Advertisement
Advertisement

Christ's Church Academy

Private | PK-12 | 637 students

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2007

I have a child in the fifth grade at MCS and they have attended since kindergarten. The school management seems to be more concerned with making money and avoiding liability than educating the kids. My child won't be there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

I am a student at MCS and it is a great school. I am in 7th grade and my sister is in 5th grade. The teachers are great and help you when needed. They have a lot of patience. I love MCS
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2006

MCS is a very strong, Christian school. My daughter has attended MCS for 8 years. The school has a strong focus on Christ's teachings and academics including AP level courses. They offer a well rounded experience with solid academic programs, wonderful Fine Art programs and many Athletic teams. The Fine Art programs (Drama, Vocal, Band, Art, etc.) have been such a blessing to my daughter. MCS offers many clubs including National Junior Honor Society, Photography, Student Leadership Institute, etc. The teacher to student class size ratio allows for a situation where teachers are involved in the students daily success. Parents are encouraged to participate. If we have any disappointments with MCS it would be that many parents aren't involved and the student body is not as diverse (interests, culture, economic, etc.) as we would like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

My children, now in 6th and 8th grades, have been at MCS since kindergarten. They have had only positive experiences and plan to stay through high school. The class sizes are small and the teachers are exceptionally kind and caring. Although rare, when there is any kind of problem, I am approached on a personal level by the faculty and my involvement is appreciated, as we work as a team to educate my children and resolve any issues. The academics at MCS are strong, my childen are challenged and will be well prepared for college. They also receive a well-rounded education, with art, music, Spanish and PE classes. I have researched many schools in the area, and simply could not find a better place for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

My childen have been at MCS for many years, and this is the only school that they wish to attend. We have been very happy with the kind and caring faculty and staff. The academics are excellent. My children are challenged and will be well-prepared for college. We are also very happy with the number of athletic and club membership opportunities offered as MCS grows into a K-12 school. My children plan to stay through high school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 4, 2006

This was a great school for my child. My son attended MCS from 4th grade through 8th grade. He then attended Douglas Anderson. He was fully prepared academically, but more importantly, he was prepared spiritually. He was exposed to a great deal at DA but was able to handle it because of his years at MCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Mandarin christian is not all its cracked up to be. My child suffered so much at the hands of the students who were taunting her and saying terrible things to her there that if you are thinking of sending your children there i strongly advise you not to.The middle school principal really does nothing to solve the problem at hand and the kids there hardly have a christian attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Strong academics. Strong extracurricular activities. Love the Christian education. Parents can somewhat be involved. This school is pretty expensive and they nickle and dime you all the time. They are very strict with group punishment instead of individual punishment therefore if your child is good he or she will be group punished a lot. Other than that though we love the smaller environment. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

This is the most awesome school. My daughter has had nothing but positive experiences here. The class size is small, the teachers wonderful and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Mandarin Christian School provides a wonderful opportunity or children to receive a quality education in a nurturing environment. The staff truly cares about each child and their individual acamdemic and social needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Very good school, good teachers, and students are nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

MCS is a friendly place, where discipline is a priority. Teachers are well prepared, compassionate, and eager to teach. Now expanded into High School, MCS is a quality school with sports, computer lab, fine arts, and extra-curricular activities for all ages. They are celebrating their 11th year, and have a very positive history, including several accreditations that usually take longer to achieve. This is a serious school for serious students, but also a fun place for children to grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Nice Christian school. My daughter loved it in K and 1st Grade. She had excellent teachers for both years. They had music, art and Spanish class on a rotational schedule. Parents were very encouraged (but not strong-armed) to participate, and we always did. I did encounter one teacher that I felt was unqualified to control and truly teach children, but thankfully she did not teach my child! It has been a couple of years since we attended there. When we were there, security was not tight enough on campus - especially for the classes in portables. I was concerned about that. Things have probably changed by now...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Parental Involvement is exceptional. Terrific atmosphere. Excellent academic program combined with students who are actually under control and ready to learn has made MCS a wonderful experience for our family for 4 years now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

We have been very pleased with the level of academics. The staff is very attentive and involved with the children. Their resources cover all areas. Parents are vey involved and the entire morale of the school reflects this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

The Mother's Morning Out program is a huge asset and wonderful program. The only gripe about the school is the cost. The tuition is enough to take out a second mortgage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

MCS has been a wonderful school so far. The teachers really show an interest in every childs success and they take the time to make sure that each child is reaching his/her potential. It truly is the best of all worlds as MCs provides art, foreign languages and sports. They compete with other area private schools and have attained a great reputation in athletics. Parents are very involved at MCS. The prental involvement is out of want and not need as the school likes volunteers but does not need them to run efficiently. The category of teachers has also been quite impressive with most of them having masters in the field that they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

I have been at MCS since Kindergarten and I'm graduating this year(2005). I have enjoyed this school thourughly. It has great teachers and has good sports teams. Our GIRLS BASKETBALL won 53 straight games over the past 3 years. The education I have gotten here has enabled anouther student and myself to go to Stanton college prep's international baceloriate program(IB) which is a rigerous liberal arts study program. MCS has been a great experiance for me and I loved it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2004

My son just began his first year at MCS as a 3rd grader. Though the grade itself is quite a step up as far as academic challenges, the school and teacher are wonderful. We feel confident that we will keep him at this school indefinately and our daughter will join him in a couple of years. We feel very lucky to have been able to get him in. Such an incredible breath of fresh air after having been in the Public system since Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 44%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 29%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High school recently won two engineering competition awards: Jacksonville University and The USA Army Corps of Engineers (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • Varies by grade
School end time
  • Varies by grade
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Milton Threadcraft, Phd
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (904) 880-3251

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Elementary Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Our parent-teacher partnership (ptp) program plays a significant role in mandarin christian school
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10850 Old St Augustine Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32257
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 493-5453

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL




Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT