Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 716 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

Great Students, Great Teachers, Great Leaders, Great School! Southside is a great place to be.


Posted February 20, 2014

Southside Middle has a great team of teachers and leaders. We are a school on the move. S. Oliver
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2014

this school is perfect for my son and i like it since it is a ib learner school and the teachers help my son when he needs help .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

SOUTHSIDE IS AN AWESOME SCHOOL! MS. K IS MAKING GREAT STRIDES WITH THE STUDENTS. GO KNIGHTS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son goes to school here (7th) No lockers!! Hate the whole uniform thing and chicken at lunch is RAW!! My son has told me hes seen ROACHES CRAWLING AROUND IN KITCHEN!! Dont eat their FOOD!!! Bunch bad kids running around in hall's cussing.CANT WAIT TILL HE'S OUT OF THERE!!! :( KITCHEN needs HEALTH DEPARTMENT VISIT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

This school sucks never send anybody to it it's horrible please listen and never send your kid to it


Posted July 18, 2013

You can't really fault the teachers for having to deal with bad kids! Parents do your job first!!! The teachers are there to teach academics! WE AS PARENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR TEACHING OUR CHILDREN HOW TO ACT! The amount of parents I have seen at the school for open house & such is ridiculous. Be a part of your child's life & stop blaming everything on the schools. Take accountability folks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This school is terrible. I'm scared to go to it every day, and I'm thinking of transferring to River City Science Academy. People are complete jerks here and they have no respect. PLEASE DON'T GO TO THIS SCHOOL. THIS IS COMING FROM A STUDENT IN SIXTH GRADE.


Posted February 13, 2013

I CANT STAND THIS SCHOOL THEY THEY DONT DO NUTHING FOR STUDENTS THAT HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THEIR WORK TEACHERS THERE THROW THE WORK AT YOU AND EXPECT YOU TO KNOW IT WHAT DO YOU GE PAID FOR TEACH RIGH WELL DO IT!!! I FEEL IM DO MOR TEACING AT HOME THEN THE TEACHER BETTER OFF HOME SCHOOL.PLUS THE SCHOOL IS SET UP LIKE A PRISION. AND YOU GOT BULLYING PROBLEMS THEY NEED A PROGRAM TO HELP STUDENTS THAT NEED HELP IN A SUBJECT WOW U GOT ONE PROGRAM AND THE LIST YOU HAVE TO WAIT MEANWHOLE THE STUDENT SUFFERS. GET MENTORS SOMETHING FROM HIGH SCHOOLS OR COLLEGES THAT MIGHT HELP THESE TROUBLE KIDS GET ON THE RIGHT TRACK IT HARD THEY MIGHT NOT GET IT AT HOME THEY CAN TRY TO GET IT AT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

This is the most horrifying school that I have every had to deal with. I have 2 kids going there and it is just plain terrilble. The grade portable is never correct or has the wrong grades in it. Bullying is running wild. My child is constantly being picked on and the teachers don't even care. It 3 weeks to even speak with a teacher. SHUT THIS SCHOOL DOWN, it is not helping anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

This is an awesome school. Especially if English is your second language. It helps you receive the attention and the basics needed for the 1st year to be able to go on to a neighborhood school for the 2nd year.


Posted July 24, 2012

I am a former student a southside and im sorry to say i went there for ONE year and i knew i had to get out! After attempting to go there for my 6th grade year i auditioned for lavilla school of the arts, later i was accepted to my advantage i got out of southside while i was still innocent!! Although i did not have a good experience there i belive everyone has a different experience depending on who you are.... Maybe this school has gotten better But i wouldnt hold my breath. -Former Student-


Posted June 10, 2012

Im A Student At South Side Middle And I Honestly Dont Think People Give Our School The Credit It Deserves. People Are Always Judging Our School On Its Past And How It Used To Be But Our School Is Much Better Than Most People Think. We Have Amazing Teachers, Sure I don't Like A Few Of Them But Your Never Going To Like All Of Your Teachers. But Besides That Our Teachers Make Learning Fun, They Work To Their Best Ability to Help Us Learn. Bullying Is Not A Big Problem At Our School We Have A Few Boys And Girls That Like To Get A Little Mean But Most Of Them Are Just Problems From Home, You Know Ones With No Home Training. Like Most Schools Our School Divided's Its Self into Groups But No One Is Left Out Every One Has A Friend . Lunch Is Not All That Bad. Most Of The Time We Have Pizza Or Some Other Main Course And Then We Have A vegetable And A Fruit Along With Our Milk. I Really Do Feel Like One Big Family In My Classes. Over All South Side Is A Really Good School I Just Wish That People Would Realize It. But i Know And We All Know It Could Be Better If They Put A Little More Effort Into It. I'm Now A Seventh Grade Student At South Side. I Highly Recommend You Give This School A Try!


Posted May 22, 2012

THIS SCHOOL IS PURE GARBAGE.... they only have three security guards available. majority of the facilty looks either scared or don't care. i hear about at least three fights a day. its kinda like a prison that the inmates took over. OHH, don't expect much help from the office. they really need to shut that school down or put under new administrative management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

the cafetaria food is fattening and is mostly isn't fresh when it comes to fruits and vegetables. most of the teachers are fine and a few pass to amazing. this year in 2011-2012, the new principal is making the school look better this year but it cuts on the school supplys. there are a lot of unfairness when it comes to teacher and students. this year there are completely no lockers for any of the grades, they are replaced with benches. school uniform is a hassil for poor families. there are students who are outragously horrible and racist.


Posted November 22, 2011

I attended this school in the late 1990's. It was horrendous back then. The student body was atrocious and drugged out half the time. The teachers and administrators were substandard. I've heard from current students that go there that things have not improved much in the last 12 years. If it's anything like it was when I was a student, then keep your children far away from this school.


Posted October 3, 2011

This is the worst middle school I have ever seen.......they really don't want to be bothered with the parents......If your thinking of bringing your kids here please don't......It reminds me of eastside High....In the movie "Lean On Me"....the kids walk the halls all day and never wear the correct uniform:(......Always fights.......the staff couple care less!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

Sorry can't even give this school the lowest rating try a minus 10 for this school -10 southside middle school has nothing but hoodlums and thugs running the hallways beating up on kids, stealing from kids, threatening kids and intimadating kids.. The students there spend more time in the administrative offices than they do in acutal class. The parents spend more time on the phone than they do at their job. If you go for a conference you have to sit, and sit, and sit and wait and wait and wait. I would not wish this school on any student. There are a lot better schools out there where your child can actually excel instead of having their things destroyed and their body physically attacked. I can honestly say that my family lost about a $1,000 worth of books, backpacks, pencils, glasses etc in just ONE YEAR at southside middle school. If you care about your child and their education don't send them here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

im a current student at sms and i think its great.. i have no problems there nd i am a current a/b honer roll student


Posted July 19, 2010

to start thing off i'm sick of parents writing suck bad reports about this school!!! the teachers try there best to teach us but some students just don't understand how important school is yet and it's not the teachers fault for this it's the parent!!!! i don't get bullied or anything but i can say these students are a bit to rash... once we had a sub and one of the student broke a window and caught the microwave on fire!!!!!>< but anyway the teachers try there best all you have to do is listen!!!!><


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
25%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 36%
White 29%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%65%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ZEINA KHANACHET
Fax number
  • (904) 739-5244

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2948 Knights Lane East
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 739-5238

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broach School South
Jacksonville, FL




Keystone Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Keystone Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Hendricks Day School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT