Advertisement
Advertisement

Broach School- Southside

Private | PK-8

We are best known for individualized instruction.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

The principal a (Ms. Herring), is an individual that does not know how to treat the children, let alone run the school. She is always rude, and disrespectful towards the students, as well as the parents. Several students have her witnessed her saying horrible things, about the parents, and students. Parents, such as myself leave our children in her care daily. We should be able to trust her to love and treat our children as her own. After researching we came across this site, and decoded to to so because it's not FAIR to the student's and parents. Another issue is she would leave front office unattended, and people walks in the school at anytime, when brought to her attention, she now keeps the front door locked, and those of us with children attending have to stand outside ringing the door bell for fifteen minutes, or more. Not only do you need to be aware of what this person is doing, but so does the legal system, she needs to not treat children with DISABILITIES in such a way. IT IS SUCH A SHAME TO HAVE SOMEONE LIKE HERSELF WORKING IN YOUR SCHOOL, WITH THESE CHILDREN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

The school has new leadership and new teachers and I believe that it is moving in the right direction. The teachers are engaged with the students and the parents are more involved since the new administration has built a strong PTA. I am very proud to have my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

No school is perfect, but this school gives its students that opportunity to take ownership of their education. Parent involvement is important but getting a child to care about themselves and their success is just as important. The teachers here create a learner centered environment which benefits each child on a case to case basis. When my son is engaged in their multi-intelligence theory of education, he comes home excited about the next lesson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I would not recommend this school to anyone. It is not structured and the 5th grade teacher does not care about those kids she is there for a paycheck. if you take your concerns to the principle he does not follow-up and just ignore the issue. This school is all about money. I have had more problems from this school and the 5th grade teacher then the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

My daughter has been in this school for the past two years. She has gotten several gold metals, A/B honor roll, spelling bee and is part of the school commercial. My child has always loved school, now that she has one that gives her more help she enjoys it more. Personaly so do I, no more tears on her face when she comes home. Nobody calls her dumb or stupid, they don't even say that she is an idiot. She comes home with a big smile. The place is great, the call from the teacher for the bloody nose is nice to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

Probably the worst school in Jacksonville. The focus of the school leadership is enrollment retention, not education. Poor discipline, low standards and a teaching staff which runs the gamut from good to horrid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

The school principles need to be changed. It may benefit highly disabled or challenged kids.Group learning is secondary to individual needs.This affects kids to excel. Books and homework are refrained from home.Significant flaw for a child's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

I'm a student that currently attends Broach South, I've been attending this school since the 9th grade. Small classes, caring teachers, and the personal attention you receive from the teachers is what makes this an exceptional school. The campus is magnificent, The kids that attend it are very welcoming and friendly, although there doesn't seem to be much of a unity among everyone. Like any school The Broach has problems but it is in my opinion that the few cons are outwayed by the overwhelming benefits. All in all The Broach school is a wonderfull school, it not only meets my standards, but surpasses them. Dakota, Gearhart
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

I used to attend The Broach School when it was still in Mandarin, I have since graduated. There are some very caring teachers there who want to teach and see the students succeed but have to waste more time discplining problem students than tending to the ones that want to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

I hate this school. It didn't used to be that way until the kids started running the place instead of the teachers. There is more fooling around than there is learning. Most of the teachers just show movies instead of teaching. Think twice
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

I think this school has really helped me for leadership and knowing I can be something out of school when I leave, this is kelly orange I am a senior at broach south and I am proude to say I am a BOBCAT
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 44%
Black 44% 29%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Frank Castellano
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 674-0902

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6211 Terry Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 674-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Southside Middle School
Jacksonville, FL




Hendricks Day School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT