in Mass and for some reason they think they have to let the kids be loud and disorderly to make them want to attend.They need to be told to behave and be respectful. The Liturgical Dancers, teen and ore-teen girls dancing on the altar was the final straw for me. Check out the other Catholic Schools in the areas; I wish I had.

Nativity Elementary School 3

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
OK but no robotics club or 20th century stuff.Library needs new books. Needs clean bathrooms!!!!!!! Broken and dirty stuff found in bathrooms and all over.


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
I been looking a lot of schools for my son and definitly Nativity is the Best shool in Hollywood Florida!!!!!!!

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a community member
Attending Nativity from pre k-3 through grade 8 was a blessing. Not only did it help me get way ahead academically, but it also nourished my desire to play sports. Being a Catholic school, it taught Christian values, though it was never overbearing. The administration always encouraged practicing kindness, respect, and having a good Christian attitude.

Nativity Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
We chose school based on ads of excellence and for faith based education. Our experience reflected neither. Huge classes (38 not unusual). Punitive measures used by teachers. Favoritism rife. Campus: poorly maintained, often dirty, floods easily. Bathrooms often dirty and smelly. Poor post-jamboree cleanup with fly and maggot infestation around dumpsters as happened after 2011 jamboree. Education average to so-so. Emphasis on winning competitions; results used to tout school's excellence . Technology primitive and lacking. No facilities for gifted or struggling kids. Science taught sporadically. Kids check about half of their own classwork, and all math homework. Teachers miss a lot of errors when they check work. Faculty very mediocre overall, with literally 1 or 2 exceptions. Inbred staff, most of whom have been there too long. Office clerks and teacher's aides become full teachers in a short period of time. Need for new blood . Leadership and administration are not progressive and not receptive to parental concerns or anything other than maintaining the status quo.


Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
Fantastic. Great teachers and the parents so involved!. Well rounded and fun!! So happy there!!

Nativity Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
My family has had a very positive experience at Nativity. In our two years there we have noticed constant updating and renovations to the buildings and grounds. Not only that, we know our children are receiving an excellent education. The teachers are truly remarkable: patient, nurturing, and committed to meeting the children's needs. Discipline is firm yet gentle. The curriculum is very well-rounded, with many ways to learn, and also many enriching lessons and programs that are unique to this school. Most of all we value the spiritual education they receive here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nativity Elementary School
5200 Johnson Street, Hollywood, FL  33021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (954) 987-3300
Last modified Nativity Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top