Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beauclerc Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1150 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

i can't wait to get mt daughter out of this school and into a charter school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

I am so glad that I decided to put my child in the dual language program at Beauclerc last year. By the end of kindergarten she was already reading and writing on grade level in Spanish! The dual language teachers are so caring, passionate and devoted to their students. I love that the dual language program creates its own smaller community within the school! Also, the new art teacher this year is amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Very disappointed in this school, my child was in the dual language program this year and had an over all horrible experience the first half of the school year, his teacher thought it was appropriate to rip up papers that the children did not do correctly. We teach our children better manners and not to bully other children what happens when teachers bully our children?? My child had a severe lack of confidence, crying a lot and an overall lack of interest (depressed if you will) . I had no idea what was going on until I hear that the teacher was basically humiliating children in front of there classmates. Needless to say I pulled my child from that class when I found out the teaching style of this individual and my child soared through the rest of the year and I'm happy to say has his self confidence back as well as a new outlook on school!! If you read this and you know how you are you should be ashamed of yourself, if you don't like your job step a side and let other teachers that want to teach our children have a chance...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

I thought this was a great school...I was wrong. I am not too sure the faculty cares for the students. What I have seen thus far is inconsistancy of the expectation from the student, lack of genuine care for the progress of the student, and overall lack of self discipline from the teachers. Is it right for a teacher to say shut-up to a child under any circumstances? What about to the extent of taping a childs feet to the floor with duck-tape because he is hyper-active...what about taking the children outside and having recess once a day for an energy release so that the children may concentrate better. Since when does a teacher decide to have recess inside the classroom everyday because it's too hot for the "teachers" to go outside? mmh...I wonder to whose benifit it is to stay inside all the time. Would I recommend this school? "NO"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

This school has been great to both my daughter and my son. Not only do the teachers become very involved, but the assistants make a huge difference as well. Hartless/Gibbons/Peck will forever be someone my daughter looks up to. The things that parents try to teach their children at home sometimes get blown off, well because we are the parents :), have been taught here at this school and it means the world to a lot of parents. Thank you everyone on staff because everyday you make a difference in a lot of lives. Kudos to all of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My son is going into 1st grade. He started his school experience with a great teacher ( Queen Hicks ) He wants to take her with him every year. I hope his 1st grade teacher is as great as his Kindergarten teacher. We will miss Queen Hicks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

My son is finishing his last year at Beauclerc. He started with a wonderful kindergarten experience (Queen Hicks) and ended with a wonderful 5th grade experience (Mr Gibbons & Mrs Whitelaw). 1st grade was rough due to the teacher which messed up his 2nd year too. He rebounded when he got Mrs. Costiloe in the 3rd grade. Overall, Beauclerc is a great school. I HIGHLY recommend the teachers I have mentioned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

I could not ask for a better school or a better teacher Ms Teper. She is my son's kindergarden teacher and she has made his transition into school such a wonderful experience. He just loves her. Beauclerc is an excellent school. Great Job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I pray that as the school year progresses, I will appreciate the overall progress. My first dealing with this school was orientation and I was very disappointed. For an A school, I expected a lot less visible CHAOS and wished there had been more structure to the orientation. I don't yet know what to really think of the school or about my daughter having a male teacher in 2nd grade. And for first time parents/students to the school, someone could have taken the time to show us around without rushing us in different directions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I would highly recommend this school to any parent. I have loved this school since my daughter was in kindergarten; she is now a 5th grader and a patrol. The teachers are WONDERFUL! Kudos Teachers- Courter, Hurst, Locy/Taylor, Delke, Lee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Beauclerc is a great school. Very clean, teachers and faculty very friendly and helpful. Great academic lessons. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great elementary school in the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I love Beauclerc Elementary. They truly live up to the 'No child is left behind' standards. Very resourceful and in constant research of a better way for your child. I'm very thankful to the principal, teachers and everyone at beauclerc Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Ms. Locy, first grade teacher, goes the extra mile to help my daughter. The school staff is available when I need them; the new Principal is very energetic, kids love her. Beauclerc is a great school in a needed area. More extra curricular activities should be included in the curriculum. I love the teachers at Beauclerc Elementary, they are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

I have to tell you how wonderful Ms. Bennett is. My 1st grader had a rough time when he started due to a long distance move from out of state. Ms. Bennett never got upset with him and showed him so much compassion. My son has come so far.(academically and emotionally!) I visited the class the end of this year and I was amazed at the compassion yet firmness she had in the class. She is wonderful! I wish I could carry her into 2nd grade with my son. We'll miss her very much! PTA Not so good. I signed up and never received one contact the entire year. Nothing. Not impressed. At all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

I believe this is an excellent school . My son attended kindergarten there and loved it. Not only did he learn a lot in just one year he really looked forward to going and hated to miss even when he was sick. Mrs schutt is an incredible teacher who is firm but caring with all her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

This is a great school, my son was having difficulties with school and as soon as I requested he get some help he did. I has a great E.S.E. teacher and this year has received A,B honor bid difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Excellent school. Caring teachers, principal and parents.Work with students to improve their skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

The school was more student oriented when the classes were smaller and there was a lower student:teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

This is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

We have had horrible encountors with the administration. They fail to admit fault when they are obviously wrong. Very little parent support.I have always felt 'talked down to' when adressing problems and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

167 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 42%
Black 34% 23%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%65%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4555 Craven Rd W
Jacksonville, FL 32257
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 739-5226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT