Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hudson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 658 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

My Daughters school is one of the best she is only a week into the school year and is already showing so much progress Thanks Hudson Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

This school is great!!!! My son has been going there for two years and loves it. He has improved on all levels! My youngest son starts kindergarden soon and I cant wait to see how well he does. Thank you Hudson Elem for great staff and fun environment for my boys! The after school place program is great also fun and safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

I have 2 children prenstly going to hes i whould say that mrs. Beats and mrs rehm are far most wonderl best teachers i have ever met. The only proplem i have about this school is they do not challenge my dauther as much as they use to at her old scholl saftey harber elementery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I'm not happy with this school they promote bad behavior from other children and my child is not happy at this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

Just wanted to let everyone know that I would never send my children to any other school. I have 4 children ages 20 to 9, and they all have went to this school. The teachers my kids have had were all wonderful! Dawn Finnerman you r the best we love you! Mrs.Ross you are one of the best teachers I could have ever asked for, my kids all loved you very much. Mrs.Adams/Gordie/Zelienski/& Webb u guys r great!And there has been several others threw the years.I appreciate everything u have done for my kids.My girls are all A-B Honor Roll at HMS & have adjusted very well. My son is doing awesome and above average.The PTA is awesome 2.. Anna & the office staff R great.( u guys know who u r). As you know this is the last year for us. So thank you. K DEWITT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

this school has been around a longtime great rep., one son went 2-5 & now have a K5 school has went to a great level of security to make sure our kids are safe! Same faces which is always a plus w/ afew new ones in there as many kids & parents that go thru on a daily basis a lot of teachers & staff remember you on a 1st name base not only by face I believe in this school & other Hudson schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

We love Hudson Elementary School. The Teachers and Staff are all wonderful to deal with. My son has done wonderfully, and absolutely LOVES school. I would pick HES out of any of the schools in our immediate area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I approve of Hudson Elementary. The only thing that I have a problem with is Dicipline. I don't believe there is enough of it. Last year my son was bullied alot and it was serious on several occasions ( having to be sent to the school nurse) I wasn't notified and no action was taken towards the boys EVER. I had to threaten to press charges before it stopped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I have an ESE student in 3rd, a 2nd and K. There is no parent involvement in this school. The staff does the best they can with no support from the homefront in most cases. I am very displeased with my childrens experiences at Hudson over the past 2and a half years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

Unfortionetly I dont know how well I would rate this school. Although My daughter got high marks I also think that she was not challanged very much. She started the school year in illinois and when we transferred her here I found that she was way ahead to my surprize due to the fact that illinois schools start so much later than Fl Schools this concerned me because it took several months for them to teach the things that she had already learned in Illinois. This kinda frustrates me because as we all want our children to recieve a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

My grandchildren enjoyed attending HES and I have to say Mrs. Hanson is the best teacher I have ever met. Without her caring and loving teaching method my grandsons would not have gone as far as they have. Mr.s Hanson is without a doubt the most awesome, best teacher and I feel all teachers should learn from her. I nominate her for teacher of the century. Thank you HES for employing her. I only wish my grandsons didn't have to go back home. They miss her and HES. I highly recomend this school for its superior teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

My kids deeply enjoyed going to this school, and besides the crowded halls I enjoyed this as well. The school provides a great many activities for student and even has an after-school program in place as well. The teacher's are knowledgeable as well as they can be, though the text books are lacking in basics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

The administration at Hudson Elementary is by far the most professional I have encountered. As a substitute teacher, I enjoy working with the Hudson staff and find that the students are happy and willing to learn. All students are treated equal, despite the individual differences, and even the custodial crew makes you feel welcome! As an outsider, I would choose Hudson Elem. before any other in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have one child that has been at HES for 6 years. Thankfully this should be his last year there. I have had nothing but problems with this school, the teachers and school officials. Since he was in K I have asked for help since I believed there was a learning disability. I was put off with the comments that it was a 'boy thing' and he would grow out of it. He never did grow out of it. Finally in 5th grade he is receiving the help he needs through the school, only because I insisted that he be tested and had to make a real pain of myself to the school. My other child in the school is an excellent learner and has done very well her classes. So when the other parent tells you that the education there is excellent.........well it is if you have a child that is already above average. If you have a special needs child, please do not choose this school for them. I am having to pay for outside tutoring because when I had him tested in 4th grade he was at a 1st grade level straight across the board. Tidbits: There is an excellent volunteer program. The school is coming into the computer age with newsletters and training skills for the children. There are no licensed nurses on staff in the clinic. The school psychologist is there approximately 2-3 days per week. The monkey bars on the playground have been rusted and bubbling for the past 6 years and cause cuts and blisters to the children's hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2003

I have 3 children presently attending Hudson Elementary and I am thrilled with this school. All my children have thrived and are significantly above average in all areas tested. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and participate in all areas. Our volunteer hours are among the highest in the county. I can not say enough about the teachers and administrators in this school. They are exceptional and are continually striving to improve and expand services. We need more schools and teachers like Hudson Elementary.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%63%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TRACY A GRAZIAPLENE
Fax number
  • (727) 774-4091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7229 Hudson Avenue
Hudson, FL 34667
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Dayspring Academy
Port Richey, FL


Schrader Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT