Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am proud of our pastor, school, teachers, students, and the involvement of our parents. We all work hard to meet the needs of every student. When we all work together, everyone benefits. Thank you for making St. Matthew's an excellent place for academic, social, and spiritual growth. God Bless.
February 24, 2011

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Matthew Catholic School 4

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends St. Matthews and she loves it. As a parent, I have been happy with the teachers and the positive enviroment. I think the teachers expect a lot out of the students which will only help prepare them for what lies ahead. Overall, we think it's a great school!

St Matthew Catholic School 4

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
My children have gone to this school for 3 years now. We are very happy with the school, the teachers and the administration. The only thing that stopped me from giving this a 5 star review is the fact that some of the lower classes don't revive enough of the extra curricular classes, such as art class once a month.


St Matthew Catholic School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a teacher
In response to the post dated January 2, 2013: With all due respect, we appreciate all the frustration you feel because of the educational challenges your grandson has had in the different school settings he has been in. Despite the variety of accomodations we provided, we are sorry you were disappointed by our efforts and wish him the best in his new school setting.

St Matthew Catholic School 1

Posted January 02, 2013
- a community member
St Matthews Catholic School offers the McKay Scholarship for children who are ADHD. My grandson started school in the Fall of 2012 we had high hopes of getting the extra assistance he needed for learning, however after a few meetings with the teacher and numerous emails of concerns regarding his test scores..the teacher stated she could not give him more time for tests or assignments etc. The McKay Scholarship is given to students who specifically need the extra time to complete tests, assignments and extra assistance for learning whatever subject. Again his Mother sent an email to the teacher, principal and the guidance counselor on 12/5/2012 requesting a meeting regarding the concerns she had for her son. As of today 1/2/2013 there has been no acknowledgement from any of the three people mentioned above. My grandson will no longer attend the school as the faculty at this school have failed miserably by not administering the criteria of the McKay Scholarship and should cease advertising they offer the program as the students who need it will not get the accommodations! The last 4 months have been a total Waste!

St Matthew Catholic School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
School is small and ok if you have a child who is struggling academically, scince they don't expect to much from the students. Typical resources but nothing to brag about. Part time is a big thing at this school, part time Gym class, part time counselor, part time computers and library etc.. Cost to go to this school is a lot lower than other private schools, but you know what they say "you get what you pay for". If you are a member of the church you will have a great experience at this school or if you have an average student. School is more interested in raising money, which most parents are fine with because if you are a home room mother expect to spend a lot out of your own pocket and have the same 3 volunteers out of a class of 30 children, most parents can't be bothered, even with the mandatory volunteer hours, most parents just pay for them. Bullying is a problem at this school and will probably be that way in the future the school and principal are in denial and don't want to rock the boat with their parishoiners. Join the church and keep the money flowing and your child will ve a great time up to the 8th grade at this school.


St Matthew Catholic School 5

Posted June 09, 2011
- a parent
Our children have been attending St. Matthew's for five years, and they love it. They are happy, healthy, well adjusted children, and the school is a positive environment. We love the small school atmosphere and the fact that they attend Mass every Friday. There are plenty of extracurricular activities and resources during the day as well. There is also plenty of parental involvement and activities to keep whole families engaged. We do wish the foreign language was a little more in depth, but overall, we are very happy with the staff, teachers, principal, and education.

St Matthew Catholic School 1

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
We have been members of St. Matthews for 7 years and, like many others, are pulling our children from this school. Others who have left have found their children behind in other schools in several areas. After 7 years of Spanish at this school, my child is able to say a prayer and numbers in Spanish. The English, math, hist., computers dept are very lacking. The principal is terrible and is destroying the school. She hires personal friends as teachers despite many of them being inadequate. The teachers get worse the higher up you go. A couple are very good, but most could care less about being there. They spend more time yelling and text messaging during class than they spend teaching. Often, when you try to contact some of the teachers, your inquiries are ignored for weeks and then eventually met with attitude and lack of any desire.

St Matthew Catholic School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a student
my daughter has benn going there for 7 years and she loves it shes loves the teachers....


St Matthew Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
Best value for private schools. Daily enrichment classes, music, computers, spanish, P.E., art. Close knit community and classes. Limited discipline problems. Before and aftercare reasonably priced. Teachers who want to be at St. Matthews and care about the students. We have been very happy both academically and socially with St. Matthews.

St Matthew Catholic School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in pre-k at St. Matthew's and I absolutely love the school, teachers and curriculem. I couldn't think of a better school for my daughter to have her first educational experiences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Matthew Catholic School
1767 Blanding Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL  32210
(904) 387-4401
Last modified St Matthew Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Matthew Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top