Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,700 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
64 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Bolles School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
Helen Meatte is an amazing Art Faculty Member with 30+ years experience ..... Incredible in every way. Talented. Approachable. Loves to teach and retiring this year. EVERYONE loves Mrs Meatte

The Bolles School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
This naturally varies by department.... Masters degrees are the minimum educational requirement and Bolles employs the largest number of PH.D. Educated faculty in this city. Having said that, the teachers have to tolerate and large amount of arrogance and willful disobedience among a wealthy "could care less" student population ! Faculty also has very little power here as in MOST public schools these days


The Bolles School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
Bolles is a COLLEGE PREP school..... Students need to get acclimated to lots of homework and self learning and a large work load with independent study ......this isn't kindergarten

The Bolles School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
There are opportunities to excel and if your student is able to navigate the difficult social aspects.... They can handle college anywhere!! I think you have a better chance at Stanton gaining admittance to a Ivy League college however

The Bolles School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
Students at this school are notorious for NOT getting along with each other and disrespecting the faculty on many levels. Only a small number of students try academically and try to be character oriented people.... MAYBE 5 percent of the high school students do not regularly drink or use drugs...... It is lacking in true character and no one seems to care $23,000 a year for tuition !!!!!


The Bolles School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
This is a popular theory however in practice the only reason ANYONE at Bolles does anything charitable or unselfish is for "brownie" points in the Bolles magazine and on the website or for accumulating hours of service to pad a resume for college entrance. None of the students NEED anything... They have EVERYTHING and most "service" involves WRITING A CHECK TO A CHARITY

The Bolles School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2016
- a parent
There is an Honor Court... But like many of the school rule scenarios, there is no real power by this student driven Honor Court to effect a change or administer disciplinary measures for rules that are broken including drugs and drinking and cheating

The Bolles School 2

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Coming from another state we enrolled our son in Bolles 4 years ago after reading about all the nice things it had to offer. But soon we realized it was a big mistake. Although the school offers advanced learning in every field, it’s social environment is very challenging. It transformed our son from a happy, confident child into someone gloomy and diffident. He would come home sad and started having nightmares about going to school. The school along with the families promote a cliquey environment and favor their own people, it gets even worse for minorities. Even though our son is extremely bright academically, he was constantly picked on by the teachers, one even called him a cheat and one would purposely ignore him till the very end of the class session to mount up pressure on him. The homeroom teacher would constantly evaluate our socio-economic status and at some point asked us if our house was big enough to accommodate a study area for our son. We pulled him out after a year, although wish we had done it much earlier. Within a year, the school was successful in ripping out my child’s self-esteem, which I believe can be quite damaging in the long run. Glad it’s all over now and my son doesn't want to keep anything that reminds him of Bolles, not even the yearbook! Bolles was definitely not our cup of tea!


The Bolles School 3

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
My family is newer to the Jacksonville area, coming from a larger metropolitan city. I had heard good things about Bolles and spoke with an admissions representative and toured the lovely campus. The admissions representative I dealt with took quite an unsophisticated approach in questioning my husband and I about our careers, what neighborhood we were considering settling and our family backgrounds. My husband and I both felt that we were being evaluated on our economic status. Further, this representative and another school administrator gave an elaborate dissertation on how many prominent professionals send their children to Bolles. Finally, the admissions representative (maybe with the intention of trying to impress us) shared where she lived and that she is only in this position because it does not require a large time commitment and she is free to travel extensively. These encounters left us with the impression that Bolles places a heavy emphasis on a families socio-economic status. That may be appealing to some families. Not so for us.

The Bolles School 5

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I am so pleased with my son's experience here it is everything I've looked for in education. The staff is attentive, dedicated, and hard-working. The coursework is rigorous, but presented in a way that doesn't discourage the students. And the campus is incredibly beautiful. I can't believe my child gets to go to school there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Bolles School
7400 San Jose Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL  32217
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (904) 733-9292
Last modified The Bolles School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top